A Game of Thrones: Base Game: Definition of "Opponent" On House Cards
A Game of Thrones: Base Game: Definition of "Opponent" On House Cards
base AGaME OF THRONES board game and its two expansions, A CLaSH OF KINgS (see page 4 of this document) and A StORM OF SWORDS (see page 6). The most recent additions to the FAQ are highlighted in blue. However, marching into an area containing neutral forces still counts as an attack, and you may not make more than one attack with a single March order.
Several House cards refer to an opponents units or orders. (Such cards include The Reader and Arianne Martell in A Clash of Kings, and The Queen of Thorns in A Storm of Swords.) Your opponent means either the attacker (if you are the defender) or the defender (if you are the attacker), not players who are providing support.
During a battle, House Cards are revealed simultaneously and any appropriate text abilities resolved. There are instances however, when the order of text resolution can be important. Here is the House Card resolution sequence for resolving all such conflicts: 1) House Cards are simultaneously revealed. 2) Any Ignore or Cancel special text abilities are first resolved in the player order of the Fiefdoms influence track. Once an ability that ignores or cancels takes effect, it remains in effect for the entire battle. 3) Other appropriate text abilities are then resolved in the player order of the Fiefdoms influence track. The special text of the first card is completely resolved and implemented before the second card. 4) After the outcome of the battle is determined, any If you win this battle or If you lose this battle special card abilities are resolved in the player order of the Fiefdoms influence track. The special text of the first card is completely resolved and implemented before the second card.
Errata
When playing a 5-player game, if you feel that Lannisters starting position is too weak, we recommend the following change to the game setup: In the 5-player game, switch the starting Tyrell and Greyjoy positions on the Kings Court track (thus leaving Greyjoy in the 5th position and Tyrell in the 4th position). Most foreign language editions of AGOT have incorporated this change into the actual game. Page 6 of the rulebook states that each player has 10 Footmen, 4 Knights, and 5 Ships. It should state 6 Ships.
Clarifications
Attacking Neutral Forces
Marching into an area with neutral forces does not start a battle: No House cards are played, you may not use a Support order to affect the strength of neutral forces, and you may not use the Valyrian Steel Blade to affect the attack.
Q: In the event of an unsuccessful attack on a neutral city (for example, if a neighboring house did not support the attacking house), are the units routed? A: Moving into a neutral city does not start a battle. Therefore, units cannot be routed if they fail to exceed the strength of the neutral force.
Q: Are used House Cards public information? Can you look in your opponents discard piles to see what House Cards theyve played? A: House Cards are public knowledge, and you may ask to see an opponents hand and discard pile unless he or she is currently in a battle and has already chosen a House Card. Q: Are Melisandre and Maester Luwins special abilities meant to be done secretly between the involved players or should everyone know exactly which House Cards are involved? A: The effects of these cards are public knowledge. Q. If Tyrell attacks a region containing a single defending Footman, and, for his House Card, he selects Ser Loras Tyrell (Immediately kill one of your opponents attacking or defending Footmen units), is that an automatic victory, or do the defense and support values still count? A: Although not specifically stated in the rulebook, whenever the last unit on one side of a battle is eliminated (not including support units) through a special ability, the battle immediately ends in victory for the side that still has units. The House Cards strength is disregarded, and the House Cards are still considered used. Q: When playing Melisandre, if my opponent has just used his last card on the battle, can I discard any one of his cards, or is her ability wasted? A: Because used House Cards are not picked back up until after all effects of the battle have resolved, her ability is wasted. Q: When using Salladhar Saan (Ships provide no combat strength while supporting), and a Support +1 special order is played in an area with one Ship, how much combat strength is provided from that area? A: One. Only the strength from the Support +1 order actually counts. The Ship has 0 combat strength while supporting in this battle.
Q: In the Call for Support step of a battle, in exactly what order should players declare their support? A: Players should declare their support in turn order, that is, based on their position on the Iron Throne track.
