Simple Gboh Questions and Answers February 3, 2001
Simple Gboh Questions and Answers February 3, 2001
Rules Questions
A1. Leaders don't activate units in Simple GBoH. Units are activated by Formation; the associated leader is
used to put units In Command. That being said, a returning leader (see 4.36) may place units In Command on
the turn of his re-entry.
Q2. The way I read the command and formation rules on auxiliaries, it means any unit listed as an auxiliary can be
activated each friendly activation. So, at Issus for example, as the Macedonian player I can activate the Companion
cavalry with Alexander and in the same activation throw forward the Macedonian auxiliaries. Is that right?
Or, is it the case that auxiliaries are a formation on their own account and activate without a leader, regardless of
distance from one another or a leader and always on their own?
A2. The latter is right. The auxiliaries are separate Formation. Auxiliaries have no leader and are always In
Command.
Q3. 4.11 Example: Isn't the CO in question right next to (flank-to-flank) a similar unit that is within the leader's
command range (and therefore in command)? Wouldn't that put the CO in question in command too?
A3. No. The point is that the line has to be flank-to-flank or front-to-rear (not both) to be In Command outside the
leaders range. The Tribune can place the front flank-to-flank line In Command and CO f because CO f is in his
Range. Cohort g is out of Range and front-to-rear so can't be placed In Command at the same time as the flank-to-
flank line, though it could move.
Q4. The way I saw it, the units in the formation could be grouped into two separate lines; one line consisting of the
"front" units - don't remember how many - and one line consisting of the two units to the rear right. Both lines are
strictly flank-to-flank. Since both lines have units within the leader's command range, I would have thought all units
in both lines were In Command.
A4. No per 4.11 you can put only "one contiguous line" In Command. However, you are correct in that the Tribune
could instead put the CO f and g line In Command instead of the line in front. In this case CO e would be the one
left Out of Command.
Q5. OK, let's see if I understand this correct: When activating a formation, only one "line" of troops in that
formation, plus any units that are within command range, can be In Command at a time?
A5. Yes.
Q6. I was looking at the leader command rating to determine an activated formation instead of the formation itself.
In Bibracte the initial Helvetii formation is every unit on the board!
A6. Don't feel bad. I think just about everyone makes this mistake in the initial game or two. This change in focus
from leaders to Formations is perhaps the most significant change from GBoH.
Q7. Some Formation Charts [Republican Romans] say you can pick ANY Tribune or Prefect Soc for determining
Command Status. Does this mean that a leader originally set up commanding the Velites could later determine
Command Status for an Activated non-Velite formation?
A7. Yes. Each Formation has one or more eligible Commanders. When the Formation is activated, you must activate
one of the these eligible commanders per 4.1 -- your choice, determined when the Formation is activated.
Q8. Say that a line of units is allowed to be in command with a vacant hex between them. Is the entire line still in
command if there are units of other formations between the units? I am thinking of a situation where the HA
formation came up to fill the gaps between the VE.
A8. No. The intervening hexes must be vacant or have unit(s) of the same Formation. (See 4.11)
Q9. A tribune is stacked with a PR unit, but is in the command range of a line of HA units. Can the tribune be
activated as the commander of the HA formation?
A9. Yes.
Q10. Given the discussion on Roman leadership and the fact that any tribune or Prefect Soc can command any
formation, is it legal for leaders to stack with any unit at all? I am specifically thinking about the idea of putting two
leaders in the HA line, one on each flank. That way, one could choose the activating commander depending on the
situation. This would allow for much more flexibility in dealing with emergencies (something I did not have with
one leader per line in my Bagradas game).
A10. Yes. However, the Romans don't have that many leaders to begin with, and you might want to keep them
within range of your OC to use your seizure.
Q11. Another interesting event was Philip's (OC) removal from the board when his double phalanx was
eliminated. As there were no units that he could command on board, he remained absent and so the Romans
couldn't kill him. He had no seizure attempts, but if he did, could he use them (to activate the auxiliaries, for
instance?
A11. The Overall Commander (OC) that is removed from the map may be placed with any friendly unit a the
start of the next player turn. See 4.36
Q12. Re 4.2 - Heroic Charisma. The rules say that "A leader has Heroic Charisma if either an Elite Indicator or a
Heroic Charisma Indicator appears on the counter". The illustration on the same page shows what an Elite Indicator
looks like, but what's a Heroic Charisma Indicator? Is it what Caesar has?
A12. Yes. In addition to Caesar, Arminius and Ariovistus have Heroic Charisma.
Q13. 4.44 says that a player can't make seizure attempts during two successive opposing Player Turns. For some
reason I'm a little confused in what this entails. Say the Macedonians have had a Player Turn (PT). On the Persian
PT, Alexander attempts seizure but fails. The Persian player takes his turn, the Macedonian player then takes his.
NOW, it's the Persian PT again. Does 4.44 mean that Alex can't attempt seizure now, since he tried in the last
Persian PT?
A13. No. "Two successive turns" will occur only if the Seizure attempt is successful. In a successful Seizure, you’re
using your opponent’s turn to activate your units. After your done, it’s your opponents turn again (in succession).
A1. Yes, though this is not a Moving attack. The Command Status rules were intended to encourage the player to
keep the Formation together until he initiated Shock, and once engaged, the rules make it difficult to disengage. In
this situation, fortune has blessed this unit with the option to leave of fight without direction from above.
