100% found this document useful (2 votes)
157 views16 pages

AfrikaKorps 3d Ed Rules

The document summarizes the components of the board game "Afrika Korps" including: - Unit counters that represent military forces for both sides in different sizes from armies to battalions. The counters have information on nationality, type, attack strength, defense strength, and movement allowance. - A mapboard of North Africa showing terrain features like the escarpment and Qattara Depression. Important locations are also noted. - Instructions for initially setting up the units on the board according to the starting March 1941 situation and placing remaining units and supplies off board.

Uploaded by

t1029
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
100% found this document useful (2 votes)
157 views16 pages

AfrikaKorps 3d Ed Rules

The document summarizes the components of the board game "Afrika Korps" including: - Unit counters that represent military forces for both sides in different sizes from armies to battalions. The counters have information on nationality, type, attack strength, defense strength, and movement allowance. - A mapboard of North Africa showing terrain features like the escarpment and Qattara Depression. Important locations are also noted. - Instructions for initially setting up the units on the board according to the starting March 1941 situation and placing remaining units and supplies off board.

Uploaded by

t1029
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
You are on page 1/ 16

1.

2 UNIT COUNTERS: The die-cut Order of Bat-


tle Unit Counters are the tokens whose move-
ment and placement determine the course of
play. The Blue pieces are Allied; Red are Axis
(a term referring to the German-Italian alliance).
Hereafter they will be referred to simply as units.
Printed on each unit is information necessary for
play of the game.

AFRIKA KORPS
1. COMPONENTS 1.21 There are five different unit sizes:

1.1 THE MAPBOARD: The mapboard shows the XXX-Army Group XX-Division X-Brigade
area where the western desert campaign was Ill-Regiment lI-Battalion
actually fought. It covers approximately 700
miles between El Agheila and El Alamein. Map 1.22 The nationality of pieces can be determined
spellings are according to British War Office as follows:
maps. A hexagonal grid has been superim- A-Australian, NZ-New Zealand, I-Indian, SA-
posed on the mapboard to determine move- South African, It- Italian, Unmarked Red-
ment. Important features include: German, Unmarked Blue-British.

GRID COORDINATES: Black numbers printed 1.23 The types of pieces are determined as fol-
along the south and east edges of the board are lows:
used to identify individual hexes. The letters are
read horizontally (east-west), the numbers di-
agonally from southwest to northeast. When a
number and letter are cross-indexed they pin-
point a certain location on the map. Examples:
Agheila is W6, El Alamein is L59.

ESCARPMENT: Any hex containing brown


splash contours (Example: G24). NOTE: Hex 1.24 Identification is provided only for historical
T29 is not a pass through the escarpment. reference. It is not necessary for play of the
game, and players not wishing to take the time
QATTARA DEPRESSION: Any hex containing to set up the game with the correct historical
brown dots wholly or partially within the brown units can ignore this information and bring units
lines of the area labeled QATTARA DEPRES- into play solely on the basis of their combat and
SION. (Example: R60). movement factors (see2.2)
FORTRESS: Bengasi (H2), Tobruch (G25). Al- 1.25 The attack factor is the basic strength of
ternate spellings: Benghazi, Tobruk. the unit when attacking.
COAST ROAD: Any hex containing a red line 1.26 The defense factor is the basic strength of
(Example: K61). the unit when defending.
GERMAN HOME BASE: Gray hex at W3. 1.27 The movement factor is the maximum
number of clear terrain hexes a unit may move
ALLIED HOME BASE: Gray hex at J62. into in one turn.
AFRIKA KORPS 2

1.3 RULEBOOK: The rulebook contains all


rules, charts and tables necessary for play of the
game. 2. PREPARE FOR PLAY

1.4 DIE: The six-sided die is used only to re- 2.1 Lay the mapboard out on a long table. The
solve combat and the arrival of Axis supplies; it Axis player sits at the northern side; the Allied
has nothing to do with movement. player at the southern side.

1.5 TIME RECORD CARD: The Time Record 2.2 Punch Out the unit counters from their die-
Card is used to record the passage of turns and cut sheet and place the corresponding units on
indicates the availability of reinforcements, re- the Order of Appearance tables printed on the
placements, and Allied substitute counters, as map-board. These units are the Reinforcements
well as possible changes in Axis supply arrival (19.1) which both sides receive at various inter-
status, and the approaching end of the game. vals throughout the game.

2.3 Place the units shown on the March 1941


Situation Chart on their respective listed posi-
tions on the mapboard. Stacking limits (6.1) can
be ignored during this preliminary setup but
must be adhered to at the conclusion of each
player’s movement and also at the end of each
player’s turn.

2.4 Place the remaining four Axis and five Allied


supply counters off the board in an accessible
place where they can be brought into play as
dictated by the course of the game. The remain-
ing counters are Allied substitute counters (21)
which cannot enter play until August 1942. Put
them aside for later use. The blank red and blue
counters are merely “spares” to replace poten-
tially lost units. You are now ready to begin
play.