Q: One of my units has occupied an opponents starting area, and I move the unit out of the area without placing a Power token on it (or I remove my unit because of a Wildling Attack). Does control of the starting area revert to my opponent? A: Yes. A player always has control of his starting area unless enemy units are located in the area or an opponent has established control of the area by placing one of his Power tokens over the shield printed on the board. Q: Can I retreat units into an opponents starting area? A: Not unless you already have units in the area or have a Power token in the area. (As stated on page 12 of the rules, a unit may not retreat into an area that contains an opponents Power token; this includes the printed Power tokens on the starting areas.)
Establishing Control
Q: When exactly do you place a Power token to establish control? A: You may establish control over an area whenever one of your units marches out of an area. Units march out of the area they are in before resolving any battles in the area they march into. Q: When establishing control of an area using a Power token, does the token come from the stock of power that the player has already acquired or from the general supply? A: Power used to establish control of an area must come from a players personal supply, i.e., his available power. Q: Once Ive placed a Power token to control an area, can I voluntarily remove it later? Is it removed from the board if I move my own units into that area later? A: No. The only way it can be removed is if enemy units move into the area.
Q: Do I have to move units out of an area that Ive placed a March order in? A: No.
House Cards
Q: If I have the Messenger Raven, and I want to swap a units order with another one that is already on the board, may I? A: No. You may only swap a units order with an unused order. Q: The rules state [a player] may use the Raven to replace one of his assigned orders with one of his unused orders (but only a special order if he has any unused stars left over). Does this mean that I must use a special order replacement if I have stars remaining? A: No, using the Raven, you can replace an order with any unused order counter. What this rule implies is that
Q: When participating in a battle, do I have to play a House Card? A: Yes. However, House Cards are not played against neutral armies.
you may only use a special order in replacement if you have enough remaining stars to afford placing such a new special order at this time. Q: Can I, when using the Messenger Raven, place the replacement order token in a friendly area that did not previously receive an order? A: No, the replaced order must be placed in the same area as the one removed.
Supply
Q: What are the starting Supply levels for each player? A: Each player has a starting Supply equal to the barrels in the territory he or she controls at the start of the game. That is, 1 each for Stark and Baratheon, 2 each for Lannister and Greyjoy, and 3 for Tyrell. Q: Can I make a March that violates my Supply limits in order to voluntarily remove some of my units on the board? A: No. You can never voluntarily violate your Supply limits when marching units.
Placing Orders
Q: Do you have to place an order in each of your areas with units in them if you can? A: Yes.
Removing Units
Q: Can you voluntarily remove one of your units from play? A: No.
Q: Can you support another player against your own forces? A: No. Q: Must you support your own forces if you have an adjacent Support order? A: No. Any support (including your own) is voluntary. Q: Must you accept support offered by another player? A: No. You can accept or decline support as it is presented to you.
Rivers
Q. Can units raid or support across rivers? A: No (unless its across a bridge). Q: Are the Dornish Marches directly connected to the Redwyne Straits (or the West Summer Sea area in the ACoK 6-player overlay)? A: No. The blue line touching the Dornish Marches is a river, and Ships cannot move into rivers.
Turn Order
Q: What order are units mustered in and casualties from Wildling attacks removed in? A: Normal turn order, as dictated by the Iron Throne track.
Q: When retreating as a defender, if you have a choice between one area that would exceed your supply limits and another area that would not, can you retreat to where you will have to destroy units or must you choose the other area? A: You may not retreat into an area that will force you to destroy units unless you have no other choice. If your only choice is between two areas that will both force you to destroy units, you must choose the area in which you will destroy fewer units. Q: What happens to a unit that has nowhere to retreat to after losing a battle? A: It is destroyed. Q: If I am unable to retreat a Knight into a territory where I have a Footman, due to supply limits, can I choose to remove the Footman instead of the Knight? A: No. Q: If my opponent only has routed units on his side of a battle, are House Cards still played? A: Yes. Although routed units have a combat strength of 0, they are still present for the battle and can win due to House Card play and other modifiers. Q: Can routed Ships still transport troops? A: Yes.
