0% found this document useful (0 votes)
82 views16 pages

Warhammer 40000 Rulebook En-3

This document provides errata and clarifications for version 1.4 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook. It contains corrections and amendments to rules for moving units, re-rolls, choosing targets for shooting and close combat, transports, and more. It also updates the command benefits for Battalion and Brigade detachments.

Uploaded by

david
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
0% found this document useful (0 votes)
82 views16 pages

Warhammer 40000 Rulebook En-3

This document provides errata and clarifications for version 1.4 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook. It contains corrections and amendments to rules for moving units, re-rolls, choosing targets for shooting and close combat, transports, and more. It also updates the command benefits for Battalion and Brigade detachments.

Uploaded by

david
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
You are on page 1/ 16

WARHAMMER 40,000

RULEBOOK
Official Update Version 1.4

Although we strive to ensure that our rules are perfect, Page 178 – Re-rolls
sometimes mistakes do creep in, or the intent of a rule Change this paragraph to read:
isn’t as clear as it might be. These documents collect ‘Some rules allow you to re-roll a dice roll, which means
amendments to the rules and present our responses to you get to roll some or all of the dice again. If a rule
players’ frequently asked questions. As they’re updated allows you to re-roll a result that was made by adding
regularly, each has a version number; when changes several dice together (e.g. 2D6, 3D6, etc.) then, unless
are made, the version number will be updated, and any otherwise stated, you must roll all of those dice again.
changes from the previous version will be highlighted You can never re-roll a dice more than once, and re-rolls
in magenta. Where a version number has a letter, happen before modifiers (if any) are applied.’
e.g. 1.1a, this means it has had a local update, only in
that language, to clarify a translation issue or other Page 179 – Choose Unit to Shoot With
minor correction. Change the fourth sentence to read:
‘Unless otherwise noted, each model in the unit attacks
ERRATA with all of the ranged weapons it is armed with – if a
Page 177 – Moving model in the firing unit has any weapons that can only
Add the following sentence to the end of the be used once per battle, you can choose whether or not
first paragraph: the model will fire that weapon.’
‘No part of a model or its base can be set up or moved
over the edge of the battlefield.’ Page 179 – Choose Ranged Weapons
Change the last sentence of the first paragraph to read:
Change the second paragraph to read: ‘In either case, at the same time that you choose targets
‘If the datasheet for a model says it can Fly, then during for the shooting unit’s attacks, you must declare how you
the Movement phase it can move across models as if they will split the shooting unit’s shots; then resolve all the
were not there, and when moving across terrain features, shots against one target before moving on to the next.’
vertical distance is not counted against the total it can
move (i.e. moving vertically is free for this model in Page 181 – Ignoring Wounds
the Movement phase). If the datasheet for a model says Add the following as a boxout on this page:
it can Fly, then during the Charge phase it can move ‘Ignoring Wounds
across models (other than Buildings) as if they were Some units have abilities that allow them to ignore
not there.’ the damage suffered each time it loses a wound (e.g.
Disgustingly Resilient, The Flesh is Weak and Tenacious
Page 177 – Movement Phase Survivor). If a model has more than one such ability, you
Add the following text to the end of the Movement can only use one of those abilities each time the model
phase section: loses a wound.’
‘Aircraft
Page 182 – Choose Targets
I f a unit can Fly and it has a minimum Move Change the third sentence of the second paragraph
characteristic (or if it has a damage table on to read:
its datasheet that includes any minimum Move ‘In either case, at the same time that you choose targets
characteristics), that unit gains the Aircraft keyword. for the unit’s close combat attacks, you must declare
how you will split the unit’s close combat attacks; then
 henever a model makes any kind of move, it can be
W resolve all attacks against one target before moving on
moved within 1" of enemy Aircraft, and it can be to the next.’
moved across such models (and their bases) as if they
were not there, but it cannot end the move on top of Page 183 – Choose Melee Weapon
another model (or its base), and it cannot end the move Change the second sentence to read:
within 1" of any enemy units. ‘In addition to their other weapons, all models are
assumed to be equipped with a close combat weapon,
I f, when a unit is selected to move in the Movement which has the following profile:’
phase, the only enemy units that are within 1" of it are
Aircraft, then it can still make a move (i.e. it does not Page 183 – Close combat weapon
have to Fall Back in order to move).’ Change the AP characteristic to read ‘0’.

WARHAMMER 40,000 RULEBOOK 1


Page 183 – Embark ‘Unless otherwise stated, a player controls an objective
Change the first sentence to read: marker if they have more models within 3" of the centre
‘If all models in a unit end their move within 3" of a of it than their opponent.’
friendly transport in the Movement phase, they can
embark within it.’ Page 229 – 62, Witch Hunter
Change the rules text to:
Add the following sentence to the end of the ‘Score 1 victory point if at least one enemy Psyker unit
third paragraph: was destroyed during this turn.
‘Units cannot declare a charge during the same turn
that they disembarked from a destroyed transport.’ Page 242 – Battlefield Role Slots
Change the last sentence of the second paragraph
Page 186 – The Warlord to read:
Change the first sentence to read: ‘For example, in order to take a Battalion Detachment –
‘Once you have mustered your army, nominate one of which you can see on the facing page – you must select
your models to be your Warlord (this cannot be a model three units with the Troops Battlefield Role, and cannot
with the Fortifications Battlefield Role).’ include more than six Troops units in the Detachment.’

Page 200 – Deployment Page 242 – Understrength Units


Change this paragraph to read: Change the second paragraph to read:
‘After terrain has been set up, the Defender sets up ‘If you are using Power Ratings, you must still pay the
three of their units wholly within their deployment zone Power Rating cost as if you had a minimum-sized unit,
– one of these units must have the Troops Battlefield even though it contains fewer models. If you are using
Role. The Attacker then selects three of their units to points, you only pay the points for the models you
serve as their patrol and sets them up wholly within their actually have in an understrength unit (and any wargear
deployment zone – one of these units must have the they are equipped with). An understrength unit still
Troops Battlefield Role. All other units arrive later in the takes up the appropriate slot in a Detachment. If you are
battle using the Reserves rules (pg 194).’ playing a matched play game, you can only include an
understrength unit in an Auxiliary Support Detachment.’
Pages 204 and 206 – Deployment
Change the penultimate sentence to read: Page 243 – Battalion Detachment, Command Benefits
‘The Attacker then sets up as many of their units as they Change this Detachment’s command benefits to read
wish wholly within their deployment zone.’ ‘+5 Command Points.’

Page 214 – Organised Events Page 243 – Brigade Detachment, Command Benefits
Replace this boxout with the one at the end of Change this Detachment’s command benefits to read
this document. ‘+12 Command Points.’

Page 215 – Sudden Death Page 248 – Woods


Change point 2 to read: Change the last sentence of the first paragraph of rules
‘If at the end of any turn after the first battle round, one text to read:
player has no models on the battlefield, the game ends ‘Other units only receive the benefit of cover if at least
immediately and their opponent automatically wins a 50% of every model is obscured from the point of view
crushing victory. When determining if a player has any of the shooting model.’
units on the battlefield, do not include any units with
the Flyer Battlefield Role – these units cannot operate Page 248 – Ruins
within a combat airspace indefinitely and they cannot Change the first paragraph of rules text to read:
hold territory without ground support. Furthermore, do ‘Unless they can Fly, Vehicles, Monsters, Cavalry
not include any units with the Fortification Battlefield and Bikers can only be set up or end their move on the
Role unless they have a unit embarked inside – even the ground floor of ruins.’
most formidable bastion requires a garrison if it is to
pose a threat.’ Change the third paragraph of rules text to read:
‘Infantry units that are entirely on or within a ruin
Pages 218, 219, 220, 221, 222, 223, 230, 231, 232, 233, receive the benefit of cover. Other units that are entirely
234, 235, 261 – Deployment on or within a ruin only receive the benefit of cover if at
Change ‘A player’s models must be set up within their least 50% of every model is obscured from the point of
own deployment zone’ to read: view of the shooting model.’
‘A player’s models must be set up wholly within their own
deployment zone.’ Page 249 – Craters
Change the first paragraph of rules text to read:
Page 226 – Using Tactical Objectives ‘Infantry units that are entirely within a crater receive
Add the following to the end of the paragraph: the benefit of cover.’

