Tenth Edition FAQ
Tenth Edition FAQ
The _Tenth Edition_ set contains 383 cards (121 common, 121 uncommon,
121 rare, 20 basic land).
This FAQ has two sections, each of which serves a different purpose.
The first section ("General Notes") explains some of the mechanics and
concepts in the set. The second section ("Card-Specific Notes") contains
answers to the most important questions players might ask about a given
card.
Items in the "Card-Specific Notes" section include full rules text for
your reference. Not all cards in the set are listed.
-----
GENERAL NOTES
***Legendary Cards***
The _Tenth Edition_ set is the first core set to contain legendary
cards.
Cho-Manno, Revolutionary
{2}{W}{W}
Legendary Creature -- Human Rebel
2/2
Prevent all damage that would be dealt to Cho-Manno, Revolutionary.
Premium (foil) cards in the _Tenth Edition_ core set don't have reminder
text. Some premium cards have flavor text that doesn't appear on the
regular cards due to space constraints. There are no plans at this time
to extend this treatment to expert-level sets.
-----
***Marketing Cards***
Each _Tenth Edition_ booster pack contains fifteen _Magic_(TM) game
cards and a marketing card. One side of each marketing card either
represents a token or explains a game concept; the other side is an
advertisement. The DCI recommends that players drafting with _Tenth
Edition_ booster packs set aside (and keep) the marketing card they open
before choosing their first pick from a pack.
-----
* Flash
Flash is a static ability that can appear on artifact, creature, and
enchantment cards. It means "You can play this card any time you could
play an instant."
* Lifelink
Lifelink is a triggered ability that most often appears on creatures,
but can appear on any permanent. It means "Whenever this permanent deals
damage, you gain that much life."
* Shroud
Shroud is a static ability that appears on permanents and may even be
granted to players. It means "This permanent or player can't be the
target of spells or abilities."
* Reach
Reach is a static ability that appears on creatures. It replaces the
ability "[This creature] can block as though it had flying" on creatures
such as Giant Spider. Flying now means "This creature can't be blocked
except by creatures with flying or reach."
-----
***Creature Types***
The creature types of many cards in the _Tenth Edition_ set have been
updated to sync them up with the current _Magic_ conventions. For
example, Icatian Priest, which used to be a Cleric, is now a Human
Cleric.
The most notable change is that the cycle of "man lands" (see below) and
Chimeric Staff now have creature types when animated. Also the Lord
creature type has been eliminated.
-----
The _Tenth Edition_ set features a cycle of lands from the _Urza's
Legacy_ set with activated abilities that turn them into creatures.
Forbidding Watchtower
Land
Forbidding Watchtower comes into play tapped.
{T}: Add {W} to your mana pool.
{1}{W}: Forbidding Watchtower becomes a 1/5 white Soldier creature until
end of turn. It's still a land.
* If any of these lands is already a land creature when you activate its
ability, the permanent stays a land creature but the ability resets its
power, toughness, and creature types. For example, if you turn
Forbidding Watchtower into a 1/5 creature and then an effect gives it
-1/-1 until end of turn, activating its ability again will make it 1/5
again. Damage that was dealt to the creature stays on it.
-----
CARD-SPECIFIC NOTES
Abundance
{2}{G}{G}
Enchantment
If you would draw a card, you may instead choose land or nonland and
reveal cards from the top of your library until you reveal a card of the
chosen kind. Put that card into your hand and put all other cards
revealed this way on the bottom of your library in any order.
* Although Abundance's effect has you put a card into your hand, this
isn't the same as drawing a card (the effect doesn't use the word
"draw"). Abilities that trigger when you draw a card won't trigger.
* If an effect such as Sift would cause you to draw multiple cards, you
choose for each individual draw whether to replace it by Abundance's
effect. Process the draws one at a time.
* If your library is empty, Abundance can prevent you from losing the
game for being unable to draw a card. If an effect or game action would
cause you to draw a card, you can replace that draw with Abundance's
replacement effect. (It doesn't matter that you'd be unable to actually
draw a card.) Since Abundance's effect has you put a card into your hand
instead of drawing a card, you'll never be forced to draw a card with an
empty library.
-----
Academy Researchers
{1}{U}{U}
Creature -- Human Wizard
2/2
When Academy Researchers comes into play, you may put an Aura card from
your hand into play attached to Academy Researchers.