Q: When the Westeros card Winter is Coming comes up, do I shuffle and redraw or shuffle and wait until next turn to draw? A: You reshuffle and redraw a new card immediately. Q: When Rains of Autumn (Footman units provide no combat strength while supporting) is active, and a Support +1 special order is played in an area with one Footman, how much combat strength is provided from that area? A: One. Only the 1 from the Support +1 order actually counts. The Footman technically has a 0 combat strength while supporting.
Wildling Attack
Q: When you lose a battle to the Wildlings, if you surrender a unit, leaving a region vacant, can you place a power token in the region to retain control of the region? A: No. Q: When you lose a battle to the Wildlings, can you downgrade Knights to Footmen to pay for the muster points instead of removing units? A: No. You can only remove units to pay for Wildling losses. Q: If a Wildling Attack card is drawn when the Wildling strength is at zero, is the attack played out? A: Yes.
On page 5, the example reads that the defending forces have a defending strength of 9. It should be 7 instead (4 for the two Knights, 2 for the defense order, and 1 for the supporting Ship). On page 10, the example implies that the Last Days of Summer is placed on the bottom of deck II. This is an error. After use, the Last Days of Summer is placed on the bottom of Deck III (its own deck).
FrequentlyAsked Questions
The Board
Q: Which sea areas are adjacent to the Searoad Marches? A: The Golden Sound, Sunset Sea, and West Summer Sea.
Fortifications
Following are the frequently asked questions, errata, and clarifications for the A CLaSH OF KINgS expansion.
Errata
In some printings of the Clash of Kings expansion, the border separating the West Summer Sea and the East Summer Sea is misplaced. The border should extend from Starfall, not Salt Shore.
Q: When is the Fortification penalty applied against Knights? A: The Fortification penalty that reduces, by 1, all attacking Knights and Knights supporting the attack is applied during the actual resolution of the combat (step 5). This means that any bonuses to Knights from House Cards (such as provided by AGOTs Robb Stark card) are wasted.
Please make sure to read the House Card Resolution section in the AGOT FAQ above. Q: If Tywin Lannisters special ability is canceled or ignored, is his strength zero? A:Yes! Q: If Doran Martell (normal version) is used to steal the Valyrian Steel Blade, can the Martell player use the blade later in that same turn if the previous owner had already used it? A: No, the token cannot be used twice in the same turn. Q: Tyrell has a higher position than Baratheon on the Iron Throne track, and in a battle between them, Tyrell plays the Queen of Thorns (new version: Ignore the Strength of your opponents House Card) and Baratheon plays Stannis Baratheon (new version: Stannis gains +2 Strength if opponent is higher on the Iron Throne track). What is Stanniss power for purposes of Battle Resolution? A: Once an ability that ignores or cancels takes effect, it remains in effect for the entire battle. In this example, Stanniss strength is ignored, regardless of any modifiers, so it is effectively 0. Q: Can Asha Greyjoy (original version) use her special text ability to remove a One-Time order of the Support or Consolidate Power variety? A: Yes. One-Time orders are subject to the same vulnerabilities as regular orders. Q: The Dagmar Cleftjaw House Card says Gain an additional +1 Combat Strength for each of your Ship units
The bottom image is correct. The 3-player track is printed with the letters S, L, and T. The T should be a B, since a 3-player game should be between Houses Stark, Lann ister, and Baratheon.
adjacent to the area of battle. Do routed Ships count for purposes of this card? A: Yes. Q: If Greyjoy plays the Dagmar Cleftjaw House Card (new version) when defending a land area with an adjoining Port, do Ships in the Port count for purposes of this card? A: Yes. Q: What is the sword icon referred to by some House Cards, such as Theon Greyjoy (new version)? A: The sword icon is the picture of a sword on some House Cards (see page 14 of the rulebook). Although many players refer to the Valyrian Steel Blade token as the sword, it is not the sword icon. Q: The zero-strength Arianne Martell card says that if you lose this battle, you may immediately kill one of your opponent's units that participated in the battle. Do supporting units counts as having participated? A: No, this card can only kill units that are actually in the area of the battle. Q: Can another card steal and use the Stannis House cards ability? It specifically states that Stannis gains +2 Strength. A: Yes, if another card (such as Old Nan) steals this ability, it can gain the bonus as if the text targeted the new card (instead of Stannis).