WARHAMMER 40,000 RULEBOOK 2


Page 249 – Barricades any that add or subtract to it. Having done this, you
Change the first sentence of rules text to read: then modify this value as described by the weapon’s
‘When a model targets an enemy Infantry unit that has Strength characteristic.
all of its models within 1" of a barricade, the target unit
receives the benefit of cover if the attacking model is For example, let’s imagine a model with a basic Strength
closer to the barricade than it is to the target.’ characteristic of 3 is under the effects of two psychic powers: a
friendly one that doubles their Strength characteristic, and an
Page 250 – Imperial Statuary enemy one that subtracts 1 from their Strength characteristic.
Change the first paragraph of rules text to read: That model’s current Strength is therefore 5. If this model then
‘Units within 3" of Imperial Statuary that are at least fights with a weapon like a power fist, which has a Strength
25% obscured by it from the point of view of the characteristic of ‘x2’, that attack will therefore be resolved at
shooting model receive the benefit of cover.’ Strength 10.

Page 265 – Deployment Q: Are modifiers to dice rolls cumulative in the same way that
Change the first paragraph to read: modifiers to characteristics are?
‘After the battlefield has been created, the Defender A: Yes.
sets up their army wholly within their deployment zone.
The Attacker then sets up their army wholly within their For example, if a model has the benefit of cover (+1 to its saving
deployment zone.’ throw) and is wounded by a plasma pistol (AP -3, so -3 to its
saving throw), the total modifier to the model’s saving throw
Page 269 – Deployment will be -2.
Change the first paragraph to read:
‘The Defender sets up their army wholly within their Q: Can a dice roll ever be modified above 6?
deployment zone. The Attacker then sets up their army A: Yes.
wholly within their deployment zone.
Note that in some cases, a roll will only be successful on rolls
Page 271 – Deployment of 7+. Poxwalkers, for example, have a Save characteristic of
Change the penultimate sentence of the second 7+, meaning that without at least a +1 modifier to their saving
paragraph to read: throw (such as that gained from cover) they will not be able to
‘Models must be set up wholly within their own pass the roll.
deployment zone, more than 9" from the centre of
the battlefield. Q: Can a dice roll ever be modified to less than 1?
A: No. If, after all modifiers have been applied, a dice
DESIGNER’S COMMENTARY roll would be less than 1, count that result as a 1.
The following ‘Q and As’ were published alongside
Warhammer 40,000 when it was first released. They are Q: If a rule or ability grants a re-roll on, for example, ‘hit rolls
designed to clarify certain core rules concepts and as a of 1’ (such as a Space Marine Captain’s Rites of Battle ability)
result each tends to have an accompanying designer’s does that effect trigger before or after applying modifiers to the
note, in italics, to help provide further context or to hit rolls?
give examples. These questions may be of particular use A: Re-rolls always happen before modifiers, so the re-roll
to those who are new to playing games of Warhammer ability is triggered before applying modifiers.
40,000, but many are unaware that a separate
‘Designer’s Commentary’ document exists. As a result, For example, let’s imagine a Space Marine (Ballistic Skill 3+)
we have simply incorporated it into the main Errata and moves and fires a heavy bolter (a Heavy 3 weapon) whilst
FAQ document. within range of a Space Marine Captain’s Rites of Battle ability
(allowing you to re-roll hit rolls of 1).
Q: Can a model take the same wargear option more than once?
For example, can a Space Marine Terminator replace his storm The hit dice are rolled and result in a 1, 2 and 5.
bolter with a cyclone missile launcher and another storm bolter,
and then replace its ‘new’ storm bolter with a heavy flamer? Re-rolls are applied before modifiers. In this example a single
A: No. Each bullet-pointed wargear option on a unit’s dice is re-rolled because of the Captain’s ability, this time
datasheet can only be used once each time you include resulting in a 3.
that unit in your army.
Modifiers are applied after re-rolls. In this example there is
Q: If a rule modifies a model’s Strength characteristic, and that a -1 modifier to the hit rolls for moving and firing a Heavy
model is equipped with a melee weapon that also has a modifier weapon. That means that the post-re-roll scores of 2, 3 and 5
(e.g. ‘x2’), could you explain the order in which the modifiers are modified to 1, 2 and 4. Comparing the final results to the
are applied to the characteristics and the weapon’s Strength? model’s Ballistic Skill, only one shot hits the target.
A: First you must determine the model’s current
Strength characteristic. To do so apply all modifiers
to it that multiply or divide the value, then apply

WARHAMMER 40,000 RULEBOOK 3


Q: When making a hit roll with a supercharged plasma Q: If a model cannot shoot at the closest visible enemy unit for
weapon, do you determine whether a ‘1’ was rolled before or some reason (e.g. it is within 1" of one of your units) but the
after applying re-rolls and modifiers? next closest visible enemy unit is a Character, can that
A: You apply all re-rolls and modifiers first. model then target the character?
A: No.
For example, if, after re-rolls and modifiers, the final result
is then a 1 (or counts as a 1, as explained above), then the Q: When rolling for abilities such as ‘Disgustingly Resilient’
supercharged plasma weapon injures or kills the firer. or ‘Tenacious Survivor’ against attacks which inflict multiple
wounds, do you roll to ignore each individual wound inflicted
Q: If a rule states that an ability triggers on, for example, ‘hit by the attack, or do you roll only once to ignore all the wounds
rolls of 6+’, does this refer to the result of the dice rolls before or inflicted by the attack?
after modifiers are applied? A: Roll to avoid each wound lost separately.
A: It refers to the final result, after re-rolls and modifiers
(if any) have been applied. For example, if a model with Disgustingly Resilient fails its
saving throw against an attack made by a thunder hammer
The only exception to this would be abilities that specifically (Damage 3), you would roll three dice and for each result of 5+
state, for example, ‘unmodified hit rolls of 6’, or ‘hit rolls of 6 you would ignore a single wound.
before modifiers are applied.’
Q: When determining whether a model benefits from cover, does
Q: Can I use the Command Re-roll Stratagem to re-roll a dice the model’s entire unit need to be fully on or within terrain, or
roll made by my opponent? just the model making a particular saving throw?
A: No. A: All of the models in a unit need to be at least partially
on or within terrain if any of the models are to receive
Note that the rules assume that a player always rolls their own the +1 bonus to their saving throw.
dice (instead of asking their opponent, for example, to roll hit
rolls, saving throws, etc. on their behalf). That being the case, Note, however, that it is possible for a unit to gain the benefit
you can only use the above-mentioned Stratagem to affect dice of cover as it suffers casualties during the Shooting phase by
rolls you make, and not those made by your opponent. removing those models that are not on, or within terrain. As
soon as the last model that was not on or within terrain is
Q: What happens if a unit that has become split up during slain, the rest of the unit immediately starts to receive the benefit
battle cannot re-establish unit coherency the next time it moves? of cover.
A: In this case the unit cannot move.
Q: What happens when a model fires a weapon that can shoot
Note that the rules concerning unit coherency apply any at targets that are not visible to it (such as a mortar) at a
time that a unit is moved, including charging, piling in, target it cannot see, if the target unit is within range of a piece
consolidating, etc. Again, if a unit cannot end such a move in of terrain that grants it the benefits of cover only when it is
unit coherency, it cannot make the move. obscured by a certain amount from the point of view of the firer
(such as a unit within 3" of Imperial Statuary)?
Q: Can Characters only perform a Heroic Intervention A: The unit receives the benefit of cover.
against enemy units that charged this turn, or can they do so
against any enemy unit? Q: Is a unit’s charge roll the same thing as its charge distance?
A: They can do so against any enemy unit. A: Yes.

