0% found this document useful (0 votes)
347 views6 pages

Arkham Horror Third Faq Errata 18-09-2020 Fa 160903

This document contains errata and rules clarifications for Arkham Horror: The Card Game. Changes include clarifying engagement rules, specifying that components can be interacted with to trigger attached effects, and correcting scenario sheets. The full document provides more details on these and other rule modifications in red text.
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
0% found this document useful (0 votes)
347 views6 pages

Arkham Horror Third Faq Errata 18-09-2020 Fa 160903

This document contains errata and rules clarifications for Arkham Horror: The Card Game. Changes include clarifying engagement rules, specifying that components can be interacted with to trigger attached effects, and correcting scenario sheets. The full document provides more details on these and other rule modifications in red text.
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
You are on page 1/ 6

FAQ Update 9/18/20 •

p7, Archive, 407.5h: Add this entry: “When an archive


card attaches to another component, most commonly a
This document contains errata and rules clarifications for neighborhood deck, tuck that card under the component it
the third edition of Arkham Horror. attaches to, such that the effect text is still visible.”
Content added or modified in this update is in red text. • p7. Archive, 407.5i: Add this entry: “An attached card
will state a mechanical effect triggered by interacting with the
component it is attached to.”
Errata • p8, Attack Action, 409.5: This action should read, “If
there are multiple monsters in your space, you can attack
This section contains changes to the game’s printed
only one of them and you apply only the attack modifier
components—the changed or added text is italicized.
of the monster you are attacking.”

Rules Reference (Core Game) • p9, Component Action, 414.2a: Add this entry: “A
component action on a card in the codex can be performed by
• p3, Monster Phase, 202.2d: This entry should read, “A any investigator.”
monster’s activation text might indicate a destination or
prey that it moves toward, engages, or affects in some • p9, Damage, 416.12: This entry should read, “An asset
other way. A monster moves towards its destination or prey cannot be voluntarily assigned damage in excess of its
by the shortest possible path. (See rule 418, ‘Destination’ health.”
and rule 466, ‘Prey’)
• p11, Engaged, 428: Add these entries:
• p4, Monster Phase, 202.2g: This entry should read, “If
a monster has multiple possible destinations or targets, the • 428.3.1: “While a monster is engaged, it cannot move,
option closer to the monster takes precedence. If one or more unless an effect states that any investigators with which it is
of these options are the same distance from the monster, engaged move with it.”
the players as a group decide which of those spaces is the
• 428.5.1: “While you are engaged with a monster, you
monster’s destination.”
cannot move, unless an effect states that any monsters with
• p4, Reckoning (Mythos Token), 204.12: Add these which you are engaged move with you.”
entries:
• p12, Event, 430.9: This entry should read, “Event cards
• 204.12d: “Resolve all reckoning effects that are in play are used while resolving a gate burst, during which the
when the reckoning token is drawn from the cup. One at a event discard pile is shuffled and placed on the bottom of
time, in any order, resolve each effect in its entirety before the event deck. (See rule 204.11)”
resolving the next effect.”
• p11, Engage, 427.1a: Add this entry: “There is no
• 204.12e: “If a component with a reckoning effect enters functional difference between a monster engaging an
play while the investigators are resolving a reckoning investigator and an investigator engaging a monster. The
mythos token, do not resolve the new reckoning effect on phrases ‘when you engage this monster’ and ‘when this
that component as part of the resolution of that token. The monster engages you’ are synonymous.”
effect will be active while resolving the next mythos token
drawn from the cup.”
1
• p12, Event, 430.11: Add this entry: “If an effect would • p22, Trade Action, 492.4: This entry should read, “Assets
take or discard a card from the event deck when there are no that were used by an investigator during the action phase
cards in the deck, cancel the entire effect and instead place and then traded to another investigator during that same
one doom on the scenario sheet; then shuffle the event deck to phase cannot be used again until the start of the next
create a new event deck.” action phase.”