* You can't put an Aura card from your hand into play this way if that
Aura can't legally enchant Academy Researchers. For example, you can't
put an Aura with "enchant land" or "enchant green creature" into play
attached to Academy Researchers (unless Academy Researchers somehow
turned into a land or a green creature before the ability resolved).
-----
Ascendant Evincar
{4}{B}{B}
Legendary Creature -- Vampire
3/3
Flying (This creature can't be blocked except by creatures with flying
or reach.)
Other black creatures get +1/+1.
Nonblack creatures get -1/-1.
Aura Graft
{1}{U}
Instant
Gain control of target Aura that's attached to a permanent. Attach it to
another permanent it can enchant.
* Aura Graft's effect has no duration. You'll retain control of the Aura
until the game ends, the Aura leaves play, or an effect causes someone
else to gain control of the Aura.
* If you can move the Aura to another permanent, you must do so. If
there are no other permanents it can legally enchant, it stays where it
is.
* You can target an Aura you already control just to move that Aura to a
new permanent.
-----
Bandage
{W}
Instant
Prevent the next 1 damage that would be dealt to target creature or
player this turn.
Draw a card.
* You draw a card when Bandage resolves, not when the damage is actually
prevented.
-----
Beacon of Immortality
{5}{W}
Instant
Double target player's life total. Shuffle Beacon of Immortality into
its owner's library.
Chimeric Staff
{4}
Artifact
{X}: Chimeric Staff becomes an X/X Construct artifact creature until end
of turn.
Clone
{3}{U}
Creature -- Shapeshifter
0/0
As Clone comes into play, you may choose a creature in play. If you do,
Clone comes into play as a copy of that creature.
* You can choose not to copy anything. In that case, Clone comes into
play as a 0/0 creature, and is probably put into the graveyard
immediately.
-----
Coat of Arms
{5}
Artifact
Each creature gets +1/+1 for each other creature in play that shares a
creature type with it. (For example, if a Goblin Warrior, a Goblin
Scout, and a Zombie Goblin are in play, each gets +2/+2.)
Cone of Flame
{3}{R}{R}
Sorcery
Cone of Flame deals 1 damage to target creature or player, 2 damage to
another target creature or player, and 3 damage to a third target
creature or player.
* You can't choose the same target more than once. If there aren't three
different legal targets available, you can't play the spell.
-----
Crafty Pathmage
{2}{U}
Creature -- Human Wizard
1/1
{T}: Target creature with power 2 or less is unblockable this turn.
* If you increase the power of the targeted creature after the ability
resolves, it will still be unblockable that turn.
-----
Crucible of Worlds
{3}
Artifact
You may play land cards from your graveyard.
* Crucible of Worlds allows you to play land cards from your graveyard
as well as from your hand.
* Crucible of Worlds doesn't alter the times when you can play those
land cards. You can still play only one land per turn, and only during
your main phase when you have priority and the stack is empty.
Doubling Cube
{2}
Artifact
{3}, {T}: Double the amount of each type of mana in your mana pool.
* There are six types of mana: white, blue, black, red, green, and
colorless. Any restrictions or attributes associated with the mana, such
as being produced by a snow permanent or being usable only to play
artifact spells, are ignored by Doubling Cube.
For example, if your mana pool contains {5}{W}{W}{B} with no
restrictions on it and {U}{U}{U} that can be used only to play artifact
spells, after Doubling Cube's ability resolves, you'll have {10}{W}{W}
{W}{W}{U}{U}{U}{B}{B} with no restrictions on it and {U}{U}{U} that can
be used only to play artifact spells.
-----
Furnace of Rath
{1}{R}{R}{R}
Enchantment
If a source would deal damage to a creature or player, it deals double
that damage to that creature or player instead.
* The original source deals all the damage. Furnace of Rath doesn't deal
any damage.
* If multiple effects modify how damage will be dealt, the player who
would be dealt damage or the controller of the creature that would be
dealt damage chooses the order to apply the effects. For example,
Bandage says, in part, "Prevent the next 1 damage that would be dealt to
target creature or player this turn." Suppose a spell would deal 3
damage to a player who has played Bandage targeting himself or herself.
That player can either (a) prevent 1 damage first and then let Furnace
of Rath double the remaining 2 damage, taking 4 damage, or (b) double
the damage to 6 and then prevent 1 damage, taking 5 damage.
-----
Hail of Arrows
{X}{W}
Instant
Hail of Arrows deals X damage divided as you choose among any number of
target attacking creatures.
