0% found this document useful (0 votes)
57 views

EDM - Module VI (B) - SEM

This document summarizes different aspects of search engine marketing, including paid search (Google AdWords), organic search, and display marketing. It discusses key topics like keyword research, bidding processes, quality scores, metrics like CPC, CPA and CPM. The bidding process uses an auction where advertisers bid on keywords and ads are ranked by ad rank (bid x quality score). Higher bidding advertisers may not win the top spot if they have a lower quality score. The document also provides guidance on getting started with search engine marketing projects, including domain selection, site mapping, and keyword research.
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
0% found this document useful (0 votes)
57 views

EDM - Module VI (B) - SEM

This document summarizes different aspects of search engine marketing, including paid search (Google AdWords), organic search, and display marketing. It discusses key topics like keyword research, bidding processes, quality scores, metrics like CPC, CPA and CPM. The bidding process uses an auction where advertisers bid on keywords and ads are ranked by ad rank (bid x quality score). Higher bidding advertisers may not win the top spot if they have a lower quality score. The document also provides guidance on getting started with search engine marketing projects, including domain selection, site mapping, and keyword research.
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
You are on page 1/ 15

Search Engine Marketing

Search Engine Marketing


• Organic Search (Paid Inclusions)
• Paid Search (Google AdWords) – PPC
• Display Marketing (Google Display
Networks) - Search Ads - PPC
Search Engine Marketing
• Understanding Target Customer Search
Behaviour (Search Query)
• Keywords or Phrases
• Indexing
• PageRank (Links & Traffic)
• Bid Management Process
• Metrics
• Quality of Leads (Click Frauds)
Display Marketing (Display Networks)

• Text Ads
• Image Ads
• Video Ads
• Rich Media Ads ( Mixed with Interactivity,
Animation, etc)
Paid Search - Target and Bid
(AdWords)
• Specify your Keywords and phrase
• Specify Maximum CPC (Bid Placement)
• Select your Ad Budget Amount
• Google provides assistance through tools
- Approximate Maximum CPC for each
keywords / Keywords suggestions
Search Ads - Target and Bid
(Adwords + AdSense)
• Ad Groups ( Multiple Ads and Keywords List)
• Select specific site pages or automatic site placement on
Google partners publishers (AdSense)
• Specify Maximum CPC (Bid Placement)
• Select your Ad Budget Amount
• Google provides assistance through tools - Display Ad
Builder / Approximate Maximum CPC for each keywords /
Keywords suggestions
• AdSense – Where publishers make advertising space
available for AdWords advertisers
Google AdWords Auction Process (CPC)

• Ad Rank = Maximum CPC Bid x Quality Score


• Quality Score = f(Relevance, User Experience)
– Relevance = f(Keyword, URL, Ad)
– User Experience=f(Click-Through-Rate,
Landing Page)
• Your Price = (Ad Rank of next lower bidder/
Your Quality Score) + Minimum Unit Price
• Bids are set for keyword
Google Search Ads Auction Process (CPC)

• Ad Rank = Maximum CPC Bid x Quality Score


• Quality Score = f(Relevance, User Experience)
– Relevance = f(Placements or Pages)
– User Experience=f(Click-Through-Rate,
Landing Page)
• Your Price = (Ad Rank of next lower bidder/
Your Quality Score) + Minimum Unit Price
• Bids are set for Ad Groups
Google AdWords Auction (CPC)

Advertisers Maximum Quality Ad Position Actual CPC


CPC Scores Rank
Advertiser A $3.00 10 30 1 = (24/10) + 0.01=2.41

Advertiser B $3.00 8 24 2 = (12/8) + 0.01=1.51

Advertiser C $3.00 4 12 3 = (8/4) + 0.01 = 2.01

Advertiser D $4.00 2 8 X X

Google = 5.53
AdWords
Google AdWords Auction (CPC) –
Scenario 2
Advertisers Maximum Quality Ad Position Actual CPC
CPC Scores Rank
Advertiser B $4.00 8 32 1 = (30/8) + 0.01=3.76
Advertiser A $3.00 10 30 2 = (20/10) + 0.01=2.01
Advertiser C $5.00 4 20 3 = (16/4) + 0.01 = 4.01

Advertiser D $8.00 2 16 X X

Google = 9.78
AdWords
Key Search Engine Metrics
• Cost per Click-Throughs (CPC)
• Cost per Acquisition (CPA)
• Cost per 1000 Impressions (CPM)
• Advertising Return –On-Investment (ROI)
• Page Rank ( 1, 2, 3,….,Top 10, Top 20, Top
30 and so on) or (Search Page 1, Page 2,
Page 3 and so on)
• Competitive Bids Ranking
Google Alternative Auction Process (CPM Bids)

• If CPM bid is entered in Auction


• Effective CPM (Cost per 1000 impressions) for
both CPM bid and CPC bid is determined
Google Alternative Auction Process (CPA Bids)

• If CPA bid is entered in Auction


• Goggle is determining your maximum CPC bids
based on historical conversion data
• Aim for average OR maximum CPC
Getting Started – Projects
• Define your business Domain –Training Services
• Decide a Sub-domain (if required) : IT/ Telecom/ Technology
Sector Training
• Define your Products & Services / Define business model
• Identify existing players in the Domain
• Keyword Research – Based on competitive sites analysis
• Test the assumptions/ findings on the Search Engine and
Analyze the results
• Create Domain name alternatives
• Test the Domain name on Search Engine and analyze results
• Check Availability of Domain Names, Select Domain Name
and Purchase (e.g. GoDaddy.com, BigRock.com)
• Create Wireframe – Site Map ( Generate Options and SEO)
• Check Competitive Site Map / Site Map Best Practices
Thank You

You might also like