0% found this document useful (0 votes)
469 views

Hyperborea Official FAQ

- During Reset, cubes can only remain on technologies with continuous effects. All other cubes must be returned to the bag. - When activating a technology, cubes remain on the activation spaces until Reset rather than being removed. - A player has maximum freedom in the order they use benefits from activated technologies and cities in a turn, and can interweave benefits from different activations.

Uploaded by

Bob Slager
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
0% found this document useful (0 votes)
469 views

Hyperborea Official FAQ

- During Reset, cubes can only remain on technologies with continuous effects. All other cubes must be returned to the bag. - When activating a technology, cubes remain on the activation spaces until Reset rather than being removed. - A player has maximum freedom in the order they use benefits from activated technologies and cities in a turn, and can interweave benefits from different activations.

Uploaded by

Bob Slager
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
You are on page 1/ 4

faq v2.

0
rules update
Page 10: RESET: paragraph 4 is eliminated
This means that during Reset, only the cubes on activation spaces of technologies with continuous effects can be left on
the technology. All other cubes must be put back into the bag.

technologies
Must I respect the order from left to right in order to place the cubes on the activation spaces of a technology?
No. Cubes may be placed in any order you want, with total freedom.

Once I have filled all the spaces in one activation set of a Base Technology, may I place cubes on the OTHER
activation set of the same technology?
No. The two activation sets of a Base Technology are mutually exclusive, therefore the spaces of one set which is com-
pletely free CANNOT be used or filled as long as there is AT LEAST one cube on the other set.

When I activate a technology must I remove the cubes from it and place them in the unused cubes area? Or
must I leave them on the technology?
You must not remove the cubes. They stay on the activation spaces until Reset. The unused cubes area is only used for the
grey cubes that you get when you obtain a new Advanced Technology and all the cubes in the available cubes area at the
end of the turn that you cannot (or do not want to) place on the activation spaces of a technology.

Once I activate one technology or one city, must I use the benefits in the depicted order and/or in order of
activation?
No. Hyperborea gives maximum freedom in the chain of effects obtained by a technology and/or a city: a player can
therefore activate a city (and obtain the benefits), place a Civilization Cube without completing a technology, upgrade their
civilization, activate a second city (obtaining the benefits, but still without spending them), place another two Civilization
Cubes on a technology, activating it (and obtaining the benefits, thus using them all together with the previous ones),
explore a ruin and finally declare the end of turn, going through the end-of-turn phase.
If a single activation produces several benefits, these can be spent in the order preferred by the player and even alternated
with benefits generated previously (though always in the same turn).

If I activate the Advanced Technology Plundering and one of my adjacent opponents has no Gems, what
happens?
In this case the technology has no effect on THAT opponent. This mechanic applies to all technologies with effects to be
applied to adjacent opponents (for example Diplomacy).

A player activates Trading Companies, generates 2 Gems (for a total of 11) and then all adjacent players gen-
erate 1. One of the adjacent players reaches 12 thanks to this gift, so what happens? How does the game end?
The ACTIVE player is the player who determines the end of the game. Starting from the next player, everyone will have a
last turn and the player who got to 12 Gems (thanks to an effect he did not generate) gets the corresponding Objective tile.
In this case the player who got the Objective tile also plays another turn.

1
What happens if I generate an “espionage” effect on an Advanced Technology which generates an “espio-
nage” effect? Do I generate an infinite loop?
No. The “espionage” effects and the effects generated by the “espionage” (by copying the effect of another card) cannot
be used to target other cards with “espionage” effects.
This limitation applies also to “cube restoration” effects (for example Black market): technologies that restore cubes
cannot target technologies with restoration effects.

May I activate the technology Corruption and ignore the effect of removing a cube, therefore obtaining just
a single Gem?
No. All effects which demand the removal of cube/miniature/Gem must be satisfied otherwise the technology cannot be
activated.

May I leave cubes on technologies with continuous effects during Reset… even if the technology is not yet
complete?
Yes.

If an effect makes me remove one cube from a technology (Advanced or Base) which was previously com-
pleted, can this technology be activated again?
Yes. This mechanic is also valid for effects that restore cubes (ex. Black Market) or for effects that eliminate cubes from
the board/cards (ex. Corruption).
It is not applicable to effects that eliminate cubes in order to generate other cubes (for example Alchemy): in such case
the generated cube replaces the eliminated cube in the very same activation space, as it is in all aspects nothing but a
“cube swap”.

If the continuous effect of the technology Recruitment is active and I complete the technology Outposts, do I
get the extra miniature?
No. The “cloning” effect is different from the Miniature effect and therefore the effect of the technology Recruitement
has no application.