* You choose how the damage will be divided among the target creatures
at the time you play Hail of Arrows. Each target must be dealt at least
1 damage. If any of those creatures becomes an illegal target before
Hail of Arrows resolves, the division of damage among the remaining
creatures doesn't change.
-----
High Ground
{W}
Enchantment
Each creature you control can block an additional creature.
* High Ground allows you to make some complicated blocks. For example,
if you're being attacked by three creatures (call them A, B, and C) and
you control three creatures (X, Y, and Z), you can have X block A and B,
Y block B and C, and Z block just C, among many other possible options.
The defending player chooses how each blocking creature's combat damage
will be divided among the creatures it's blocking.
-----
Incinerate
{1}{R}
Instant
Incinerate deals 3 damage to target creature or player. A creature dealt
damage this way can't be regenerated this turn.
* If you activate the ability but Kjeldoran Royal Guard leaves play
before combat damage is dealt, the combat damage from unblocked
creatures won't be redirected. It will be dealt to you as normal.
-----
Llanowar Sentinel
{2}{G}
Creature -- Elf
2/3
When Llanowar Sentinel comes into play, you may pay {1}{G}. If you do,
search your library for a card named Llanowar Sentinel and put that card
into play. Then shuffle your library.
* When the ability resolves, if you control any other creatures, you
must sacrifice one of them. You're dealt damage only if no creature can
be sacrificed.
* If you have two Lords of the Pit, both abilities will trigger at the
beginning of your upkeep. When the first Lord's ability resolves, you
can sacrifice the second Lord to satisfy the requirement ("Sacrifice a
creature other than Lord of the Pit" really means "Sacrifice a creature
other than this creature"). When the second Lord's ability resolves, you
must sacrifice another creature. If you can't (because the first Lord
has somehow left play and you have no other creatures), the second Lord
deals 7 damage to you, regardless of whether it's still in play.
-----
* Artifacts that are also creatures due to March of the Machines are
affected by summoning sickness. You can't attack with them or use their
{T} abilities unless they began your most recent turn in play under your
control.
Mind Bend
{U}
Instant
Change the text of target permanent by replacing all instances of one
color word with another or one basic land type with another. (For
example, you may change "nonblack creature" to "nongreen creature" or
"forestwalk" to "islandwalk." This effect doesn't end at end of turn.)
* Mind Bend's effect has no duration. It will last until the game ends
or the affected permanent leaves play.
* You choose the two color words or the two basic land types when Mind
Bend resolves. You can't change a word to the same word; you must choose
a different word.
* Mind Bend affects each instance of the chosen word in the text box and
the type line of the permanent, as long as it's being used as a color
word or basic land type. Mind Bend won't change such words when used in
card names, such as Island Fish Jasconius. It also won't change mana
symbols.
* Mind Bend changes only words actually printed on the permanent (if
it's a card), words that are part of the permanent's original
characteristics as stated by the effect that put it into play (if it's a
token), or words that were granted to the permanent as part of a copy
effect. It won't change words that are granted to the permanent by any
other effects. For example, if an Aura grants a creature protection from
blue, you can change that to protection from red by targeting the Aura,
but not by targeting the creature.
* Mind Bend can be used to change a land's type from one basic land type
to another. For example, if you play it on a Forest and change "Forest"
to "Island," the permanent's name will still be Forest, but its land
type will be Island. As a result, it will produce {U} rather than {G}.
-----
Mortal Combat
{2}{B}{B}
Enchantment
At the beginning of your upkeep, if twenty or more creature cards are in
your graveyard, you win the game.
Nomad Mythmaker
{2}{W}
Creature -- Human Nomad Cleric
2/2
{W}, {T}: Put target Aura card in a graveyard into play attached to a
creature you control. (You control that Aura.)
* You don't choose which creature the Aura will come into play attached
to until the ability resolves. You must choose a creature the Aura can
legally enchant. (For example, you can't choose a creature with
protection from black if the targeted Aura card is black.) If you don't
control any creatures that the Aura can enchant, it remains in the
graveyard.
* It doesn't matter who controlled the creature cards when they were in
play. As long as they were put into your graveyard, you get to put them
into your hand.
* If you sacrifice No Rest for the Wicked on the same turn you played
it, all creature cards that were put into your graveyard from play that
turn will be returned to your hand, including any that were put into
your graveyard before No Rest for the Wicked came into play.
-----
Pithing Needle
{1}
Artifact
As Pithing Needle comes into play, name a card.
Activated abilities of sources with the chosen name can't be played
unless they're mana abilities.
