This document provides clarifications and corrections to rules, cards, and components in the board game Nemo's War. There are adjustments to difficulty levels, token counts, action phases, test resolutions, difficulty modifiers, adventure outcomes, upgrade limits, and more. The goal is to ensure players fully understand how to properly interpret and apply the various game mechanics.
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
0 ratings0% found this document useful (0 votes)
33 views
Nautilus Notes (FAQ)
This document provides clarifications and corrections to rules, cards, and components in the board game Nemo's War. There are adjustments to difficulty levels, token counts, action phases, test resolutions, difficulty modifiers, adventure outcomes, upgrade limits, and more. The goal is to ensure players fully understand how to properly interpret and apply the various game mechanics.
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
You are on page 1/ 2
Nemos War Nautilus Notes
Version 9 July 2017
In a ga me wi th as many movi ng parts as Nemos War, s ome things require further cl arification or correction. These a re the items that we have noti ced and our official rulings: RULES: P.5 Difficulty Levels [cl a ri fication]: You ca n pick-and-choose/mix-and-match the difficulty levels for different aspects of the game a s you des ire; e.g., you could have the Additional Adventures at Sailor (2 gemstones) a nd do the initial Upgrade ca rd a t Nemo (none can be purcha sed pre-game). p.6: #4 [correcti on]: There are 14 Pa le Yellow Ship tokens in the game, not 15. p.10: Act Cards [cl a rification]: In the "Act Ca rds" s ection a t the bottom of the page, "note what dice you will be rolling each turn to begin the Action Pha s e" should be note what dice you will be rolling each turn to begin the Placement Pha se." p.12: Resolving Test [cl a rification]: If you roll a natural 2 ("snake eyes"), that is an automatic Fail, regardless of DRMS. For Acti ons with "degrees" of failure, you automatically suffer the worst one (i.e., a roll of "<=2"). Tip: Dont waste re-rolls on mere "close calls;" save them for epic disasters like this! p.13: Test DRMs [cl a ri fications]: o For the fi rst (-1 DRM) modifier, add to the end unless otherwise noted. For example, if you Incite, then each revealed Ship token present is another negative DRM for you! o Nemos Motive only modifies your Victory Point score at the end of the game, not the va lue of Treasure tokens s pent for DRMs during pl a y. P.17: Removing Uprising Cubes, B. [correcti on]: Delete the reference a t the end of this s entence: , pl us the cubes at that Ocean. You only s uffer a Notoriety gain only equal to the die rolls result (as stated i n the maps summary). P.18: Adventure [question]: What happens if you draw a KEEP ca rd? You simply keep i t and collect a ny gemstones there. Lucky you! p.19: Torpedo Attack [cl a rification]: A Torpedo Attack follows the normal Atta ck procedure (i .e., if you are ta rgeting a Warship, i t will fire fi rs t!) The Torpedo Attack dice/die roll is always unmodified when rolled. However, 2d6 dice rolls, if your Torpedo Attack was a 2d6 dice roll, ca n be saved by Emergency Help (p.26). p.19: Incite Action [cl a rification]: From the first paragraph, i gnore the extra verbiage, in a n effort to p.20: Refit Action [cl a rifications]: o You ca n only purchase one Nautilus Upgrade ca rd per Refit Acti on. o Do not res tock the Ava ilable Upgrades area a fter Refitting the Nautilus. Only certain events allow adjusting the Available Upgrades area. P.26: Emergency Help [cl a rifications]: o A 2d6 rol l includes Torpedo Attacks (p.19) while they are still rolling 2d6! Once they a re countered by the Imperialist Powers (i.e., youre down to rolling 1d6), your Torpedo Attacks ca nnot benefit from Emergency Resources. o My ques tion is, ca n I Fail the Accident or Incident ca rd on my ta bleau and claim its +2 DRM to bump up the Warship Atta ck dice roll to a voi d being Hit? Thi s question becomes Is possession of the Accident or Incident ca rd a n Emergency Resource and, therefore, works i dentically? Technically, i t is not, as i t refers to i ts benefit specifically to TESTS (and a Wa rship Attack vs . the Nautilus is not a TEST you take, per se), but refl ecting on this further, I think the following broader ruling will help i n such "edge ca ses:" If i t looks l i ke an Emergency Resource, feels l ike an Emergency Resource, a nd you think it could play l ike an Emergency Resource, go a head a nd treat it as a n Emergency Resource (per Rule 13). That seems the most i ntuitive way to play. p.28 Scoring Example [correcti on]: The Explore motive yields a +0 VP modifier for Adventure ca rds, so this Adventure ca rds total VP s core woul d be 5, not 6. p.28 Your Epilogue [cl a rification]: As it s ays everywhere else: if you were Defeated in any wa y, read the Defeat (not Fa ilure) paragraph. p.30 Relinquishing the Captaincy [cl a rification]: You do not relinquish the captaincy when the Nautilus is s uccessfully a ttacked (per P.22, Step 1: How Warships Attack the Nautilus). That is not your captain failing a TEST; it is the opposition succeeding! p.31: Voluntarily Relinquishing the Captaincy [cl a ri fication]: This does not a dd one (+1) Action Point; only involuntary l oss of the Ca ptaincy does that. CARDS: Act III: Second Intermission [cl a rification]: If you do not change Nemos Motive, you may select one Nautilus Upgrade ca rd (of your choice, not ra ndomly) a nd place i t in the Ava ilable to Purchase area. Adventure: Vigo Bay [cl a rification]: To be cl ear: You draw one Treasure Token. If it i s a Wonder or Retain Token, s top drawing. If not, keep dra wi ng Treasure Tokens, one at a time, until you draw a Wonder or Retain Token, at which point you keep it a nd cease further draws. Adventure: The Korean Incident [correcti on]: Add At ga mes end, (F) if unused. Adventure: Troubled Dreams [cl a rification]: To phrase this another way: you ma y change a ny single die, regardless of its color, the reason i t wa s rolled, or how many other dice were rolled along with it. If four Nautilus Upgrade ca rds a re currently a vailable and you gain another (e.g., Ma gnetic Mi nes, from the beginning of Act III, etc.), is it okay to ha ve fi ve or more potential upgrades available? Yes, absolutely. There is no s tacking limit to upgrades! Nautilus Upgrades [general question]: If four Nautilus Upgrade ca rds a re currently a vailable and you gain another (e.g., Ma gnetic Mines, from the beginning of Act III, etc.), is i t okay to have five or more potential upgrades a vailable? Yes, absolutely. There is no stacking limit to upgra des! Reinforced Armor (Upgra de) [correction]: This provides a +1 DRM benefit as stated in the rules. 20,000 Leagues under the Seas (Fi nale) [correction]: Technically, you Fail this Finale i f you garner a negative Cha racter VP s core from it; otherwise, you Pass this Finale. This distinction is important if you have also acquired the Captain Nemos Diaries (Adventure) card. Return to Mystery Island (Fi nale) [question]: If my s hip is already i n the Western Pacific Ocean when I draw this card, do I play tha t round or end the game ri ght away? The game ends i mmediately when the Nautilus is i n the Western Pacific, s o i t would end when you drew the ca rd. MAP: [Ignore]: Underneath the MOTIVES scoring matrix i t says that a n Imperialist Victory i s -50 VPs ; i gnore that. If there is a n Imperialist Victory you a re defeated and no scoring is done.