Note that they can only do so if they end up closer to the nearest Q: Can you declare charges against units that are not visible to
enemy model, whether it charged this turn or not. the charging unit?
A: Yes.
Q: Some Character units can include non-Character
models – the Genestealer Cults Patriarch and its Familiar Note however that the unit being charged still obeys the
‘upgrade’, for example. Can such a unit be shot at even if it normal rules for targeting when it fires Overwatch, and so,
isn’t the closest visible enemy unit? if a model cannot see the charging unit, it will not be able to
A: No. The restrictions on targeting Characters fire Overwatch.
applies to a unit whilst any model in the unit has
the Character keyword (and none have 10 or Q: If any of your units are eligible to fight in the Fight phase,
more wounds). can you choose for them not to fight this turn? Also, if any of
your units charged in the Charge phase, do they have to fight
For example, if a Patriarch takes a Familiar as an upgrade, the first in the Fight phase, or can you choose for them to wait until
Patriarch is a Character, but the Familiar is not. Neither later in the phase?
has 10 or more Wounds. Enemies can therefore only target the A: All eligible units must fight in the Fight phase; they
pair if they are the closest visible enemy models. If the Patriarch cannot ‘pass’ and wait for another phase. Additionally,
is slain and the Familiar is not, enemy units could then target a unit must fight when it is its time to do so; it cannot
the Familiar freely. ‘hold’ in order to fight later in the phase. So if a unit

WARHAMMER 40,000 RULEBOOK 4


charged in the preceding Charge phase, it must fight Q: Which player rolls the D6 to see if a vehicle explodes, or if a
before any non-charging models in the Fight phase monster has death throes, etc. when it is destroyed?
(barring any related abilities). A: The player whose model has been destroyed rolls
the D6.
Note that when a model fights, it must do all of its close combat
attacks if it can do so – you cannot choose for it not to do so Q: In missions where players alternate deploying units, do units
(though you can still choose which weapon it uses for each close that are set up somewhere other than the battlefield still count as
combat attack). a player’s deployment choice? What about units that begin the
battle embarked within a transport?
Q: If a unit starts the Fight phase within 1" of an enemy unit A: Units with abilities on their datasheets that allow
but, due to casualties suffered and models removed, it is no them to be set up somewhere other than the battlefield
longer within 1" of any enemy units later in the phase, can it must still be ‘set up’ in that locale, and so still count
still be chosen to fight? as a deployment choice. When you choose to set up a
A: No, unless the unit in question charged this turn it transport, declare what units (if any) are embarked
cannot be chosen to fight if there are no longer enemy inside – these are not separate deployment choices.
units within 1". Note that it is possible – if heavy enough
casualties have been incurred – that even a unit that For example, two players are deploying their armies for the Only
did charge may not be close enough, even after a pile- War mission. The mission instructs them to alternate deploying
in move, to make close combat attacks. It can still, of their units. Player A starts by setting up a unit of Ork Boyz
course, consolidate. on the battlefield. Player B then sets up a unit of Intercessors
on the battlefield. Player A then sets up a Battlewagon on the
Q: If a unit starts the Fight phase with no enemy units within battlefield – as it is a transport, Player A declares it will start
1", but then enemy units that have been chosen to fight move to the battle with a Warboss and a unit of Tankbustas embarked
within 1" of it as a result of their pile-in or consolidation moves, inside. Player B then sets up a unit of Terminators, but uses
can that unit then be chosen to fight when it is your turn to their Teleport Strike ability to set them up in a teleportarium
choose a unit? chamber instead of on the battlefield. Player A then sets up their
A: Yes. next unit, and so on.

Note, however, that units can only be chosen to fight once Q: Can a Battle-forged army ever have fewer than 0
per phase. Command Points?
A: No.
Q: When piling in and consolidating, does a model have to
move as close as possible towards the nearest enemy model, or do Regardless of how many Auxiliary Support Detachments
they just need to move closer to it? you take, you can never start a battle with fewer than 0
A: If a model moves at all when piling in or Command Points.
consolidating, it only has to end its move closer to
the nearest enemy model than where it started. It Q: What is the difference between a unit’s Power Rating and its
is not necessary to move as close as possible (i.e. points value? Can I play a matched play game using my army’s
base-to-base contact). Power Level instead of its points total? Can I play a narrative
play mission using a points total?
Note that if a model is in base-to-base contact, it cannot possibly A: A unit’s Power Rating is a measure of its efficacy on
end a move closer to the enemy, and so cannot move when its the battlefield. The higher the Power Rating, the more
unit piles in or consolidates. powerful the unit. An army’s Power Level is calculated
by adding up the Power Ratings of all the units in
Q: If a unit piles in or consolidates into a unit it didn’t declare the army, so an army with a high Power Level is more
a charge against in the preceding Charge phase, does that unit powerful than one with a low Power Level.
get to fire Overwatch?
A: No. Power Ratings are designed to give players, at a glance,
an idea of how mighty a unit is on the battlefield,
Remember though that units that charged can only make close irrespective of the weapons and wargear it can take (they
combat attacks against units that they declared the charge are actually based on a calculation of the unit’s average
against, even if pile-in moves, etc. bring them within 1" of a value, after considering all possible combinations of
different unit. weapons and wargear the unit can have). They can
therefore be used as a quick guide to establish the
Q: When is a unit considered to be ‘completely destroyed’ or comparative might of each army, and are intended
‘wiped out’? primarily for open and narrative play games.
A: These two terms are used synonymously. A unit is
considered to be completely destroyed when the last Points values are similar, but are designed specifically
model in that unit is destroyed (also referred to as slain) with matched play in mind because they offer more
or flees. granularity. Whilst it takes a little longer to work
out each unit’s points value, doing so enables you to

WARHAMMER 40,000 RULEBOOK 5


differentiate between two similar squads equipped with are Unaligned). Once the battle has begun, there is
different weapon options, as the points values listed in no functional difference between a keyword and a
our books reflect the fact that some weapons are more Faction keyword.
powerful than others.
For example, when creating a Battle-forged army for matched
There is a relationship between the two – a unit with play, I take two Patrol Detachments; the first contains only units
a high Power Rating will also have a high points value. with the Heretic Astartes Faction keyword, and the second
As a result, it is perfectly legitimate to play a matched contains only units with the Daemon Faction keyword. My Army
play game using Power Ratings instead of points values. Faction is ‘Chaos’ because this is a Faction keyword every unit
Likewise, if you wish to use points values in a narrative or in the entire army shares.
open play game, you can. We recommend both players use
the same method as each other, but as long as you both Once the battle has begun, the distinction between keywords
agree, you can decide which method you prefer to use. and Faction keywords no longer has any effect – both are used
to interact with abilities identically. Imagine, then, that the
Q: Does the pluralisation (or not) of a keyword make any Heretic Astartes Detachment contains a unit of Possessed
difference to which units the rule applies to (e.g. Terminator (which does not have the Daemon Faction keyword, but does
vs. Terminators)? have the Daemon keyword), and I choose for them to replace
A: No. their <Mark of Chaos> keyword with Khorne. If the
Daemon Detachment contained a Herald of Khorne, his ability
Q: If I can choose a keyword for a unit, such as <Regiment> to ‘add 1 to the Strength characteristic of all Khorne Daemons’
for Astra Militarum, could I choose that keyword to be, for would also apply to the unit of Possessed, as they have both the
example ‘Blood Angels’ or ‘Death Guard’? Khorne and Daemon keywords.
A: No.
Q: Several missions refer to different types of victory – minor
In the example above, ‘Blood Angels’ is a Chapter of the Adeptus victory, major victory, heroic victory, etc. Do the different types of
Astartes and ‘Death Guard’ is a Legion of the Heretic Astartes – victory mean anything?
neither of which are Regiments of the Astra Militarum. A: Only for determining bragging rights post-battle.

Q: If I create an Astra Militarum Regiment of my own and name FAQs


them, for example, the ‘Emperor’s Finest’, and I then also create GENERAL QUESTIONS
an Adeptus Astartes Chapter of my own choosing, and also call Q: In a Matched Play game, or another game that is using points
them the ‘Emperor’s Finest’, do the abilities that work on the values, what is the points value of a unit champion (a Sergeant,
<Regiment> and/or <Chapter> keywords now work on both a Boss Nob, an Exarch etc.)?
the Astra Militarum and Adeptus Astartes units? A: Unless noted otherwise in the points value entry for
A: No. that unit, a unit champion has the same points cost as the
other models in their unit.
The intent of naming Regiments, Chapters, etc. of your own
creation is to personalise your collections and not to enable Q: Can I ever skip a phase, or part of a phase? For example, if
players to circumvent the restrictions on what abilities affect what my army contains no Psykers, can I skip my Psychic phase?
units. It is also not intended to circumvent the restrictions on A: No. You must play out all of the phases in a turn, and
which units are able to be included in the same Detachment. all parts of each phase. In the example you give, your
opponent may have rules or Stratagems that are used in
Q: When a model does not have a base, as is the case with many your Psychic phase, and so you cannot skip it.
vehicles, what exactly is the ‘hull’ of the model?
A: The hull of these models refers to the main body of Q: If a unit has a Strength characteristic of ‘-’, but I need to use
the model. It does not include things such as turrets, that characteristic to resolve a rule (e.g. shooting web pistols or
sponsons, aerials, banners, spikes etc. If there is webbers, the Death Grip Stratagem etc.) what value should I use?
still doubt, we recommend both players agree about A: Substitute the unit’s Toughness characteristic for its
what constitutes the hull of such models before the Strength characteristic for the purposes of resolving
battle begins. such rules.