able orders in each of them (and take Power tokens for each removed order showing a crown icon). Q: When executing the Might of Highgarden One-Time order, where are the Power tokens stolen from? A: The target player(s) discard their designated number of available Power tokens to the Power Pool. The Tyrell player then claims that number of Tyrell Power tokens from the Power Pool. Q: Does The Lions Cunning One-Time order protect Lannister areas against the effects of One-Time orders with the Raid affiliation? A: Yes. Q: After designating an opponent with The Lions Cunning One-Time order, can the Lannister player March, Support, and Raid against that opponent? A: Yes! (Those wicked Lannisters.) Note that the opponent may still support his own areas in defense against a Lannister attack. Q: Does The Lions Cunning protect one Lannister area, or all areas controlled by House Lannister? A: All Lannister areas! In this way, House Lannister is essentially safe against any hostilities from the nominated player for that round. Q: When The Lions Cunning and The Might of Highgarden refer to an adjacent House or adjacent players, do they mean a player with units in an area adjacent to the area where the order was placed, or do they mean a player with units in an area adjacent to any area that you control? A: In both cases, an adjacent House/player means a player with units in an area adjacent to the area where the One-Time order was placed. Q: Can the Iron Fleet be placed on land areas? A: Yes. The order is not limited to Ships. Q: Can The Young Wolf one-time order be used to move into an area containing a neutral force? A: No.
Q: Can I use the Messenger Raven to replace a One-Time order? A: No. Q: Are the One-Time orders with Raid and Consolidate Power icons vulnerable to the limitations presented by the Sea of Storms and Feast for Crows Westeros Cards? A: Yes! The One-Time orders are a subset of the normal orders and have the same limitations and vulnerabilities. Thus, if the Sea of Storms card is in effect, any OneTime orders with the Raid affiliation could not be placed on the board during the Planning Phase. Likewise, you cannot place The Might of Highgarden on a sea area, since you are not allowed to place Consolidate Power orders on a sea area. Q: A One-Time order which is vulnerable to raiding has been placed in the same area as a regular order which is not vulnerable to raiding. I am resolving a Raid order in an adjacent area. Can I Raid the One-Time order? A: Yes. When resolving a Raid order, choose one adjacent area and remove all vulnerable orders, whether regular or One-Time, in that area. If any removed order shows a crown icon, the raiding player receives one Power token for each such order removed. If the Raid+1 order is being resolved, choose two adjacent areas and remove all vulner-
Ports
Q: Is a Port a separate area? Could you clarify its relation to the adjoining land area? A: A Port is a completely separate area, with no relation to the adjoining land area except as noted here: A Port may only be occupied by Ships belonging to the player who controls the adjoining land area. A player controls an area if he has units in the area or if he has a Power token on the area. When mustering from the adjoining land area, new Ships may be placed into the Port area, instead of into the adjoining sea area.
Any Ships in a Port are treated like an independent fleet, and are subject to the rules of supply. If the adjoining land area is seized by a player other than the player currently controlling Ships in the adjoining port area, follow the rules for replacing or scuttling Ships as found on page 6 of the ACoK rules booklet. Q: If a player moves all his units out of a (non-starting) land area that contains a Port, without placing a Power token on the area (or if he removes the units during a Wildling Attack), are his Ships in the Port destroyed? A: Yes. A player may only have Ships in a Port if he controls the adjoining land area, as indicated by his having either units or a Power token in the area. Q: One of my units has occupied an opponents starting area, and I have mustered a Ship into the areas adjoining Port. If I move my unit out of his starting area without placing a Power token on it (or I remove my unit because of a Wildling Attack), does my opponent get to replace my Ship with one of his? A: Yes, because he has regained control of the area. Q: Can a fleet that is defeated in a sea area retreat to a friendly Port touching that sea area? A: Yes. Q: When playing the Clash of Kings expansion with 5 or fewer players, is the Port of Sunspear placed on the board? A: Yes. With 5 or fewer players it should be placed so that it overlaps Sunspear and the Summer Sea.
