0% found this document useful (0 votes)
47 views

FAQ 2021 V1.0: General Rules and Errata

This document provides answers to frequently asked questions (FAQs) about gameplay rules and abilities for the A Song of Ice and Fire Tabletop Miniatures Game. Some key points: - Units may pivot but not move off the table edge. Attachments and their abilities are lost if the attachment is destroyed or removed from the unit. - "After a unit is attacked" triggers once all attack steps resolve, while "after a unit is destroyed" can trigger at various attack steps. Surge Forth resolves after all other abilities. - In game modes, units redeploy exactly as originally deployed, including attachments. Commanders can score bonus victory points for destroying typical non-scoring units. -

Uploaded by

Alex
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
0% found this document useful (0 votes)
47 views

FAQ 2021 V1.0: General Rules and Errata

This document provides answers to frequently asked questions (FAQs) about gameplay rules and abilities for the A Song of Ice and Fire Tabletop Miniatures Game. Some key points: - Units may pivot but not move off the table edge. Attachments and their abilities are lost if the attachment is destroyed or removed from the unit. - "After a unit is attacked" triggers once all attack steps resolve, while "after a unit is destroyed" can trigger at various attack steps. Surge Forth resolves after all other abilities. - In game modes, units redeploy exactly as originally deployed, including attachments. Commanders can score bonus victory points for destroying typical non-scoring units. -

Uploaded by

Alex
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
You are on page 1/ 6

FAQ 2021 V1.

0
General Rules and Errata Q: Can I move and/or pivot off the table edge?

Rulebook Errata: Pg 16, Perform Attack: The Attacker will then A: Units may pivot off the table edge, but may not do any other
resolve 1 Melee Attack (this is not a separate Action). type of movement. The table edge is treated as impassable.

Q: If an Attachment is destroyed or somehow removed from a Q: If an enemy I am engaged with is destroyed by something other
unit, does the unit lose the Abilities of the Attachment? than a Melee Attack, can I Surge Forth/Pivot with units that were
engaging them?
A: Yes.
A: No. Surge Forth (and pivots allowed by it) only happen when an
Q: If my opponent has an Attachment that is added to my unit enemy unit is destroyed by a Melee Attack from units engaging it,
(such as Jaqen H’ghar, Unnamed), and that unit already contains no other time.
an Attachment, how is the order determined?
Q: What happens if I cannot fit all my units into my Deployment
A: The unit’s owner determines the order in which they are placed Zone?
within the unit.
A: Any unit that cannot be deployed due to lack of space will
Q: Follow-up question: So this means if the unit is dealt enough instead be placed fully within your deployment as their activation
Wounds to remove that Attachment, but not destroy the unit, the for the round.
Attachment is removed (and thus its Ability lost)?
Q: Can a unit Shift out of engagement?
A: Yes.
A: No.
Q: If an Attachment is destroyed from a unit, and then wounds are
restored to the unit, can the Attachment be returned? Q: Can a unit Shift into range when it makes a Ranged Attack, or
must it already have a valid target within range to begin with?
A: No. Once destroyed, the Attachment is permanently lost. The
unit may only restore generic models. A: A target must be valid after the Shift. This effectively means
units with Long Range can initiate Ranged Attacks from 14”, and
Q: Can I target units that are not on the battlefield (such as Short Range 8”.
Combat Units in Reserve) with Abilities/effects?
Q: Do “After a unit is Attacked” and “After a unit is Destroyed” share
A: No. the same trigger?

Q: Do units suffer Panic Tests anytime they take damage? A: No. Units can be destroyed at numerous points during the steps
of resolving an Attack, such as from Wounds resulting from failed
A: No. units are only ever forced to make Panic Tests from Attacks, Defense Saves and Wounds resulting from a failed Panic Test (and
or if an effect specifically says for them to do so. in rare cases, during other steps as well, usually due to specific
Abilities, such as Counterattack). “After a unit is Attacked” triggers
Q: Do Abilities such as Orders of the Crown or Motivated by Coin, only once all steps involved in an Attack have been resolved, eg.
which trigger when a unit is targeted by a specific zone, trigger if a Hits, Wounds, Panic Test, etc. This means they would also resolve
different zone gains the listed zone’s effect? after any “After a unit is destroyed” effects trigger.