Q: What is the difference between a keyword and a Q: What does within 1" mean? Does it mean any distance up to
Faction keyword? 1", or does it mean any distance up to and including 1"?
A: The only real difference is that Faction keywords are A: It means any distance up to and including 1".
used when building an army; when Battle-forging an
army, for instance, you will often only be able to include
units in the same detachment if they share the same
Faction keyword. Also, if you are playing a matched
play game, you will need to have an Army Faction – this
is a Faction keyword that is shared by all of the units
in your entire army (with the exception of those that

WARHAMMER 40,000 RULEBOOK 6


Q: Can you clarify what the difference is between ‘wholly within’ Q: If a unit cannot make any sort of move (including pile-in and
and ‘within’ for rules purposes? consolidation moves) and end that move in unit coherency, can it
A: If a rule says it affects models that are ‘wholly within’ make that move?
then it only applies if every part of the model’s base (or A: No.
hull) is within. If a rule says it affects models that are
‘within’, however, then it applies so long as any part of the Q: If one of my units shoots an enemy unit in which only one
model’s base (or hull) is within. model is visible, and I resolve the attacks one at a time, slaying
that model before I have resolved all of my unit’s attacks, what
If a rule says it affects units that are ‘wholly within’ then happens to the rest of the attacks – are they wasted?
it only applies if every part of every model’s base (or hull) A: No. You determine the number of attacks the firing
in that unit is within. If a rule says it affects units that are unit will make against the target unit before any of those
‘within’, however, then it applies so long as any part of any attacks are made (i.e. before any hit rolls are made). If
model’s base (or hull) in that unit is within. If a rule says you are resolving these attacks one at a time and your
it affects units if every model in that unit is ‘within’ then opponent removes the only visible model as a casualty, you
applies so long as any part of every model’s base (or hull) still continue to resolve the remainder of the firing unit’s
is within. attacks against that target.

For example, units gain the benefit of cover if every model Q: If a model whose attacks always hit on a specific roll (such as
in the unit is either on or within terrain. So long as all the a Vindicare Assassin or Dark Reaper’s ranged attacks) targets
models in that unit are either on or partially within the a unit that can only be hit on a specific roll (such as a unit
terrain, they gain the benefit of cover. under the effects of the Pathfinders Stratagem), which rule takes
precedent – the attacking model’s or the target unit’s?
Q: When a rule refers to the ‘nearest’ unit/model, and two are A: The attacking model’s ability takes precedence.
equidistant, who decides which is the nearest?
A: Unless stated otherwise, the player controlling the unit Q: For rules that modify a weapon’s characteristic(s), if that
that is using the rule decides. characteristic is a random value, how is the modification
applied? For example, if a rule increases a weapon’s Damage
For example, if a psyker manifested the Smite psychic characteristic by 1, and the weapon’s normal Damage
power, and two enemy units were both exactly 4" away, the characteristic is ‘D3’, what is its modified characteristic?
player controlling the psyker could choose which is the A: Any such modification is applied after the random
‘closest’ and hence which suffers damage from the power. result is rolled. In the example given, the modified
characteristic would be D3+1.
Similarly, if in your Shooting phase an enemy Character
and another enemy unit were both exactly 10" away from Q: Can a unit fire Overwatch at a Character if, when it
your firing model, you could choose which is the closest declares its charge at them, there are other visible enemy models
before resolving the shots – so you could choose to shoot that are closer?
the Character if you want. If two enemy Characters are A: Yes.
equidistant from a firing model (and there is no other
closer enemy unit) then the firing model’s controller Q: Can I use the Command Re-roll Stratagem to retroactively
can choose which of the two Characters is closest before re-roll a dice? For example, if I take a Psychic test, and then my
resolving the model’s shots. Note that it cannot choose opponent successfully Denies the Witch, could I use the Stratagem
for them both to be the closest, so cannot split its fire to try and increase the result of the original Psychic test?
between the two. A: No. You must use the Stratagem as soon as you have
rolled your dice, before anything else occurs.
If neither player controls the origin of the rule in
question (e.g. if a mission’s rules include gigantic rocks Q: Do units that are not Infantry (Vehicles, Monsters,
that are crashing indiscriminately into the battlefield) etc.) gain the benefit of cover from woods, ruins etc. if they are at
then the players should roll off. Whoever wins decides least 50% obscured by that piece of terrain but are not actually
which unit/model is nearest. on or within it?
A: No. Unless they are Infantry, such a unit must meet
Q: Can I set up a unit, or finish any sort of move with a unit, so the two following conditions to gain the benefit of cover:
that its models form several separate groups (where each group
consists of models from that unit that are within 2" horizontally • A ll of its models must be either on or within the terrain.
and 6" vertically of at least one other model from their group)?
A: No. The unit must set up or finish any sort of move as a • The unit must be at least 50% obscured from the point
single group. of view of the firer (note that it doesn’t matter what is
obscuring the target, only that it is obscured).
Q: If a unit is out of unit coherency, must that unit move to re-
establish unit coherency, or can the unit remain stationary, thus
staying out of coherency?
A: The unit can choose to remain stationary.

WARHAMMER 40,000 RULEBOOK 7


Q: If a rule allows me to re-roll Damage rolls of 1, and the Q: For the purposes of the Strategic Discipline matched play rule,
Damage characteristic for a weapon is D3, do I re-roll the D6 are Stratagems with identical names that appear in different
rolls of 1 and 2 (which are halved to get the D3 result) or only the codexes (e.g. ‘Veterans of the Long War’, which is a Stratagem in
original D6 rolls of 1? Codex: Chaos Space Marines, Codex: Death Guard and
A: In this case, you re-roll the D3 result (so you re-roll Codex: Thousand Sons) considered to be the same Stratagem?
rolls of 1 or 2 made on the D6). A: Yes. This means that, in matched play games, such
Stratagems can only be used once per phase regardless
Q: Two enemy Infantry units are within 1" of each other of their source. For example, if you use the Veterans of
and in the same piece of terrain. Do they both receive the benefit the Long War Stratagem from Codex: Chaos Space Marines,
of cover against shooting attacks made with Pistols by the you cannot in the same phase also use the Veterans of the
other unit? Long War Stratagem from either Codex: Death Guard or
A: Yes. Codex: Thousand Sons.