• p13, Headlines, 440.8a: Add this entry: “The mechanical • p22, Watcher, 495.2.1: Add this entry: “A monster with
text of a rumor headline in the codex affects all investigators.” watcher does not prevent you from having an encounter
during the encounter phase while you are engaged with it.
• p14, Horror, 442.12: This entry should read, “An asset This rule overrides 428.6”
can not be voluntarily assigned horror in excess of its
sanity.”
Cards and Sheets
• p16, Movement, 455.3: This entry should read, “If you • Archive, Card 5: The clue text box should read, “When
move into a space with a ready monster, that monster there are three or more clues on the scenario sheet, if there
immediately engages you and your movement ends. (See are no markers on the board, add card 4 to the codex.”
rule 427, ‘Engage’)”
• Scenario Sheet, Tyrants of Ruin: The starting space
• p21, Traits, 491.3: Add these entries: should be the “Gilman House.” A corrected copy of this
• 491.3: An effect may instruct you to reveal, spawn, or gain scenario sheet is included at the back of this document.
a card with a specific trait. To do so, reveal cards from the
appropriate deck until you reveal a card with the specified
trait and put that card into play as instructed. Shuffle any
other cards you revealed this way and return them to the
deck from which they came.

• 491.3a: For decks where you normally take or reveal cards


from the top of the deck, such as the item deck, reveal cards
from the top and return them to the bottom.

• 491.3b: For decks where you normally take or reveal cards


from the bottom of the deck, such as the monster deck,
reveal cards from the bottom and return them to the top.

2
Frequently Asked Encounter
An encounter allows me or an ally to recover damage or
Questions sanity. Can another investigator recover?

This section addresses questions that are frequently No. “Ally” is a card type; when game text refers to allies, it is
submitted by players. It is organized alphabetically by the referring to those cards. Players are exclusively referenced as
relevant rules reference topic. “investigators.”

After resolving an anomaly encounter, what do I do with


Action the card?

Can you interrupt a move action to perform a separate Like other non-event encounters, place the card on the
action? bottom of the deck it was drawn from.

No. You must finish resolving each action before performing Focus
a different one.
Can I spend a focus to reroll a die during any of my tests?
Assets Yes; it does not need to be a test using the skill matching
An encounter at Arkham Asylum told me that an ally that focus.
could recover sanity. Can I choose any ally in play? Do my focus tokens affect when a monster considers me
its prey?
Unless an effect that affects an asset specifies a location for
that asset (such as “an ally in any space” or “an item in your Yes; a focus token increases the corresponding skill for all
space”), that effect can target only the assets controlled by purposes, including monster prey.
the investigator encountering or triggering it. An asset con-
trolled by an investigator is in that investigator’s space. Example: Tommy and Norman each have an Observation of
three, and a Hulking Thrall’s activation text states, “Move
toward and engage highest ,” so the thrall moves toward
Clues whichever of those two investigators is closest. Ever the
guardian, Tommy focuses his  so that the monster will move
The Follow Up talent instructed me to spawn a clue.
toward him instead of Norman.
Where does it go?

Any time an effect spawns a clue, resolve that effect the same Headline
way you would resolve a spawn clue mythos token: take the
top card of the event deck, place a clue in central area of the What happens when I draw a headline card while my
corresponding neighborhood, and shuffle the card into the investigator is defeated?
top of that neighborhood deck.
Resolve as much of the headline effect as you can. Since you
do not have an investigator, you cannot suffer damage or
Doom horror or gain conditions. You do not have a space, so effects
that spawn a monster or add doom to your space will have
What happens when you place multiple doom at once?
no effect. You have no skills, so you cannot make any tests
(you have a non-value for skills, not a zero); assume that you
When a game effect places more than one doom, place them gained no successes and apply any applicable consequences.
one at a time, in the order of your choosing. If any of that
doom triggers a game effect, resolve it before placing the
remaining doom. Monster
Example: During a scenario that uses Anomalies, there is three Can I look at both sides of a monster card?
doom in Rivertown—two at the Black Cave and one at the
Both sides of a monster card in play are open knowledge.
Graveyard—when a Gate Burst resolves in Rivertown that adds
Investigators may look at either side of any monster cards in
one doom to each location. The investigators add one doom
play at any time, unless specified otherwise. Players cannot
to the Graveyard and then add one to the Black Cave, which
look at monster cards in the monster deck.
causes an anomaly in that neighborhood. The final doom would
be added to the General Store, but it is instead placed on the
scenario sheet because of the anomaly.