Does the effect of the technology Council of Elders apply more than once in case of technologies with mul-
tiple develop effects?
No. The effect of Council of Elders is applied only once for each effect activation (be it from technology or ruin).

progress
When my Development marker reaches level 6 am I required to bring it down to level 0 and take two cubes
from the reserve?
No. A player is never required to reduce the Development marker when is at level 6 (technically it could be left there the
whole game and reduce it on the last turn).
On the contrary taking the cubes is mandatory so once the Development marker has been reduced to 0 from a level 4, 5 or
6 the corresponding cubes must be placed in the bag.

board
If the miniature of a player enters an hexagon with an enemy miniature which is placed outside of a city and/
or of a ruin, this miniature must stop unless it is using a flying movement. Can this miniature enter a city or a
ruin which is free?
Yes. Moving the miniature inside a city or a ruin is not a movement so there are no limitations.

If I activate the city of the Central Hexagon number 32 may I remove a grey cube?
No, with this city only colored cubes may be removed (therefore any cube except the grey one).

2
What advantages do I have with the flying movement?
Mainly two:
a) If a miniature enters a hexagon with flying movement and in that hexagon there is an enemy miniature outside of a city,
this hexagon can be exited with a “standard” movement.
b) If a miniature enters a hexagon with “standard” movement and in that hexagon there is an enemy miniature outside a
city, the hxeagon can be exited with a flying movement.

Do Ghosts count during the Final Scoring for the control of the territories?
Yes. If in a hexagon the number of Ghosts is equal o or greater than the number of miniatures of every single player, no-
body will receive Victory Points for that hexagon.

race powers
How many times in a turn may I use the Tile A effect of the Emerald Kingdom and Tile B effect of the Golden
Barony?
These effects may be used by the players at any moment during the turn, but only once every Reset.
More specifically, the players choosing these tiles place a Fortress token on the tile and can spend this token at any mo-
ment during their turn to generate the corresponding effects. This token is put back during Reset so the effects coming
from these two tiles can only be used once until next Reset.

When is the Tile B effect of the Celestial Reign activated? Only with the Base Technology or with all tech-
nologies that generate similar effects?
The effect of Tile B of the Celestial Reign is activated with all technologies (Base or Advanced) that allow you to get an
Advanced Technology Card.

If I am playing with The Purple Matriarchy and I chose Tile A and I kill a Ghost, where is the converted new
miniature placed?
Within the hexagon where the Ghost has been killed, outside of the city or ruins.

If I am playing with The Purple Matriarchy and I chose Tile A may I convert a Ghost with a ranged attack?
No. This effect is only applicable with the “standard” attack.

Tile A of the Red Duchy: is it optional or always active? If it is optional, may I pay just one red cube to obtain
an attack with the Base Technology and then later on add a cube of any color to activate again the very same
technology? Does it work with the Advanced Technologies which modify the Attacks, that is, with the tech-
nologies with the symbols = and ->?
It is always active, therefore no, you are not allowed to activate twice the same technology. This effect only works with
Base Technologies or Advanced Technologies which generate attacks by themselves and which have in their cost at least
one multicolor cube. The discount cannot be applied to solid color activation spaces (red, green etc.) but only to multicolor
activation spaces.

miscellaneous
May I look into the bag to see what cubes I have?
No. The cubes into the bag (like the cards in a deck) cannot be examined during a game. At any moment it is instead
allowed to count the cubes remaining inside the bag (as it would be allowed to count the cards in a deck).

The enemy miniatures give Gems during the game after the completion of a set (you have eliminated one min-
iature per player and you kill another one = 1 Gem) and therefore activate also the effects related to obtaining
a gem? Or do you get the gems at the end of the game according to how many you have killed?
This situation lets you obtain Gems but it is NOT a “Gem effect”.
Therefore the Gems obtained for killing a miniature of a player after having completed a set, are immediately obtained
but do not trigger any effect related to getting a Gem, as it would be of the Gem received thanks to activation of a Base
Technology, an Advanced Technology or a ruin.
3
When an effect generates a cube, where do I place it?
All effects that generate cubes (lines in the development areas of the player boards, technology effects or ruin effects)
will cause the cube to be placed in the bag.
The only exception: when a cube is generated through the removal of another cube (example Alchemy); in such case, the
new cube is placed exactly in the same spot where the removed cube was (example available cubes area, unused cubes
area or technology activation spaces etc.)

When I have a ruin token in my reserve and I obtain a second one, am I forced to play one? If yes, which one?
Yes. The possibilities are: play the ruin token in your reserve or discard the ruin in the reserve or play the new ruin.

A heartfelt thanks to Ben Hodgson for helping us produce these FAQ.

You might also like