A: No. The trigger for these effects is the unit being targeted by the Q: Follow-up. What about Surge Forth?
specific zone listed on the Ability- it is not linked to the effect of
that zone. A: Surge Forth is not a step of an Attack action, it is a gameplay
effect resulting from an Attack, not part of it. It also has specific
Q: Can I expend Condition tokens while also utilizing other effects rules stating it is only resolved after all other Abilities and effects,
with similar timing? including any “After attack” effects.

A: Yes.

FAQ 2021 v1.0 1


General Rules (Cont.) Q: In Fire and Blood, do I gain +1 additional Victory Point if my
Q: Do I suffer the effects of Terrain pieces that, when Charging, Marked unit destroys an enemy that typically would not grant
end my alignment over but didn’t actually cross during the move? VP?

A: Yes, these effects must be factored into the total Charge Action. A: Yes. The VP is being gained from the Marked unit, not the enemy.

Q: If multiple enemies are perfectly aligned next to each other, Q: In Here we Stand, does a zone on the tactics board have to be
and one is successfully charged (resulting in corner-to-corner open for you to use the special effect “instead of claiming a zone,
contact for the attacker and these enemies) what happens? NCUs may be placed in a quadrant”?

A: These enemies are moved 1” away, per the Engaging Multiple A: No. You may place the NCU in a quadrant even if the Tactics
Enemies rules on pg. 16. board is full.

Q: Can you deploy within 1” of an enemy unit since this is not a Q: In Here we Stand, how do attachments that go on enemy units
movement? (Such as the Turn Coat) interact with scoring?

A: No. A: They count toward the player who paid their points cost.

Q: When an attachment with a triggered order is moved to Q: In Dark Wings, Dark Words, when do you start scoring from
another unit, does the order remain triggered for that round? the mission cards?

A: Yes, the Order has already been used. A: Mission cards can be scored whenever their conditions have
been met. Including the 1st Round.
Q: Can Abilities/effects that trigger “After Defense Dice are rolled” be
used even if an effect does not allow Defense Dice to be rolled? Q: In Winds of Winter, if both players choose the same mission,
do you score twice when reaching their requirement?
A: Yes. Even if dice are not rolled, steps in resolving Combat are
never skipped. A: Yes.

Q: If a unit is redeployed in Here We Stand but its attachment


has been moved to another unit due to an effect such as Free
Game Modes Folk’s Regroup and Reform, is the unit still redeployed with that
attachment?
Q: In A Clash of Kings, what stipulations exist when re-deploying
units? A: Yes, a Unit is redeployed exactly the way it was deployed at the
start of the game. In this case, both units would have a copy of that
A: Units are re-deployed without Condition tokens, attached attachment.
cards, or anything (including added/removed models) they had
gained before being destroyed. Abilities and effects that are “Once
Per Game” that have been used are still expended.

Q: In A Clash of Kings, do I gain +1 additional Victory Point if my


Commander’s unit destroys an enemy that typically would not
grant VP?

A: Yes. The VP is being gained from the Commander’s unit, not the
enemy.

Q: In A Storm of Swords, how is Range and Line of Sight drawn


from the Castle Walls for their Arrows attack?

A: Arrows may target any enemy within Long Range of any part of
the Castle Wall.

FAQ 2021 v1.0 2


Abilities
AFFILIATION: X GANG-UP
Q: Does the Affiliation: X Ability add the listed keywords to a unit Q: Does this affect only the unit with Gang-Up or do all friendly
or does it replace existing ones? units engaging the enemy benefit?
A: Affiliation: X does not remove anything from the unit. It merely A: ALL friendly units engaging the enemy can gain the benefits of
adds additional keywords for effects to trigger from. Gang-Up, not just the unit with the Ability.