Q: If my unit, which is equipped with Pistols, is within 1" of an Q: For the purposes of the Tactical Reserves matched play rule,
enemy unit in the Shooting phase, but the closest enemy unit to do units that act separately after they have been set up (e.g. Mek
some of the models in my unit is actually another enemy unit (i.e. Gunz and their Grot Crew, T’au Battlesuits and their Drones,
not the enemy unit that is within 1" of my unit), which unit do units that have the Vehicle Squadron ability, etc.) count as being
those models shoot at? a single unit, or several units?
A: Each individual model in your unit can shoot its Pistols A: Such units are a single unit for the purposes of the
at the closest enemy unit, whether it is the unit within 1" Tactical Reserves rule.
of the firing model’s unit or not (in such circumstances,
the firing model can shoot the closest unit even if other Q: If both players have Stratagems or abilities that are used ‘at
friendly units are within 1" of it). the beginning of the first battle round but before the first turn
begins’ (for example, if both players use the Forward Operatives
Q: In the narrative play missions that use the Reserves mission Stratagem from Codex: Chaos Space Marines), who resolves
rule, what happens with units such as Terminators that have their abilities first?
abilities that allow them to be set up on the battlefield mid-battle? A: Unless the rule in question says otherwise, the players
Can they be set up at the end of any Movement phase, as indicated roll off and, starting with the winner, alternate resolving
by the ability, or can they only do so when they arrive from Reserves? such rules one at a time.
A: If the unit is deployed somewhere other than the
battlefield (for instance, in a teleportarium chamber) Q: The rules for Advancing state that you roll a dice and add the
then it is only set up on the battlefield when it arrives result to the Move characteristic of the models in the unit ‘for that
from Reserves. Movement phase’. If, for whatever reason, I am able to Advance
and then move normally with a unit in the same Movement
Q: Some rules allow me to add models to a unit during the battle phase, does the number I added to the unit’s Move characteristic
(e.g. the Poxwalker’s Curse of the Walking Pox ability). Where are when it Advanced still apply when I make the normal move with
those models set up? the unit? For example, I have a unit whose Move characteristic
A: Unless otherwise stated, these new models are placed is 6". It Advances, and I roll a 6, adding that to its Move
anywhere that is more than 1" from any enemy model and characteristic to make 12". If it moves again in the same phase,
still within unit coherency of a model in its own unit that its Move characteristic is still 12", so can it move up to 12" when
was itself on the battlefield at the start of the phase in making this move?
which the new model was created. Note that if you cannot A: Yes. Note that a unit cannot Advance more than once
set up a new model on the battlefield because there is no in the same Movement phase, so the Move characteristic
room, it is simply not set up. of a unit can only be modified once in this manner.

Q: Is it possible to use a Stratagem from one codex to target a unit Q: If a unit with a minimum Move characteristic is affected by
from another? an ability which changes its Move characteristic, do I change both
A: Yes, so long as the unit the Stratagem is being used on its minimum and maximum Move characteristics?
has the appropriate keywords (note that the Stratagems A: Yes. For example, an undamaged Hemlock
in Codex: Chaos Daemons and Codex: Tyranids are specific Wraithfighter has a Move characteristic of 20"-60". If
exceptions to this, as discussed in the relevant FAQs it was affected by the Doombolt psychic power, in the
and Errata). following Movement phase, it’s Move characteristic would
be 10"-30".
For example, you can use the Tide of Traitors Stratagem
from Codex: Chaos Space Marines on a unit of Cultists from Q: If a Stratagem instructs you to select a unit from your army
a Death Guard Detachment (from Codex: Death Guard) if at the start of the turn, can I choose one that is not yet on
your army has both an Alpha Legion Detachment and a the battlefield (because, for example, it is currently embarked
Death Guard Detachment in a single Battle-forged army. in a Transport or it was set up in a teleportarium chamber
during deployment)?
Also note that the only requirement to have access A: No, unless the Stratagem specifically says otherwise.
to Stratagems is that you have a Detachment of the
appropriate Faction.

WARHAMMER 40,000 RULEBOOK 8


Q: If I set up a unit on the battlefield as reinforcements at the end to your army during the battle and has been set up (such
of my Movement phase, can I then use any Stratagems that are as those added via the Daemonic Ritual ability), or units
used ‘during your Movement phase’? set up via any of the following Stratagems: Fresh Converts
A: No, unless the Stratagem specifically says otherwise. (see Codex: Adeptus Mechanicus), Tide of Traitors (see
Codex: Chaos Space Marines), Unstoppable Green Tide (see
Q: What rules apply to units that are removed from the battlefield Codex: Orks), More Where They Came From (see Imperium
after deployment (via abilities, Stratagems or psychic powers), Nihilus: Vigilus Ablaze), Send in the Next Wave (Codex:
and are then set back up again on the battlefield? Astra Militarum), and Endless Swarm (Codex: Tyranids).
A : If a rule or ability causes a unit to be removed from the These Stratagems represent new units joining the fight,
battlefield and subsequently set back up, the following rather than the existing units being repositioned on
rules apply to that unit: the battlefield.

1. A ny rules that are triggered by or apply to units that Q: When a rule allows a model or unit to take an action (move,
are ‘set up on the battlefield as reinforcements’ are also shoot, charge, fight or attempt to manifest a psychic power)
triggered by and apply to that unit when it is set up on outside of the normal turn sequence, and that rule explicitly
the battlefield. mentions to make that action as if it were a different phase of the
turn structure to the current one, e.g. ‘That unit can shoot as if it
2. M
 odels in that unit count as having moved a distance were the Shooting phase’, do rules that are normally used during
equal to their Move characteristic that turn (and so that phase (in the example this would be the Shooting phase) take
suffer the penalty to their hit rolls for moving and effect? Is the same true of Overwatch attacks?
firing Heavy weapons). If the unit has a minimum Move A: With the exception of Stratagems, all rules (e.g.
characteristic, it counts as having moved its maximum abilities, Warlord Traits, psychic powers etc.) that would
Move characteristic. apply in a specific phase apply to actions that are taking
place ‘as if it were that phase’. However, if a Stratagem
3. Models in that unit cannot move again during that turn specifies that it must be used in a specific phase, then
for any reason, other than to make a charge move, to it can only be used in that phase (e.g. you cannot use a
pile in, or to consolidate. Stratagem that says ‘Use this Stratagem in the Shooting
phase’ to affect a unit that is Shooting ‘as if it were
4. I f that unit was within 1" of an enemy unit when it was the Shooting phase’). For the purposes of this FAQ,
removed, it does not count as having Fallen Back when Overwatch attacks are also considered to be attacks made
it is set back up on the battlefield. as if it were your Shooting phase.

5. If that unit has Advanced during this turn, it still Q: If I use a Stratagem such as Auspex Scan or Forewarned
counts as having Advanced after it has been set back up to shoot with a unit ‘as if it were the Shooting phase’, does the
on the battlefield. restriction on not being able to target an enemy Character
with a Wounds characteristic of 10 or less apply, even though
6. A
 ny destroyed models in that unit when it is removed that Stratagem is being used in the Movement phase?
are still destroyed when their unit is set back up on the A: Yes.
battlefield. If they were destroyed during this turn, they
still count towards any Morale tests taken for that unit Q: Are you able to Advance or Fall Back in a different phase
this turn. when moving ‘as if it were the Movement phase’ through an
ability, Relic, Stratagem etc.?
7. A
 ny models in that unit that have lost any wounds do A: Unless stated otherwise, yes. Note that if you do
not regain those wounds when they are removed, and Advance, and the unit has already Advanced this turn,
will still have lost them when their unit is set back up on you should roll the dice again to see how much further
the battlefield. the unit moves (i.e. do not use the same roll made when
the unit first Advanced this turn).
8. A ny rules that unit was being affected by when it was
removed, and which would continue to affect it for a Q: When a unit is chosen to make a charge move and fails the
specific duration (from abilities, Stratagems, psychic charge, do they still count as having charged? Specifically, can
powers, etc.), continue to affect that unit until such a a unit that has failed a charge move be chosen to pile in – and
point as they would normally have no longer applied. potentially consolidate – towards the enemy?
For example, a unit that was within range of an aura A: A unit only counts as having charged if they made a
ability when it was removed would no longer be charge move. If a charge fails, and no models make a
affected by that ability if it was set up outside of that charge move, they do not count as having charged. As
aura’s range, whereas a unit that was being affected by such, they cannot be chosen to fight in the Fight phase
a psychic power that lasted until the end of that turn (and so cannot pile in or consolidate) unless an enemy
would still be affected by it until the end of that turn. unit moves within 1" of them.

 ote that points 5-8 do not apply to any unit set up via
N
the Sustained Assault rule, any unit that has been added

