EVERRAIN Unofficial FAQ With Official Answers V1.2
EVERRAIN Unofficial FAQ With Official Answers V1.2
Q2: When you add enemies to the enemy deck because the act advances (enemies marked "ACT II" when
you arrive at ACT II etc.), do you include any discarded enemies?
A: No, they remain discarded until the deck is completely exhausted.
Q3: I had a denizen that allowed me to spend clues that were worth 2 points each. I had 5, enough to move
up on the discovery track twice in this case. However, I was only 1 space away from the end of the act. Do I
get to move the additional space on the discovery track, or does it reset at the end of the act so that I lose
the extra space?
A: The rulebook says "Once a player or enemy reaches one of these spaces (end of Act space), the Act is
complete, and new tiles and cards are added to the game." So, whoever is currently having their turn
finishes up, and the End of Act plays out. So yes, you can move the additional space.
NAVIGATION:
Q1: When I am one space away from the edge of a tile, and I use a nav order, with a total nav value of 3,
can I then move towards the edge of the tile (1 nav point) then explore a new tile (2nd nav point) and then
move into the new tile? (3d nav point)?
Or do you always come to a full stop at the edge of a tile and then have to spend an additional nav order if
you want to interact with a not-yet-revealed new tile?
A: Yes, that's exactly how Navigation points work. You don't come to a full stop at the edge of a tile. You
only lose excess points if you decide to do something else before completely spending them, like issuing a
different Order.
Q2: Can I move to an island hex, explore the island (as it doesn't need an order token), and then go on with
my remaining navigation points with only 1 navigation Order? (Same question with a shipwrecked hex).
A: No, because you're taking a different action. Revealing a new tile requires 1 Navigation point, and
anything that requires Navigation points doesn't interrupt your Navigation Order. If you try to do so
something else, like interact with any location (Altar, Port, Island, etc) then this is a new action that
interrupts the Navigation Order.
Also just to clarify, a Crew member needs to be in the Dinghy to explore the Island. They can either be
there when you arrive at the Island, or you can order them to the Dinghy when you arrive. That Crew
member is then tested by the Island event.
COMBAT:
Q1: Does the "dice converting" mechanism work when attacking and defending? For example, if an enemy
roll displays two "move" results, will it be converted to one damage?
A: Yes.
Q2: When attacking or defending, if an enemy rolls "move" and "omen", does it move first or trigger its
special ability first?
A: Enemy special abilities are triggered first (see p29 under "Target Priority").
Q3: When using the "boarding enemy ship" mechanics, there are 2 steps:
Step 1: Player's crew move to any node and attack, if possible.
Step 2: Enemy uses dice result to take action.
Are these 2 steps circular, like 1→2→1→2……until one side are all dead?
A: Boarding actions continue until one side wins, and there are no restrictions on which nodes Crew can
move to.
Q4: During Boarding, as there is no crew ‘move dice’, do I just declare where my crew go at the start of
every combat round?
A: For Boarding, yes this is true, which is different from normally fighting enemies On Deck, where you
need to spend Crew Orders.
Q5: The patterns for some of the artillery seems a bit odd. For example, this one:
If it's positioned port, it looks like it affects forwards and to the left, and then left of that, but if it's
positioned starboard, it affects back and to the right and then right of that. Is my interpretation correct?
My expectation is that it would be like a mirror image on either side but that doesn't seem to be the case.
A: Your interpretation is correct; weapons can have different firing arcs depending on which side of the
ship they're installed.
Q6: Can the 'Gunmetal Mortars' and 'Formidable Swivel Guns' shoot from the Bow and the Stern?
A: Yes, these cards can fire out of the Bow and the Stern. Some cannot, like the Ram.
Q7: You've got an enemy at point A, one crew at point B and one crew at point B. You want to attack with
B + C. Do you...
1. Spend one crew order token and move B first then attack. Then spend another crew order token and
move C then attack with both B and C?
2. Spend one crew order token and move B to A, then spend another crew order token, move C to A, then
attack with both?
3. Spend one crew order token and move in and attack with B. Then spend another crew order token and
move in and attack with C?
A: #1. Frays are triggered when a Crew is ordered into a space containing an enemy, and everyone in that
space participates in the Fray. So, send the stronger one in first.
ENEMY SHIPS:
Q1: How are you supposed to tell the enemy ships apart if there's more than one on the board?
A: There are numbered tokens provided for this.
Q2: If an enemy ship spawns when there is no valid target or player ship which it can attack, what does it
do? Does it stay still?
A: There should always be a Destination for an enemy ship. If in rare cases it says "second closest island"
and only 1 Island has been revealed on the map, then that Island is its destination.
Q3: If there is a situation when there isn't any island revealed, but there is an enemy ship in play and I
move out of its attack range, what does the enemy ship do?
A: In this case, yes, the enemy ship would not move until a player ship enters its Engagement range, or an
island is revealed. This actually feels quite sinister, like the enemy ship is guarding that area waiting to
strike!
Q4: What happens if an enemy ship moves into engagement range during its movement towards its
destination?
A: The decisive factor is the enemy ship time of activation. Player ship in range? Player ship is the target.