BLACK FIRE (Drogon) GO DOWN FIGHTING


Q: Does this deal D3+3 Wounds for each Hit or D3+3 Wounds Q: Can Go Down Fighting Ability trigger multiple times during the
regardless of the number of Hits? same attack?
A: No, you only roll one D3 to wound, regardless of the number of A: Yes.
Hits. Q: Follow-up: Does it trigger when the last rank is destroyed?
A: Yes.
BRAN’S PROTECTOR
Q: Can this Ability be used with other Abilities/effects with the GOLDEN FIRE (Viserion)
same trigger? Q: Does this deal D3+3 Wounds for each Hit or D3+3 Wounds
A: Yes, as this is not an Order or Tactics Card. regardless of the number of Hits?
A: No, you only roll one D3 to wound, regardless of the number of
BOISTEROUS CHARISMA Hits.
Q: If an Ability/effect replaces a Tactics Zone, which then targets
this unit, is that legal? INSIGNIFICANT
A: Yes. This Ability only stops Abilities/effects that are directly Q: Can a unit lose the Insignificant Ability? And, if they do, are they
targeting the unit. then worth Victory Points?
A: Yes. Insignificant is not an Innate Ability and can be lost/
BOLDNESS & COURAGE cancelled by other effects, making the unit worth Victory Points
Q: How do Abilities/effects that modify Attack Dice interact with until the Ability is restored.
Boldness & Courage?
A: Boldness and Courage modifies the base Attack Die Value based INSPIRING PRESENCE
on ranks. This is done before any dice-modifiers are applied (just Q: Can Morale modified with Inspiring Presence further benefit
like normal). from additional bonus/negatives?
A: Inspiring Presence only changes the base Morale of the unit. This
COUNTERSTRIKE is before any other modifiers.
Q: When are the Hits from Counterstrike applied?
A: As soon as Attack Dice are finalized. INTIMIDATING PRESENCE
Q: Follow-up: This can lead to the Attacker being destroyed, what Q: If a unit is engaged with multiple units with Intimidating Presence,
happens? do these effects stack?
A: The Attack still resolves. A: No, effects of the same name never stack.

DISRUPT IRON RESOLVE


Q: If a unit is engaged with multiple units with Disrupt, do these Q: Can this reduce the number of Wounds from a failed Panic Test
effects stack? to 0?
A: No, effects of the same name never stack. A: Yes.

EMBOLDEN JADE FIRE (Rhaegal)


Q: Does this affect itself? Q: Does this deal D3+3 Wounds for each Hit or D3+3 Wounds
A: Yes. regardless of the number of Hits?
A: No, you only roll one D3 to wound, regardless of the number of
FUELED BY SLAUGHTER Hits.
Q: Does the “+1 additional Wounds for each of the Defender’s
ranks” mean only ranks destroyed by the Attack or in total? LANNISTER JUSTICE
A: Total, not just ranks destroyed by the Attack. Q: Does this trigger multiple times during a Charge Action?
A: No. A Charge and its resulting Melee Attack are a single Action
(see General FAQ).