Errata
The component description of the Tactics cards on page 2 states that Houses Tyrell and Martell each have 7 Tactics cards, when in fact they each have 6. The Ser Ilyn Payne House card states If you win this battle, your opponent must lose one casualty . . . This should state one additional casualty.
Siege Engines
Q: Can I muster a Siege Engine unit again after it has been destroyed? A: Yes. Q: For purposes of the Wildling Attacks, how many mustering points is a Siege Engine worth? A: Two.
Q: Can you clarify how Manage Troops works with split marches? A: The immediate effect of Manage Troops is a special move that allows you to move units from one area you control to one other area you control; so there is no splitting of units. You may use the ongoing effect of Manage Troops after performing a split march, but only for one group of units, since after you use the ongoing effect of Manage Troops, you must discard the card. When performing the extra march that the ongoing effect of Manage Troops grants, you may only march the units into one adjacent area. Q: If I perform a split march, such that some of my units march into an area containing opponents forces and some of my units march into an empty area, can I use the ongoing effect of Manage Troops to have the units that entered the empty area march into an adjacent empty area? A: Yes. Q: The Queen of Thorns Tyrell House card states Immediately remove one of your opponents orders in this or an adjacent area. If I am the defender, can Iuse this card to remove my opponents March order, making it so his attack on me did not happen? A:The Queen of Thorns may destroy the March order, but the attack still happens because the attackers units have already entered the area. The Queen of Thorns would still cancel any modifier (+1 or -1) on the March order, however. Q: Exactly when is a Military Support Ally card played during the Call for Support step of a battle? The attacker and defender should play their Military Support Ally cards only after the other players have declared their support. So the Call for Support step should proceed as follows: 1. Players other than the attacker or defender declare their support in turn order, that is, based on their position on the Iron Throne track. 2. The attacker and defender may play Military Support Ally cards, with the player who is highest on the Iron Throne track choosing first whether or not to play a card. Note that strength is not tallied during the Call for Support step. Therefore, certain cards (such as the Arryn Lookout card) could still prevent strength from being added. Q: If a player has the Arryn, Frey, or Tyrell Political Support card stolen from him, does he lose the 1 Claim granted by the card? A: No.
Q: When is the effect of the Tyrion House card resolved? A: This card is resolved immediately after cancel abilities, but before other effects. Q: Can the Arryn Lookout Ally card be used to remove a third partys support order from the board? A: No. Arryn Lookout can remove an opponents Support order, which is defined as the player who you are currently in battle against. Q: Are areas connected by movement arrows considered adjacent for the purpose of the Sellsword Army Ally card? A: No. Q: Does the Sellsword Army Ally card prevent opponents from initiating hostage negotiations or building fortifications in areas adjacent to your Ally units? A: No. The rules specifically state that the player does not gain power, but may still use the Consolidate Power order for other purposes. Q: Can I use a Military Support Ally card when I attack a neutral force? A: No. Q: Is it legal to place a Forced March one-time order and select "Careful Planning" during the Planning Phase, then during the Action Phase, spend 2 power to select Manage Troops as the new Tactics card? A: No. Players may not use the Manage Troops card during the same turn as a Forced March order. Q: When the Hidden Schemes Westeros card is in play, is it legal to select "Careful Planning" during the Planning Phase, then during the Action Phase, spend 2 power to select Forge Alliances as the new Tactics card? A: No. Players may not use Forge Alliances at all while the Hidden Schemes card is in play. Q: Is the Winterfell area considered adjacent to a sea? A: Yes. This is important for some House cards that refer to it. Q: If a player has the Tyrell Supplies Ally card stolen from him, does he immediately lose one supply? A: No. A player only adjusts the supply track if specifically instructed to by a card.