No player ship in range? The enemy ship sails to its specified destination.
Q5: When an enemy ship appears, can we choose the orientation of the ship? Or is it oriented towards its
goal?
A: p30 under "Enemies at Sea" - When an Enemy ship spawns, an Enemy Destination token is placed on its
destination, and it is oriented to face it.
Q6: If we manage to sink an enemy ship on its spawn icon hex, we put a shipwreck tile over the enemy
icon, covering it. Does this mean that this icon will not allow new enemy ships to spawn as it is now
covered?
A: No, placing a Shipwreck does not deactivate anything under it.
Q7: Enemy ships have to be placed "On a Calm Sea Space of the player’s choice on that player's tile OR a
Rough Seas space if none are available". If we explore and flip a new tile with an enemy spawn icon, then
should we put this new ship on our current tile or on the new tile revealed containing the spawn icon?
A: This only applies when enemy ships are spawned in other ways, such as the result of an Event. If they
are spawned from an Enemy Spawn icon, they just spawn on the icon.
Q8: When an enemy ship rolls two moves and an omen, it first tries to enter the range of fire, because I am
within its range of engagement. Then it tries to shoot, but can’t, because it doesn’t have the dice to do it.
It’s got one move left on its die, so does it head to its destination, where he’ll also get closer to me, or does
it not move?
A: As long as you're still in its firing arc, it will make the second movement.
Q9: Do enemy ships follow the same movement rules as player ships? For example, do they need to spend
two movement points on a stormy sea tile?
A: Yes
PORTS:
Q: When gambling at the Inn do I need to have at least 15 coins in case I lose?
A: Yes.
Q: When hiring new crew at the tavern, they go directly on the ship, according to the rules. Does that
mean that I can send them to the port (the market, the tavern, etc.) straight after the recruiting action?
A: Yes, you can send them to Port.
Q: When at a port, is the order of things important? For example, can I go to the marketplace and first sell
things, THEN buy the revealed treasures? Or do I have to buy before being allowed to sell anything, as per
the order given in the rulebook?
A: In Port, you conduct business in an order of your choosing. So, you absolutely can sell your Treasures
before buying what's on offer.
Q: Does that mean that you can, for example, sell a few treasures, then get a Treasure from a visit to a
Denizen and sell it also? Or are repeatable port actions not repeatable once another port action has been
carried out?
It occurred to me once; I had no money and I wanted to buy Treasures from a Denizen, but I had to sell
Treasures first. Then, once I bought the Treasures from the hands of the Denizen, I wanted to sell some of
them. Can I do that on the same visit to the port?
A: You can conduct your business in ANY order you want. So, if you place one Crew at the Marketplace and
one on a special Denizen, you can conduct some business with the special Denizen, then the Marketplace,
then the Denizen, etc. As long as you're not breaking any of the rules, like for example if the Port service
isn't repeatable, or you try to send your Crew to a second location, then you're fine.
Q: When you leave port, your crew end up below deck. When you move crew from the port to, let's say,
the cabins, does that crew member then also immediately remove one strain? Or does that only happen
when you order a crew to go to the cabins?
A: p18, under "Fatiguing" - "Whenever a Crew activates an Improvement and triggers its benefit, a Fatigue
token is placed on their board. Fatigued Crew cannot trigger any more Improvements on that turn;
however, they can still be issued Orders and put to work On Deck. All Fatigue tokens are removed at the
beginning of a player’s next turn." So yes, when Crew return from Port you can place them in a Cabin, and
they can use it, so long as they haven't been Fatigued.
Q: When arriving at a port you may send any number of crew to visit the port. Is every crew only allowed
to visit one location each or may a crew visit as many locations as it likes one after the other (what would
the benefit then be to send several crews in the 2nd case)?
A: p24, under Engaging Services - Each circular Port space on the board is considered a service, and each
Crew may engage a single service on a visit to Port.
Q: When visiting the port, let's say I have someone at the university and someone at the market. Can I
potentially buy a relic, then use it and clues to advance discovery, and then sell something after?
A: Yes, you resolve the actions in Port in an order of your choosing, but bear in mind that some services,
like the University, can only be used once per visit, so if that Crew member has already handed in Clues,
they can't do it again.
Q: The negative Trait "Duplicitous" as in the example on p.21: Do you pay 5gp once arriving at the port or
only when you send the corresponding crew to a location (so if you leave him on the ship, no payment is
necessary)?
A: Only when you send that specific Crew member to Port, in the same way that the benefit of the Astute
Trait, in the same example, is only gained by sending that specific Crew member to the University.
AVATARS:
Q: It is said the Avatar moves like an enemy ship. How is it affected by rough seas/storms? Only if it's on
the centre space? Does it need to turn as well?
A: It's affected just like enemy ships, as long as the storm is covering part of it. It doesn't matter which way
it's facing, so doesn't need to turn.
Q: Can I block the Avatar? It can't move over my ship, right? There's an objective that mentions the Avatar
destroys ports by moving over them. What if I'm on that port? It can't move on it nor can it attack port
spaces?
A: You can't stop it from destroying the Port by sitting on it.