WARHAMMER 40,000 RULEBOOK 9


Q: Can you perform Heroic Interventions in your opponent’s rolling one D6 to see if their Stratagem successfully stops ‘A Plan
charge phase even if they did not declare any charges that phase? Generation in the Making’. If it does, then after refunding any
A: Yes. CPs as directed (or not), A Plan Generations in the Making is
not considered to have been used and Lightning-fast Reactions
Q: Can you ever perform a Heroic Intervention during your is resolved as normal. If Agents of Vect fails to stop A Plan
own turn? Generations in the Making, the Genestealer Cults player can
A: No. now resolve their Stratagem, rolling one D6 to see if they can stop
Lightning-fast Reactions in the normal manner.
Q: If a unit declares a charge against an enemy unit that is
entirely on the upper level of a terrain feature such as a ruin, REINFORCEMENTS
Sector Mechanicus structure, etc., but it cannot physically end Q: If a rule creates a new unit during the battle in a matched
its charge move within 1" of any models from that unit (either play game and adds them to my army, must I pay for the unit
because there is not enough room to place the charging unit, or with my reinforcement points?
because the charging unit is unable to end its move on the upper A: Yes (unless the rule itself says otherwise). If you don’t
levels of that terrain feature because of the expanded terrain rules have enough reinforcement points, you cannot add that
for it – as with ruins, for example), does that charge fail? unit to your army.
A: Yes.
Q: What about rules that transform one model into another
Q: When using an ability or Stratagem to fight again in the model – such as turning an enemy Character into a Chaos
Fight phase, or fight ‘as if it were the Fight phase’, are you able to Spawn; do I still need to pay reinforcement points to add the
ignore the rules for who is eligible to fight in the Fight phase? For Chaos Spawn to my army?
example, a unit is not within 1" of any enemy models and did A: Again, yes (unless the rule itself says otherwise).
not charge that turn when I use the Stratagem – can it be selected
to fight again in order to pile into an enemy unit that was more Q: What about rules that add models to existing units; do I need
than 1" away and fight? to pay reinforcement points for those models?
A: No. A: No (unless the rule itself says otherwise or adding the
models would take the unit above its starting size).
Q: When using an ability or Stratagem at the end of the Fight
phase to immediately fight again (e.g. Fury of Khorne) and the Q: If a unit is added to my army during the battle that has any
selected unit moves within 1" of an enemy unit that has not yet keywords that are in angular brackets, when do I choose what
fought this phase, after fighting with the unit selected, can that those keywords are?
enemy unit now fight even though it’s the end of the Fight phase? A: You decide what that unit’s keywords are the moment
A: Yes. that it is added to your army.

Q: If a rule states that a unit fails its Morale test in a certain Q: If a unit is added to my Battle-forged army during the battle,
roll, but that unit is affected by another rule that says that it is it ever considered to be part of a Detachment?
automatically passes Morale tests, which rule takes precedence? A: No, units that are added to your army during the battle
A: Rules that say a unit automatically pass a Morale test are never part of any Detachment (this means they will
always take precedence over rules that say a Morale test never benefit from any Detachment abilities).
is failed.
Q. The rules for reinforcements say that when a unit is set up
Q: If a rule states that a number of additional models flee a unit on the battlefield as reinforcements, it cannot move or Advance
when it fails a Morale test, but that unit is affected by another further that turn, but can otherwise act normally (shoot,
rule that says that no models flee from that unit, which rule charge, etc.).
takes precedence? Can such a unit make a charge move? Can it pile in
A: Rules that say no models flee from a unit always take and consolidate?
precedence over rules that say that a number of additional A: Yes to both questions – the unit can declare a charge
models flee that unit. and make a charge move, and if it is chosen to fight, it
can pile in and consolidate.
Q: How do we resolve consecutive use of Stratagems that cancel
other Stratagems (e.g. what happens if a player uses Agents Can such a unit move or Advance for any other reason e.g.
of Vect in order to try and stop another player’s using A Plan because of an ability such as The Swarmlord’s Hive Commander
Generations in the Making)? ability, or because of a psychic power such as Warptime from
A: The Stratagem used last must be resolved the Dark Hereticus discipline, or because of a Stratagem like
completely first. Metabolic Overdrive from Codex: Tyranids, etc.?
A: No.
For example, let’s say a Drukhari player declares the use of
the ‘Lightning-fast Reactions’ Stratagem. A Genestealer Cults
player declares the use of the ‘A Plan Generations in the Making’
Stratagem on ‘Lightning-fast Reactions’. The Drukhari player
then declares the use of ‘Agents of Vect’ on ‘A Plan Generations
in the Making’. The Drukhari player resolves Agents of Vect first,

WARHAMMER 40,000 RULEBOOK 10


Q. Some rules – such as Early Warning Override in Codex: Space Marines from the Tactical Squad. The Razorback model is
T’au Empire, the Ever Vigilant Stratagem in Codex: Adeptus now removed from the battlefield.
Custodes, and the Auspex Scan Stratagem in Codex: Space
Marines – allow units to shoot at enemy units that have just Q: The Tactical Reserves matched play rule states that at least
arrived on the battlefield as reinforcements, as if it were the half the total number of units in my army must be set up on the
Shooting phase. battlefield during Deployment. If I have units embarked in a
Q1. If the unit arriving as reinforcements is a Character, transport, do they count against the number of units I have to set
can the firing unit shoot at it even if it is not the closest up during Deployment? If, for example, I have a Valkyrie with
enemy unit? three units embarked inside it that will arrive on the battlefield
A: No – unless the firing unit is using a weapon that during the game, how many other units do I need to set up
allows them to target a Character even if it is not the during Deployment to satisfy the Tactical Reserves rule?
closest enemy unit. This takes place ‘as if it were the A: Yes, embarked units count as units in your army, so must
Shooting phase’, so all the normal restrictions of the be counted when referring to this rule. If you have three
Shooting phase still apply. units embarked inside a transport that will arrive during
the game, you need to set up at least four other units on
Q2. If the unit arriving as reinforcements has another unit the battlefield during Deployment – equivalently, if you set
embarked inside it which must disembark after it has been set up up three units in a transport on the battlefield, you could
(such as units embarked within a Drop Pod, or a Tyrannocyte), set up four other units to arrive during the game.
can the firing unit shoot at the unit as it disembarks?
A: No – though the unit can shoot at the Drop Pod/ Q: If a transport moves, do any models embarked inside it count
Tyrannocyte before the units inside disembark. as also having moved?
A: Yes.
TRANSPORTS
Q: Where Detachments say that you may include 1 Dedicated Q: Can a unit that is within 1" of the enemy and entirely within
Transport for each other choice, what does that mean? 3" of a friendly Transport embark into that transport without
A: It means that for each unit you include in the having to move? For example, because they cannot Fly and
Detachment that does not have the Dedicated would have to move through enemy models?
Transport Battlefield Role, you can include one A: No.
Dedicated Transport.
Q: If a transport with the Open-topped ability (e.g. a Trukk) is
Q: How do transports work with regards to disembarking units within range of an aura ability, are units that are embarked upon
upon the transport’s destruction? that transport affected by that ability?
A: No.
A: Disembarking from a destroyed transport operates
as follows: Q: Can units embark inside a transport in a phase other than the
Movement phase, such as when they are using the Fire and Fade
1. If the transport has the Explodes ability (or equivalent) Stratagem from Codex: Craftworlds, or when a unit performs a
roll to see if it explodes and resolve any resulting Soulburst action to move again?
damage to nearby units.* A: No, unless the rule in question specifically states that
the unit can embark inside a Transport.
2. A ll models inside immediately disembark following the
standard rules for disembarkation. UNIT AND WEAPON ABILITIES
Q: If I have a weapon that can target enemy units that are not
3. Roll a number of D6 equal to the number of models visible to the firer (such as a mortar), can I shoot at an enemy
disembarked in this fashion. Character that has a Wounds characteristic of less than 10 if
it is not the closest enemy model?
4. Each result of a 1 yields a slain model, and must be A: No.
allocated to one of the models which disembarked; the
controlling player may choose which model. Q: Lots of aura abilities say they grant an ability to nearby
units that are within range of any such models. Are the bonuses
5. Remove the destroyed transport model. cumulative (i.e. if I am within range of two models with identical
aura abilities, is the bonus doubled)?
* Note that if the transport does explode, units being A: Unless stated otherwise, no. The bonus for such an
transported are not affected as they are not yet on ability applies once if any (i.e. one or more) of these
the battlefield. models are within range.

For example, a Razorback is transporting a Tactical Squad of five Q: Can abilities that are used ‘instead of shooting’, such as
models and one Space Marine Captain when it is destroyed. The Smoke Launchers, be used if the model using them has Fallen
Razorback rolls a 6 for its Explodes ability, inflicting D3 mortal Back, Advanced or has enemy models within 1" of it?
wounds on each unit within 6". The six models inside now A: Yes. A model can use such an ability so long as it does
disembark, and six D6 are rolled. Two of the results are a 1, so not shoot – it does not matter whether this is because the
two models are slain – the Space Marine player chooses two of the model cannot shoot or it chooses not to.