3
Mythos Token
Clarifications
Do I draw my two mythos tokens simultaneously? In
what order do I resolve them? This section includes clarifications for specific cards and
abilities, organized alphabetically by the component’s title
Draw and resolve them one at a time. Resolve the entire (the component type is stated in parentheses).
effect of the first token before drawing and resolving the
second. Calvin Wright (Investigator)
Remnant Calvin’s Friend in Need ability works much like exchanging
money or remnants during a trade action. Calvin and the
I just used the shriveling spell to defeat a monster. Do I other investigator (or ally) may move damage or horror
get a remnant? tokens freely between their investigator sheets (or ally card).
This can be a one way trade (e.g. Calvin takes three damage
No. You only gain a remnant for defeating a monster if you tokens from Sachiko Higa and gives her no horror in return)
did it as part of an attack action, not if the monster was or tokens can move in both directions (e.g. Calvin takes
defeated via a different effect or component action. three horror from Tommy Muldoon while Tommy takes two
damage from Calvin.)
Starting Card Because this damage/horror is not being “suffered,” it
cannot be prevented or assigned to assets, nor can Calvin
Can I trade my starting assets to another investigator?
exchange damage or horror with an item or talent; his ability
Yes. Starting assets are treated just like other assets, so spells, specifically allows him to exchange damage and/or horror
allies, and items can be exchanged during a trade action. with an investigator or an ally.
Talents and conditions cannot normally be traded, so you
cannot trade starting talents or conditions. Dark Insight (Starting Card)
Diana’s Dark Insight talent allows her to modify a number
Test of different dice equal to the amount of doom in her space.
Can I use an effect that lets me modify a die result (like She cannot increase the result on any individual die by more
the lucky cigarette case) to activate the additional ability than one.
on the shotgun (“Each 6 you roll as part of an attack
For example, if there is two doom in her space, Diana could
action counts as two successes”)?
use Dark Insight to change two different dice showing 4s to 5s
Yes. Changing the result of the die will trigger any effect that (and thus increase the number of successes in her test result).
requires a specific die result, including the shotgun or the She could not use Dark Insight to increase one die two times to
cursed condition. change a 3 to a 5.

Trade Action Gabriel and Motorcycle (Starting Cards)


If an item is traded and has already been used this action When you perform a move action, the effect of the item
phase, it cannot be used again until the next action replaces the usual effect of that move action. You are still
phase. What is “using” an item? considered to have performed a move action, and thus
cannot both use Gabriel (or the motorcycle) and a normal
An item is considered used if its mechanical text has affected move action on the same turn.
the game state. For example, the ally Sachiko Higa has been
used if an investigator has gained her +2 bonus to  as part
of an attack action this round. The tattered cloak item has
been used if it has prevented its owner from being targeted
or engaged by a monster this round.

4
Marie Lambeau (Investigator) Wendy Adams (Investigator)
After you perform the action granted by Smoky Velvet, you Shortcut is not a move action, so Wendy can use the extra
still get two actions on your turn; the action granted by movement granted by the ability in the same round in
Smoky Velvet is an additional, out-of-turn action. However, which she uses a move action.
you are still limited to performing any given action once per
round. For example, if you performed a move action during
your turn before Marie uses Smoky Velvet, she cannot grant
Witch-Blood (Starting Card)
you a move action, nor can you perform a move action on “This action” refers to Witch-Blood’s component action:
your turn if she granted you that action earlier this round “Perform an action you have already performed this turn.”
using Smoky Velvet. It does not allow the other investigator to use the action that
Marie performed twice, but rather to use an action that they
When Marie grants you an action while you are delayed,
themselves used earlier this round.
you stand your investigator instead of performing that
action. Per the rules reference (417.2), “the next time you Example: On Tommy Muldoon’s turn, he focuses and attacks
would perform an action, you stand up your investigator a monster. On Marie’s turn she wards her space and then uses
token and skip that action; you are no longer delayed.” You her Witch-Blood talent to perform a second ward action on her
can still perform that action during your turn this round, turn. She then uses Smoky Velvet so that Tommy can perform
since you skipped the action when you recovered from being Witch-Blood’s component action; he can either focus or attack
delayed. again.

The Witch-Blood component action cannot be granted to


Rex Murphy (Investigator) an investigator who has not yet activated this round, because
Rex has no focus limit to allow him to benefit fully from there are no actions that they’ve already taken
mechanical effects that may allow him to focus a skill more
than once, including his Overcome All Odds starting talent.

5
Tyrants of Ruin

The Story So Far...


Deep beneath Devil Reef, the tyrants
of Y’ha-nthlei rule the dark waves,
yearning to surpass their ancient, mortal
frames. They stir below the water,
sending their Deep One progeny to
corrupt the surface world.

Starting Space
Gilman House

Reckoning

Spread terror in each


neighborhood with a
Deep One monster.

You might also like