FAQ 2021 v1.0 3


Abilities (Cont)
LANNISTER SUPREMACY RENLY’S PROTECTOR
Q: Does this Ability add +1 total Wounds on failing its Panic Q: Can this Ability be used with other Abilities/effects with the
Test, or +1 Wounds per remaining rank in the unit with Lannister same trigger?
Supremacy? A: Yes, as this is not an Order or Tactics Card.
A: +1 Wound per remaining rank.
SPREAD FEAR
MARAUDER’S BLADES (House Clegane Mountain’s Men) Q: Can a failed Panic Test from Spread Fear trigger another instance
Q: If the enemy is reduced to fewer remaining ranks during the of Spread Fear?
Attack, but before the Panic Test, will the test benefit from Vicious? A: Yes, these are two separate events, each with their own window
A: No. The bonus (+1 to Hit and Vicious) is checked at the start of for triggering Abilities/effects.
the Attack.
SUPPLY AID
MIGHTY SWING Q: Can I choose to remove 0 models and restore 1 Wound?
Q: If the Giant’s Mighty Swing gains more attack dice, and generates A: Yes.
more than one hit, do I roll more D3’s to wound?
A: No, you only roll one D3 to wound, regardless of the number of TAKING A NEW NAME
Hits. Q: If I replace this model with one that had an Order it had already
used that Round, can I use that Order? What about Once-per-game
MOTIVATED BY COIN Abilities/effects?
Q: If I have multiple units with Motivated by Coin, and one of them A: The model is treated exactly as it was prior in the Round,
loses their Abilities, can I use the Motivated by Coin Ability of including used Orders/Abilities.
another unit with the same name to target that unit?
A: Yes, as long as the units have the same name. For example, if you TAUNT
had two “Stormcrow Mercenaries” units and one lost all its Abilities, Q: How does Taunt interact with Abilities/effects that trigger at the
the other still provides a source of “1 Stormcrow Mercenaries unit start of a unit’s Activation (such as the Maneuver from Cavalry)?
performs 1 Attack Action” (as, by wording, it can affect ANY A: In this case Simultaneous Actions rule comes into effect. The
“Stormcrow Mercenaries” unit). Active Player’s effect (usually the Cavalry Maneuver) in this case will
resolve first. This can lead to a situation where the unit no longer
OUTFLANK has Line of Sight to the unit with Taunt, thus would not be able to
Q: How do units with Outflank interact with standard deployment? be affected by the Ability (per its text).
As one of my deployments, do I declare I am outflanking, or are
they ignored entirely? TACTICAL REPOSITION
A: When the unit would be deployed (as part of standard Q: Can I use this Ability to shift out of Combat?
deployment) usage of the Ability is declared, and the unit is then A: No. See General FAQ.
placed in Reserve instead of on the Battlefield.
THENN SUPREMACY
OUTRIDER’S BOW (Dothraki Outriders) Q: Does this Ability add +1 total Wounds on failing its Panic Test, or
Q: If I gain an Attack from an outside source (such as the Combat +1 Wounds per remaining rank in the unit with Thenn Supremacy?
Zone) do I gain the benefits of Outrider’s Bow? A: +1 Wound per remaining rank.
A: Outrider’s Bow checks for the Turn, not the Round. If the unit
has not performed the Maneuver from Cavalry that Turn then they TRAMPLE (War Mammoth)
gain the benefits (which is most likely the case in these situations). Q: When a Mammoth pivots during Trample, does that count as
moving through an enemy for determining if they suffer Wounds?
PERSEVERANCE & VALOR A: Yes, units are ignored for movement purposes- they are still
Q: If the Wound restored by this Ability restores a rank, do I gain the being moved through for applying Wounds from Trample.
benefits of that for the Attack?
A: Yes. WHATEVER MAY COME
Q: Can I immediately expend the Weakened token generated by
POISONED GIFTS this Ability on the Attack that triggered it?
Q: If the unit does not have Pillage, do they still suffer Wounds from A: Yes.
this Ability?
A: Yes.

FAQ 2021 v1.0 4


Non-Combat Units
AERON GREYJOY PETYR BAELISH
Q: “… for each of its destroyed ranks” is referring Aeron’s unit or the Q: If “Master of the Game” is used at the start of the Round, and
destroyed enemy? Petyr later loses all Abilities, what happens?
A: Aerons unit’s destroyed ranks. A: “Master of the Game” has already been utilized. It will remain in
effect that Round.
ALESTER FLORENT
Q: When Alester moves to a new zone, do I then resolve the effect TYWIN LANNISTER
of that zone? Q: In what order are the effects of “Rains of Castamere” resolved?
A: No, Alester is not Claiming the zone, he is merely being placed A: In the order of their owner’s choosing.
on it.
WALDER FREY
BALON GREYJOY Q: How does “The Late Walder Frey” interact with Abilities/effects
Q: Are Attachments returned with his Ability? that could grant additional Actions, but not actual “Activations”?
A: Yes. A: The Late Walder Frey only checks to see if everything else has
Activated, it does not interact with “free” Actions.
CATELYN STARK
Q: How do Abilities/effects that modify Attack Dice interact with WENDAMYR
“Family, Duty, Honor”? Q: Can I use “Raven Tending” to shift out of combat?
A: “Family, Duty, Honor” modifies the base Attack Die Value based A: No, see General FAQ.
on ranks. This is done before any dice-modifiers are applied (just
like normal).

DAENERYS TARGARYEN (The Unburnt)


Q: Does Daenerys reduce the cost of all dragons by 1, or only a
single dragon?
A: Only one dragon.

JAQEN H’GHAR
Q: Does Jaqen also count as having the name of the unit whose
Influence he copied?
A: Yes. Replace all instances of that unit’s name in the Ability with
“Jaqen H’ghar”

LORD VARYS
Q: Can I use “Little Birds” to shift out of combat?
A: No, see General FAQ.