Q2. A Roman unit decides to change vertices so it can make a flank attack in the shock phase. Neither the Roman
nor Carthaginian unit has enemy units in its ZOC, nor is either in any enemy ZOC. Can the Carthaginian unit make a
reaction-facing attempt as if the Roman unit had moved adjacent to it?
A2. No, you need to move into the hex to trigger Reaction Facing.
Q3. For Reaction Facing (6.15), a Leader stacked with the attempting unit has no effect on the roll?
A1. Only the actual move will cause a reaction fire trigger, not the turning.
Q2. Since Hit and Run (7.16) uses up the unit's entire MA, can SK units still reface since it costs them nothing (I
understand LI/LP units can't since they pay 1 MP to reface)?
A2. Yes.
Q3. According to the rules, a unit must shock any units in its ZOC not being shocked this shock phase. What if the
enemy unit is in the ZOC of a unit from another formation that is not currently being activated? Does this unit have
to be attacked now, or is it considered to be occupied with the unit from the other formation?
A3. Sorry, you have to attack, no help from those lazy fellows in the other formation. This is more incentive to keep
your Formations together.
Q4. Can a unit be retreated to a hex adjacent to an enemy unit as long as it is not in an enemy unit's ZOC?
A4. Yes unless the enemy unit is one of the attackers. See 8.3
Q5. The weapons matrix indicates moving Roman LG/CO and all X or F armed units add one unless attacking a
similarly armed unit frontally. Does this mean that LG attacking X or F armed units (or vice versa) do not get the
bonus?
A5. Yes.
A6. No, you still get the bonus; however, the Javelin armed unit will usually be able to conduct a Reaction Fire (see
7.2)
Q7. When a MI/CO (con) attacks CO (Vet) or CO (Con), the modifier is 0, while when MI/CO (con) attacks CO
(Rec), the modifier is -1. It seems like it should be 0 too, or the modifier for attacking a CO (Vet) should also be -1.
A7. The table is correct. This same asymmetry exists in GBoH and has spawned much debate over the years ...
Q8. Regarding the errata for 7.4, I assume this means you resolve one retreat-before, then it's advance, then the next
retreat-before, etc. Is the same true for regular combat sequence, or is it the reverse?
A8. Yes and the Shock resolution works the same way.
Q9. That (Q8 and A8) means, that, during the combat phase, if I attack 3 units in a row, and do the outside two first,
I can conceivably cutoff a retreat rout via advance (ditto for retreat before combat).
A9. Yes, though there is a difference. In Retreat Before Combat (Shock) the retreating unit can enter an enemy
ZOC, while in a retreat as a result of Shock, it can't. This means that those cavalry will probably still get away.
Q10. 1 LG attacks 2 EL in the same attack and gets a DR (+2), 3H + retreat. The first elephant rolls and fails the
check, and routs. The second passes the check. Does this elephant get all 3 hits?
A10. Yes.
Q11. Can a unit still retreat before shock if it starts the turn in an enemy ZOC?
A11. No.
Q12. Since the Phalanx now has a simple MA of 4, those LI and MI with MA of 5 can retreat before combat,
correct?
A12. Only the LI can retreat and they do need to make a TQ check each time.
Q13. Should they (Phalanx) be treated as having a MA of 5 for retreat before combat purposes?
A14. No.
Q15. It looks as if Velite units are considered to be LI for all effects. Is this true? Therefore they can do Hit & Run
tactics (7.16)?
Q16 . I have a question regarding retreat before combat. I want to make sure that I correctly understand the
requirement of rule 7.42 that each hex of retreat takes the retreating unit further away from the attacker(s), so I'll
draw a few diagrams. In each diagram, there are two attackers, A1 and A2, and a single defender, D. Each valid first
hex of retreat is tagged with a 1; each valid second hex of retreat is tagged with a 2; etc. Hexes that are in an
attacker's ZOC (other than the defender's hex) are tagged with a Z.
Case 1
Case 2
Case 3
Are these diagrams correct? My understanding of Rule 7.42 is that the defender could not retreat to the hexes tagged
with an X in cases 2 and 3, even though those hexes are not in an attacker's ZOC
A16. Yes, though do note that you can retreat into a ZOC in Retreat Before Combat. What prevents the defender
from doing so in 2 and 3 is "the increase in distance" clause in 7.42. For example, in Case 3, if A2 was not an
attacker, both Z and X would be legal retreat hexes.
A1. Some scenarios specifically mention that you don't get points for certain leaders. Unless specifically mentioned
in the scenario rules, eliminated leaders do generate Rout Points each time they are eliminated.
A1. Yes. When activated, an artillery unit may move or fire. Use whatever side of the counter that makes the most
sense for what you intend to do.
Q2. If both hexes of a phalanx are within 2 hexes of a rampaging elephant, does it check for rampage effects one
time or two?
A2. One.
A1. Use the original scenario rule with regards to subsequent entry.
Q2. Do these Roman units [Heraclea] enter under a similar rule to that in the GBoH scenario, i.e. pay a MP for the
first hex of map entered plus 1 MP for each unit that entered before it? Must all units enter the map on the same
activation?
Q3. Also a question re the Wales scenario. How do I use the Roman artillery? It has a movement factor of zero, can
I enter it?
A3. Yes. The reverse side of the counter should be its mobile side