* Pithing Needle affects cards regardless of what zone they're in. This
includes cards in hand, in the graveyard, and removed from the game, as
well as cards in play. Pithing Needle also affects tokens in play and
copies of spells on the stack.
* You can name any card, even if that card doesn't normally have an
activated ability. You can't name a token unless that token has the same
name as a card.
* If you name a card that has both a mana ability and another activated
ability, the mana ability can be played but the other ability can't be
played.
-----
Plagiarize
{3}{U}
Instant
Until end of turn, if target player would draw a card, instead that
player skips that draw and you draw a card.
* You draw the card from your library as normal, not from your
opponent's library.
* If you and your opponent each play Plagiarize on each other during the
same turn, the two spells effectively cancel each other out. You will
draw cards when you normally would and so will your opponent.
Platinum Angel
{7}
Artifact Creature -- Angel
4/4
Flying (This creature can't be blocked except by creatures with flying
or reach.)
You can't lose the game and your opponents can't win the game.
* No game effect can cause you to lose the game or cause any opponent to
win the game while you control Platinum Angel. It doesn't matter whether
you have 0 or less life, you're forced to draw a card while your library
is empty, you have ten or more poison counters, you're dealt combat
damage by Phage the Untouchable, or your opponent has Mortal Combat with
twenty or more creature cards in his or her graveyard. You keep playing.
* Other circumstances can still cause you to lose the game, however. You
will lose a game if you concede, if you're penalized with a game loss or
a match loss during a sanctioned tournament due to a DCI rules
infraction, or if your _Magic Online_(R) game clock runs out of time.
* Effects that say the game is a draw, such as the _Legends_(R) card
Divine Intervention, are not affected by Platinum Angel. They'll still
work.
Quirion Dryad
{1}{G}
Creature -- Dryad
1/1
Whenever you play a white, blue, black, or red spell, put a +1/+1
counter on Quirion Dryad.
Relentless Rats
{1}{B}{B}
Creature -- Rat
2/2
Relentless Rats gets +1/+1 for each other creature in play named
Relentless Rats.
A deck can have any number of cards named Relentless Rats.
Rootwater Matriarch
{2}{U}{U}
Creature -- Merfolk
2/3
{T}: Gain control of target creature as long as that creature is
enchanted.
* The ability can target any creature, even one that has no Auras
attached to it. However, as stated above, targeting a creature that's
not enchanted will have no effect.
* The control-change effect ends if at any time the creature has no
Auras attached to it.
-----
Scalpelexis
{4}{U}
Creature -- Beast
1/5
Flying (This creature can't be blocked except by creatures with flying
or reach.)
Whenever Scalpelexis deals combat damage to a player, that player
removes the top four cards of his or her library from the game. If two
or more of those cards have the same name, repeat this process.
* You keep repeating the process until you remove a batch of four cards
that all have different names or you run out of cards to remove. It
doesn't matter whether a card has the same name as one that was removed
from the game in a previous batch of four cards.
-----
Sculpting Steel
{3}
Artifact
As Sculpting Steel comes into play, you may choose an artifact in play.
If you do, Sculpting Steel comes into play as a copy of that artifact.
* You can choose not to copy anything. In that case, Sculpting Steel
stays in play as an artifact that doesn't do much of anything.
-----
Seedborn Muse
{3}{G}{G}
Creature -- Spirit
2/4
Untap all permanents you control during each other player's untap step.
* All your permanents untap during each other player's untap step. You
have no choice about what untaps.
* During each other player's untap step, effects that would otherwise
cause your permanents to stay tapped don't apply because they only apply
during *your* untap step. For example, if you control a permanent that
says "You may choose not to untap [this permanent] during your untap
step," you must untap it during each other player's untap step.
-----
Sengir Vampire
{3}{B}{B}
Creature -- Vampire
4/4
Flying (This creature can't be blocked except by creatures with flying
or reach.)
Whenever a creature dealt damage by Sengir Vampire this turn is put into
a graveyard, put a +1/+1 counter on Sengir Vampire.
Shunt
{1}{R}{R}
Instant
Change the target of target spell with a single target.
* Shunt targets only the spell whose target will be changed. It doesn't
directly affect the original target of that spell or the new target of
that spell.
* You don't choose the new target for the spell until Shunt resolves.
You must change the target if possible. However, you can't change the
target to an illegal target. If there are no legal targets, the target
isn't changed. It doesn't matter if the original target of that spell
has somehow become illegal.