MARGAERY TYRELL
Q: Do I need to restore a Wound to trigger the second part of her
Ability (dealing a Wound?)
A: No.

OLENNA TYRELL
Q: If she uses her Ability on an NCU that has had an Ability resolve
earlier in the Round, what happens?
A: If an Ability has already been triggered and resolved (such as a
Once-ger-game that has already been activated that Round) the
effect remains in play.

FAQ 2021 v1.0 5


Tactics Cards FIERY RESOLVE
DEVIOUS METHODS Q: Is this an additional +3 Wounds in addition to the result of the
Q: If this takes a card that, upon being played, would attach to a failed Panic Test, or replacing the result of the roll with 3?
unit, what happens? A: It is replacing the result of the D3 with 3, before modifiers.
A: The card is returned to the opponent’s discard pile if it leaves
your hand for any reason. HARSH CONDITIONS
Q: Who chooses which Abilities are lost?
Q: How does this card interact with cards that would deploy A: The player who played Harsh Conditions.
units, such as The Endless Horde?
A: If the Greyjoy player has the listed unit available, it may be PRICE OF FAILURE
deployed. Q: Do I still roll dice for this Attack?
A: Yes, dice are still rolled. Even though all Attacks automatically
ENDLESS HORDE Hit, other effects based on die-results must still be checked.
Q: Can this re-deploy Character units?
A: Yes. LAST STAND
Q: Does this Attack benefit from the Abilities of any Attachments
EXPERT PARRY (Belwas, the Strong) in the unit?
Errata: The trigger of this card should read as follows: A: Yes, assuming they were destroyed by same Attack/effect that
“When a friendly Cavalry or Infantry unit is Attacked, after Defense triggered the destruction of the unit.
Dice are rolled”.
STAND UNITED, BROTHERS!
INEXPLICABLE RETURN Q: Do I restore +2 Wounds if I remove Wounds from Jon Snow’s
Q: How does this interact with other effects that return unit, or only if his unit is the recipient of the Wounds?
Attachments to units and/or redeploy the unit? A: Only if he is the recipient.
A: A copy of the Attachment would remain in the unit. Q: Can I remove 0 models and restore 2 Wounds if targeting Jon
Snow’s unit?
INTERCEPT ORDERS A: Yes.
Q: What does “If able” mean?
A: If there is another eligible target, it must be chosen. If there TAKE THE BLACK
are no other eligible targets, the original unit remains the target Q: How does this interact with effects that return Characters to
(this interaction happens due to the specific trigger of this card in units and/or redeploy the unit?
relation to resolving its actual effect, meaning this card could be A: A copy of the Character would remain in the Night’s Watch unit.
played when no “other” eligible target actually exists).
TARGARYEN SUPREMACY
INTRIGUE AND SUBTERFUGE Q: Does add +1 total Wounds on failing its Panic Test, or +1
Q: If this targets an NCU that has had an Ability resolve earlier in Wounds per remaining rank in the unit?
the Round, what happens? A: +1 Wound per remaining rank.
A: If an Ability has already been triggered and resolved (such as a
Once-ger-game that has already been activated that Round) the THE SHIELD OF THE REALMS OF MEN
effect remains in play. Q: Does the attached bonus of blocking +1 Hit apply to the Attack
that triggered the card?
FINAL STRIKE A: No, the card only attaches after the Attack has been resolved.
Q: Can this cause more Hits than Wounds remaining in the unit?
A: No THE SWORD IN THE DARKNESS
Q: Can this card be used if the Defender is destroyed? Q: Does the attached bonus of +1 Attack Die apply to the Attack
A: While the card can be played (as its trigger is met), its effect only that triggered the card?
targets a unit engaged with the Defender, of which there are none A: Yes.
(as the unit was removed upon being destroyed).
WILL OF THE ONE TRUE KING
FEINTING MANEUVER Q: Can I target the same unit with each of these effects?
Q: If my target has effects that trigger from being Charged from A: Yes.
the Front/Flank (such as Set for Charge), do they trigger?
A: No. the unit is treated as having been charged in the Flank/Rear
respectively for all gameplay purposes.

FAQ 2021 v1.0 6

You might also like