WARHAMMER 40,000 RULEBOOK 11


Q: Some Characters have aura abilities, such as a 3.If a model is affected by two different rules, one that
Commissar’s Aura of Discipline or a Chaplain’s Spiritual Leader, says that on a hit roll of 6 that attack ‘scores 2 hits
that allow nearby friendly units to use the character’s Leadership instead of 1’ and one that says that on a hit roll of 6
characteristic instead of their own. There are also lots of abilities that attack ‘scores 1 additional hit‘ against the target,
that modify Leadership characteristics. Could you explain then a hit roll of 6 will result in 3 hits being scored
how these rules interact and in what order I should apply the against the target unit.
substitution and any modifications?
A: You modify the Leadership characteristic first, then you Q: If a rule states that you can choose a unit to ‘fight again’,
use the character’s Leadership characteristic instead (this what does this mean exactly?
means that the modification will not affect the unit unless A: Repeat the entire Fight phase for that unit – i.e. choose
the character’s Leadership has also been modified). to fight with the unit, pile in with that unit, choose its
target, choose its melee weapon, resolve its close combat
Q: If both players have units with abilities that allow them to be attacks, then consolidate with it.
set up during deployment ‘after both armies are fully deployed’
(e.g. Ratlings’ Find the Best Spot), which player deploys their Q: If a unit has an ability that allows it to fight twice in the Fight
units first? phase (e.g. Berzerkers), at what point during the Fight phase do
A: The players should roll off and, starting with the they fight for the second time?
winner, they should alternate setting up such units. A: Treat each time the unit is able to fight as a separate
unit selected to fight for all purposes.
Q: A number of abilities allow a unit to arrive during the battle
and be set up more than 9" from any enemy models. If I use such So, if such a unit charged this turn, it will fight both
an ability to set up as close as allowed towards an enemy unit times before any units that did not charge. If the unit
and then select it as the target of the charge, what is the minimum did not charge this turn, then, after all units that did
charge distance I need to roll to make a successful charge charge have fought, you can select this unit to fight with,
(assuming no modifiers)? then your opponent can select a unit to fight with, then
A: 9. you can select your unit to fight with for the second
time (you need not consecutively use both of the unit’s
Q: If a weapon such as a rail rifle has an ability that can inflict opportunities to fight – unless of course there are no
a mortal wound on the target in addition to the normal damage, other eligible units to select to fight with).
but the ‘normal damage’ is subsequently saved, does the target
still suffer the mortal wound? Note that any rule that interrupts the normal sequence of
A: Yes. Note that if the ‘normal damage’ was not saved, who fights first (such as the Counter-Offensive Stratagem,
the wound would be allocated on the target unit first (and or the Slaanesh Daemon Quicksilver Reflexes ability)
any resulting damage inflicted) before the mortal wound may be used to fight in between the unit’s first and
was inflicted. second ‘fight’.

Q: Some abilities and Stratagems confer extra bonuses each time Q: If a unit that can fight twice in the Fight phase charges
a hit roll of, for example, 6+ is rolled. If a weapon has an ability one enemy unit and destroys it during their first ‘fight’ in the
that says ‘this weapon automatically hits its target’, do I still roll subsequent Fight phase, and then consolidates into a second
the hit rolls for those attacks in the hope of gaining such a bonus? enemy unit, can they then attack that unit during their
A: No, no hit rolls are made when resolving attacks with such second ‘fight’?
weapons (and so they won’t benefit from such a bonus). A: The charging unit can only make attacks against the
second unit if it also declared a charge against it in its
Q: Some abilities can cause extra hits or wounds on a specific charge phase.
roll e.g. ‘Each hit roll of 6 scores 2 hits instead of 1’ and ‘Each
hit roll of 6 scores 1 additional hit on the target’. Are these Q: If a unit has an ability that allows it to ‘shoot twice’ (e.g.
abilities cumulative? Maugan Ra’s Whirlwind of Death ability, or an Aggressor
A: It depends on the exact wording of the rule in Squad’s Fire Storm ability), do I need to shoot the same target
question. Rules that ‘score 2 (or more) hits instead of each time or can I choose different targets? Do I need to resolve
1’ are not cumulative. Rules that ‘score 1 (or more) these two shooting attacks back to back?
additional hits’ are cumulative. Here are some examples A: Unless otherwise stated, you can shoot different targets
to show how these rules interact: each time it shoots. The attacks are resolved back to
back – resolve the first shooting attack completely before
1. If a model is affected by two different rules that say resolving the second.
that on a hit roll of 6 that attack ‘scores 2 hits instead
of 1’ then a hit roll of 6 will still only result in 2 hits Q: If an ability instructs me to resolve an attack with a different
being scored against the target unit. characteristic (e.g. a Culexus Assassin’s Etherium ability) does
this happen before or after any other modifiers that also apply to
2. I f a model is affected by two different rules that say that characteristic (e.g. the Drukhari Serpentin Combat Drug)?
that on a hit roll of 6 that attack ‘scores 1 additional A: When resolving such an attack, change the relevant
hit‘ on the target, then a hit roll of 6 will result in 3 characteristic to the new value before applying any
hits being scored against the target unit. modifiers to that new value.

WARHAMMER 40,000 RULEBOOK 12


In the example above, the Weapon Skill of the model Q: When a unit has mounts that have a melee profile – for
attacking a Culexus Assassin is treated as being 6+ example Thunderwolf Cavalry – can that unit make any
because of the Etherium ability, but the Serpentin then attacks they wish to with that mount’s melee profile, or can they
boosts it to 5+. only make the additional attacks noted in the weapon profile’s
abilities text?
Q: If a model is equipped with two chainswords, do they get to A: You can only make the additional attacks noted in the
make 2 extra close combat attacks? abilities text.
A: Yes (though both must be made with a chainsword).
MISSIONS
Q: Can abilities such as Disgustingly Resilient be used to ignore Q: If the Search and Destroy or Vanguard Strike deployment map
wounds if they were inflicted by mortal wounds? is determined, must the deployment zones be located in the exact
A: Yes. corners specified on the deployment map?
A: Yes.
Q: If a model has an ability that halves damage suffered
(rounding up) such as Marneus Calgar’s Armour of Antilochus Q: When measuring distances to or from an objective marker,
ability, how is that resolved when I am attacked by several attacks do you measure diagonally (i.e. counting both vertical and
at once? Do I halve the total of all the damage suffered, or do I horizontal distances)?
halve the damage inflicted by each attack separately? A: Yes.
A: Halve the damage suffered by each attack separately.
Q: Can a unit with the Fortifications Battlefield Role control an
Remember that wounds are allocated one at a time. objective marker?
For example, if Marneus Calgar was wounded by four A: Yes, so long as it is considered to be a friendly
boltgun attacks (Damage characteristic 1) and each unit (such as a Building). Note that this means that
saving throw resulted in a failure, Calgar would suffer 0.5 Fortifications like Feculent Gnarlmaws cannot control
wounds (which is rounded up to 1) four times, and would objective markers.
therefore lose 4 wounds.
Q: Certain abilities and Stratagems are used ‘before the battle’.
Q: If an ability allows me to add 1 to saving throws, does it apply When specifically is this?
to both normal saving throws and invulnerable throws? A: The game begins when players start the Deployment
A: Yes, unless otherwise stated. step of a mission – all abilities and Stratagems that are
used ‘before the battle’ must be used before then.
Remember that invulnerable saves are unaffected by the
+1 bonus models receive to their saving throws for the Remember that if both players have ‘before the battle’
benefits of cover. abilities they wish to use, and the rules themselves do not
explicitly say in which order they should be resolved, the
Q: If a unit has an ability that allows it to attempt to Deny the players should roll off – the winner decides in what order
Witch (e.g. the Flesh Hounds’ Collar of Khorne, or a Canoptek they are resolved.
Spyder’s Gloom Prism), at what range can it attempt to Deny
the Witch? Q: Is the Deployment step of a mission considered to be a ‘phase’
A: 24". for the purposes of rules?
A: No.
Q: If a unit has an ability that allows it to attempt to Deny the
Witch as if it were s Psyker, is it treated as a Psyker for any Note that this means that the Strategic Discipline
other rules purposes? matched play rule does not apply to Stratagems that are
A: No. used during deployment and they can be used as many
times as a player wishes, as long as they have enough
Q: A chainsword has the following ability: ‘Each time the bearer Command Points to pay for them and the Stratagem
fights, it can make 1 additional attack with this weapon’. If, for does not explicitly say it can only be used ‘once’, or ‘once
example, a Khorne Berzerker is armed with a chainsword and per battle’.
chainaxe, does he make two attacks with the chainaxe and then
one additional attack with the chainsword, or does he have to Q: Some units have an ability that says that the models in the
split his attacks (making at least one attack with the chainsword) unit must be deployed at the same time, but thereafter each
to be able to make the additional attack with the chainsword? model is treated as a separate unit (e.g. Vehicle Squadron, Drone
A: He can make two attacks with the chainaxe, then one Support, etc.). For the purposes of missions that have the First
additional attack with the chainsword. Blood victory condition, if a unit has such an ability, does every
model in it need to be destroyed for the opponent to claim First
Q: If an ability does not state its effects take place in a ‘friendly’ Blood, or just a single model?
phase or ‘enemy’ phase, does that mean it works in every such A: The models in such units are each treated as individual
phase (e.g. Mortarion’s Host of Plagues ability, which takes effect units after they have deployed, so destroying a single one
‘at the start of the Fight phase’)? of them satisfies the First Blood victory condition.
A: Yes.