* If you play Shunt on a spell that targets a spell on the stack (like
Cancel does, for example), you can't change that spell's target to
itself. You can, however, change that spell's target to Shunt. If you
do, that spell will be countered when it tries to resolve because Shunt
will have left the stack.
* If a spell targets the same player or object multiple times, you can't
target it with Shunt.
-----
Skyhunter Skirmisher
{1}{W}{W}
Creature -- Cat Knight
1/1
Flying, double strike (This creature can't be blocked except by
creatures with flying or reach, and it deals both first-strike and
regular combat damage.)
* Removing double strike from a creature during the first combat damage
step will stop it from assigning combat damage in the second combat
damage step.
* If a creature with first strike gains double strike any time before
the second combat damage step starts, it can assign combat damage during
the second combat damage step.
-----
Sleeper Agent
{B}
Creature -- Minion
3/3
When Sleeper Agent comes into play, target opponent gains control of it.
At the beginning of your upkeep, Sleeper Agent deals 2 damage to you.
Soul Warden
{W}
Creature -- Human Cleric
1/1
Whenever another creature comes into play, you gain 1 life.
* Two Soul Wardens coming into play at the same time will each cause the
other's ability to trigger.
* If Squee, Goblin Nabob isn't in your graveyard by the time your upkeep
starts, the ability won't trigger that turn.
-----
Stampeding Wildebeests
{2}{G}{G}
Creature -- Beast
5/4
Trample (If this creature would deal enough combat damage to its
blockers to destroy them, you may have it deal the rest of its damage to
defending player.)
At the beginning of your upkeep, return a green creature you control to
its owner's hand.
* The ability that returns a creature doesn't target anything. You can
return a creature with shroud or protection from green, for example. You
don't decide which creature to return until the ability resolves. If you
control no other green creatures, you must return Stampeding Wildebeests
itself.
-----
Time Stop
{4}{U}{U}
Instant
End the turn. (Remove all spells and abilities on the stack from the
game, including this card. The player whose turn it is discards down to
his or her maximum hand size. Damage wears off, and "this turn" and
"until end of turn" effects end.)
* Ending the turn this way means the following things happen in order:
1) All spells and abilities on the stack are removed from the game. This
includes Time Stop, though it will continue to resolve. It also includes
spells and abilities that can't be countered.
2) All attacking and blocking creatures are removed from combat.
3) State-based effects are checked. No player gets priority, and no
triggered abilities are put onto the stack.
4) The current phase and/or step ends. The game skips straight to the
cleanup step. The cleanup step happens in its entirety.
* If Time Stop is played before the end phase, any "at end of turn"-
triggered abilities won't get the chance to trigger that turn because
the end of turn step is skipped. Those abilities will trigger at the end
of the next turn.
* Though spells and abilities that are removed from the game won't get a
chance to resolve, they don't count as being "countered."
-----
Upwelling
{3}{G}
Enchantment
Mana pools don't empty at the end of phases or turns. (This effect stops
mana burn.)
Verdant Force
{5}{G}{G}{G}
Creature -- Elemental
7/7
At the beginning of each upkeep, put a 1/1 green Saproling creature
token into play under your control.
Warp World
{5}{R}{R}{R}
Sorcery
Each player shuffles all permanents he or she owns into his or her
library, then reveals that many cards from the top of his or her
library. Each player puts all artifact, creature, and land cards
revealed this way into play, then puts all enchantment cards revealed
this way into play, then puts all cards revealed this way that weren't
put into play on the bottom of his or her library in any order.
* Any abilities that trigger during the resolution of Warp World (such
as a creature's comes-into-play ability) will wait to be put onto the
stack until Warp World finishes resolving. The player whose turn it is
will put all of his or her triggered abilities on the stack in any
order, then each other player in turn order will do the same.
* Tokens are permanents but not cards. They'll count toward the number
of permanents shuffled into your library, so you'll get a card back for
each token you owned. But the tokens themselves should be ignored while
you're revealing *cards* from your library. In practice, you shouldn't
actually shuffle them into your library since they'll cease to exist as
soon as Warp World finishes resolving. Note that a token's owner is the
player who controlled the effect that put it into play.
-----
Warrior's Honor
{2}{W}
Instant
Creatures you control get +1/+1 until end of turn.
* Warrior's Honor affects creatures you control that are in play at the
time it resolves. If you put a creature into play later in the turn,
that creature won't get the bonus.
-----
All trademarks are property of Wizards of the Coast, Inc. in the U.S.A.
and other countries. (c)2007 Wizards.