WARHAMMER 40,000 RULEBOOK 13


Q: For the purposes of the Sudden Death rule, do units that are
embarked within transports with the Flyer Battlefield Role count
as being on the battlefield?
A: No.

Q: If I am playing the Spoils of War mission, and I generate the


Priority Orders Received Tactical Objective, which then generates
a Secure Objective X Tactical Objective, can my opponent achieve
it and/or can I discard it?
A: Your opponent cannot achieve the Priority Orders
Tactical Objective and you can discard it as you
normally would.

Q: Are Teleport Homers or Infestation Nodes friendly models?


Can they control objective markers?
A: No to both questions.

Q: If my opponent’s Warlord was slain during the battle, but has


an ability, Stratagem etc. that has allowed it to be set back up
again during the battle, do I score the victory point for the Slay
the Warlord victory condition?
A: You only score this victory condition if the Warlord is
destroyed at the end of the battle.

WARHAMMER 40,000 RULEBOOK 14


ORGANISED EVENTS Q4) Are the Heavy Weapons Squad datasheet from Codex:
The updated Organised Events guidelines table restricts the Astra Militarum, the Death Korps Heavy Weapons Squad
number of times a particular datasheet can be included in your datasheet from Imperial Armour – Index: Forces of
army. A few common questions have arisen from this: the Astra Militarum, the Elysian Heavy Weapons Squad
Q1) Some units, like Carnifexes and Leman Russ Battle datasheet from Imperial Armour – Index: Forces of the
Tanks, can contain up to 3 models each, but after they are set Astra Militarum, and the Renegade Heavy Weapons Squad
up on the battlefield, they each become individual units. How datasheet from Imperial Armour – Index: Forces of the
many of these models can I include in my army if I’m using the Astra Militarum considered to be a different datasheet for the
Organised Events guidelines for, say, a 2,000 point game? purposes of the Organised Events guidelines?
A1) You can include up to 3 units in a 2,000 point game, A4) No. For the purposes of these guidelines all these
meaning you could include up to 9 of these models. datasheets are all considered to be the same.

Q2) Do Tactical Drones that are taken as upgrades for certain Q5) Is the Cult Leman Russ datasheet from Codex:
T’au Empire units (e.g. XV8 Crisis Battlesuits, XV25 Stealth Genestealer Cults, and the Leman Russ datasheet from
Battlesuits etc.) count as units for the purposes of the Organised Codex: Astra Militarum considered to be a different datasheet
Events guidelines, and so count towards the number of Tactical for the purposes of the Organised Events guidelines? What
Drones units (i.e. the Fast Attack choice) I can include? about Cult Scout Sentinels and Scout Sentinels, Cult Armoured
A2) No. Sentinels and Armoured Sentinels, Brood Brothers Infantry
Squads and Infantry Squads, and Brood Brothers Heavy
Q3) Are the Daemon Prince datasheet from Codex: Chaos Space Weapons Squads and Heavy Weapons Squads?
Marines, the Daemon Prince of Chaos datasheet from Codex: A5) No. If by deleting the word ‘Cult’ or ‘Brood
Chaos Daemons, the Daemon Prince of Nurgle datasheet from Brothers’ from the datasheet’s title in Codex: Genestealer
Codex: Death Guard, and the Daemon Prince of Tzeentch Cults they match another datasheet, then for the
datasheet from Codex: Thousand Sons all considered different purposes of these guidelines those datasheets are
datasheets for the purposes of the Organised Events guidelines? considered to be the same.
A3) No. For the purposes of these guidelines all these
datasheets are all considered to be the same.

ORGANISED EVENTS
If you are using matched play for an organised event such as a tournament, we suggest using the table below. As well as a helpful guide to the size of
the battlefield and game length, the number of Detachments each player can take in their army is restricted, as is the number of times a player’s army
can include a particular datasheet. Of course, if you are organising such an event, you should feel free to modify these guidelines to better suit your
event’s own needs, schedule, etc. You can only include the same datasheet in a Battle-forged army up to a maximum number of times, depending
upon the points limit for that game, as described below.

ORGANISED EVENT GUIDELINES


NUMBER OF TIMES EACH
POINTS LIMIT NUMBER OF DETACHMENTS BATTLEFIELD SIZE GAME LENGTH
DATASHEET CAN BE INCLUDED*
Up to 1,000 Up to 2 per army Up to 2 per army 4' x 4' Up to 2 hours
1,001-2,000 Up to 3 per army Up to 3 per army 6' x 4' 2 to 3 hours
2,001-3,000 Up to 4 per army Up to 4 per army 8' x 4' 3 or more hours

* This does not apply to units with the Troops or Dedicated Transport Battlefield Role, nor does it apply to any units that are added to your army during
the battle that cost reinforcement points.

WARHAMMER 40,000 RULEBOOK 15


WHAT DATASHEET RULES SHOULD I USE?
Use the following flowchart to determine which datasheet to use for your models. Note that regardless of
which datasheet you use, if you are playing a matched play game, or a game that uses a points limit, you
should always use the most recently published points for your models and their weapons and wargear.

DOES YOUR MODEL HAVE A


YES DATASHEET IN A CODEX? NO

ARE THERE WARGEAR OPTIONS FOR YOUR USE THE INDEX VERSION OF YOUR
MODEL THAT ONLY APPEAR IN THE INDEX MODEL’S DATASHEET
VERSION OF ITS DATASHEET?

USE THE CODEX VERSION OF


YES NO YOUR MODEL’S DATASHEET

USE THE CODEX VERSION OF YOUR


MODEL’S DATASHEET, BUT YOU CAN
CHOOSE TO USE THE INDEX VERSION FOR
ITS WARGEAR OPTIONS (NOTE THAT IF
THE WARGEAR HAS RULES IN THE CODEX,
THESE REPLACE THE INDEX RULES)

For example, if you wished to use a Commissar with When coming to calculate the points cost, the
a power axe, you would check if the codex – Codex: Commissar himself and the bolt pistol have points
Astra Militarum – has a datasheet for Commissars. in Codex: Astra Militarum, so you would use those
It does, so you would use this datasheet – however, alongside the cost for the power axe from Index:
it does not support the wargear options which allow Imperium 2.
him to replace his power sword with a power axe, so
you would use the Commissar wargear options from Alternatively, if you wished to field an Autarch model
Index: Imperium 2. with a banshee mask, you would use the Autarch
datasheet from Codex: Craftworlds alongside the
Similarly, as Codex: Astra Militarum does not have a appropriate wargear option from Index: Xenos 1.
weapon profile for the power axe, you would use the
one found in Index: Imperium 2. Codex: Craftworlds contains rules and points costs for
all your Autarch’s wargear, so you would use these in
place of the ones from Index: Xenos 1.

WARHAMMER 40,000 RULEBOOK 16

You might also like