3. SEQUENCE OF PLAY

AFRIKA KORPS is played in turns. The Axis


player moves all of his units which he cares to
move, and resolves any resulting battles. That
is his player turn. The Allied player moves all of
his units which he cares to move, and resolves
any resulting battles. That is his player turn.
Together these two player turns comprise a
complete game turn and are measured as the
passage of half a month of real time. The exact
sequence of play is outlined below.

3.1 If the Axis player controls a port (4.3) at


which he can bring in supply, he rolls the die and
consults the Supply Table (12.2) to determine
whether he receives a supply unit that turn. If
successful, he places it at the controlled port of
his choice. He then consults the Time Record
AFRIKA KORPS 3

Card. If he is due additional units to enter play home base you must both garrison it as above
that turn he places them on board at a controlled and keep it out of enemy zones of control at the
port of his choice. The Axis player then moves beginning and the end of each player turn.
all of his units on board (including just arrived NOTE: a player may never use his opponent’s
supply, reinforcement, and replacement units) home base as a port, whether he controls it or
which he chooses to move. No Allied movement not.
is allowed.
5. MOVEMENT
3.2 All attacks caused by Axis movement are
resolved one attack at a time. After each attack, 5.1 Barring special restrictions caused by enemy
the Axis player decides whether or not to ex- zones of control (7.1) and restrictive terrain, you
ecute movement after combat if applicable. may move all, some or none of your units cur-
rently in play on every turn.
3.3 The Allied player brings on a supply unit at
any controlled port providing he is entitled to and 5.2 On each turn, you may move each unit in
wants it. After consulting the Time Record Card any direction or combination of directions any
he places any additional units he is due on number of open terrain hexes not exceeding its
board in a controlled port of his choice. He then movement factor.
moves all his units on board which he chooses
to move. No Axis movement is allowed. 5.3 You move all of your units you choose to
move in your turn before resolving any battles.
3.4 All attacks caused by Allied movement are
resolved one attack at a lime. After each attack, 5.4 You may not move your units on top of or
the Allied player decides whether or not to ex- through opponent’s combat units or their ZOC
ecute movement after combat if applicable. (supply and Rommel units are not combat units),
except during Automatic Victory (9.1) situations.
3.5 The Allied player checks off one game turn
on the Time Record Card and players repeat 5.5 Movement factors are not transferable from
Steps 3.1 through 3.5 for the duration of the one unit to another nor can they be accumulated
game. from one turn to the next.

4. VICTORY CONDITIONS 5.6 You may move units on partial Qattara De-
pression hexes (Example: Q60) as if they were
4.1 The Axis player wins if he has eliminated all clear terrain, but not on full Qattara Depression
Allied combat (not supply) units currently on the hexes (Example: R60). T61 is considered a full
board, or controls both fortresses and both Qattara hex.
home bases simultaneously for two consecutive
Axis player turns (at the beginning and end of 5.7 You may not move units directly from one
each turn) by his last October, 1942 turn. hex to another across an all-water hexside (Ex-
ample: E18 to F19), or Qattara Depression hex-
4.2 The Allied player wins if he has eliminated all side (W62-X62) nor may units on these
Axis combat (not supply or Rommel) units cur- adjoining hexes engage each other in battle.
rently on the board, or controls both fortresses
and both home bases simultaneously for two 5.8 You may not move units on partial hexes on
consecutive British player turns (at the beginning the East or West ends of the mapboard (e.g.
and end of each turn), or avoids the Axis victory R68), nor are you allowed to move units on hex-
conditions through the last October, 1942 turn. es for which there is no grid coordinate (e.g.
there is no X70 nor is there a Y70 since neither
4.3 To control a fortress or a home base, the 70 nor Y are grid coordinates). Hexes I63, K64,
controlling side must occupy that hex. Last pos- M65, 066, Q67, S68, and U69 are considered
session of the hex is not sufficient to be consi- playable.
dered “controlled”. It must be occupied by a
combat, supply, or Rommel unit. To control a
AFRIKA KORPS 4

6. STACKING voluntarily attack at less than 1-6. Any unit


forced to attack in this position is eliminated be-
6.1 Both players may stack up to three combat fore any other combat takes place.
units in one hex. Supply units and/or Rommel
may be stacked by themselves or with combat 7.5 The results of combat are interpreted as fol-
units over and above the three-high limit. lows:

6.2 The movement factor of stacked units is that A Elim - All attacking units in that attack are
of the slowest unit in the stack. Units may com- eliminated.
bine to form a stack at any point during a turn in
which they can reach the same hex. Similarly, a A back 2 - All attacking combat units in that at-
stack may split up into its component parts at tack are retreated two hexes by the defender.
any point during the movement of the stack.
Exchange - The player with fewer combat fac-
6.3 Units may pass through hexes containing tors actually involved in the combat (attack fac-
other friendly combat units even if those hexes tors for the attacker, defense factors for the
are already stacked to the maximum. Units defender) must remove all his units in that battle.
must conform to stacking limits only at the end The other player removes the number of in-
of movement and the end of each player turn. volved units whose combined combat factors
actually used in the battle total at least that of
7. COMBAT the units removed by his opponent. In an ex-
change, the defender’s defense factors are
7.1 Every combat unit has a Zone of Control computed at basic or double value according to
(hereafter referred to as ZOC) which consists of terrain. The attacker’s combat factors are never
the six hexes adjacent to the hex it occupies affected by terrain.
(Exceptions: E18-F19, W62-X62, and fortresses,
etc.). An overlapping friendly ZOC does not ne- EXAMPLE: If a 2-3-4 unit which is doubled on defense is
attacked by seven 1-1-6 units at 1-1 odds with a resulting
gate an enemy ZOC. Combat units lose their
“exchange” the 2-3-4 unit is lost along with six of the seven
ZOC if attacked at 7-I odds or 5-1 surrounded 1-1-6 units.
(see 9.1). If on the other hand, 3-4-6 unit is attacking four 1-
1-6s at 1-2 odds with a resulting “exchange”, the 3-4-6 unit is
eliminated along with three of the four 1-1-6s.
7.2 A player automatically causes combat when-
ever he moves a combat unit into an enemy
ZOC. The player moving his units is always the D back 2 - All defending units in that attack are
attacker; his opponent is always the defender. retreated two hexes by the attacker.

7.3 Battle odds are determined by expressing D Elim - AII defending units in that attack are
the attacker’s attack factor(s) as a ratio of attack eliminated.
factors to the defender’s defense factor(s).
Fractions are always rounded off in favor of the 7.6 RETREATS: Retreats can be handled in a
defender (7:2 becomes 3-1, 2:7 becomes 1-4). zigzag fashion so as to end the retreat only one
hex away from the original hex occupied during
EXAMPLE: If the British 7th Armored Infantry (3-3-7) attacks the battle. Retreat can be through friendly units
the Italian Savena Division (2-2-4) battle odds are 3-2 or 1-1. already stacked to maximum and over all playa-
To resolve this battle the attacker rolls the die once. The ble terrain including escarpments.
battle result is obtained from the Combat Results Table
found on the back of this rulebook by cross-indexing the die
roll with the proper odds column. 7.61 Retreating units are eliminated instead if
they are forced to retreat into or through enemy
7.4 Odds greater than 7-1 are treated as 7-I. zones of control, out to sea, into the Qattara De-
Odds less than 1-6 are not allowed. Any unit pression, or off the playable hexes of the board.
forced to attack at odds worse than 1-6 would be Retreating units in excess of the stacking limit
eliminated before any other battles are resolved would be eliminated if forced to end their retreat
without constituting a soak-off (11.6) or a ZOC on friendly units that would result in stacks ex-
for blocking potential retreat routes. No unit may ceeding the three-high combat unit limit. The
AFRIKA KORPS 5

retreating player could not elect to eliminate 8.5 Each attacking unit in a particular attack
another unit in the stationary stack so as to must be adjacent to every defending unit which
make room for a retreating unit, although he it is attacking in that attack.
could choose which of the retreating units to
eliminate should the hex retreated to be able to 8.6 After concluding all movement for your play-
accommodate somewhat less than the full num- er turn, you resolve all battles one at a time in
ber of retreating units. any order you choose. Any advance after com-
bat or retreat possibilities resulting from each
7.62 The winner cannot force retreating units attack must be executed before resolving the
into blocking ZOC, or terrain which would result next attack.
in their elimination if alternate, unblocked routes
of retreat are available. 8.7 A unit’s attack factor remains at its basic
level in all situations regardless of the terrain it is
7.63 If the Rommel unit is stacked with an at- attacking from or into.
tacking unit or units which must retreat as a re-
sult of combat, it does not retreat with the 9. AUTOMATIC VICTORY
combat units because it is technically not a part
of the attacking force. However, in most cases 9.1 Whenever enough attacking units are in at-
the rules for placing Rommel with the closest tack position against a defending unit to create
Axis force when alone in an Allied ZOC (22.4) an automatic elimination situation (odds of 7-1,
will have the same effect. or 5-1 if the defender is surrounded by enemy
ZOC or impassable terrain such that he could
8. ATTACKING not survive a “back 2” result) that defending
unit’s ZOC is immediately ignored for the re-
8.1 A unit must stop as soon as it enters the first mainder of the attacker’s turn. Therefore, units
hex in an enemy ZOC (Exception: see Automat- not yet moved by the attacker may move
ic Victory, 9.1). through that defending unit’s adjacent hexes.
The attacker’s units may even move over the
8.2 You may move as many units into an enemy defending unit itself although they may not end
ZOC as the stacking limits and board situation their move directly on top of it. However, that
will allow before calculating battle odds and re- defending unit remains in play and is not re-
solving combat. moved until the attacker is ready to resolve his
attacks.
8.3 A unit is not allowed to move through an
enemy ZOC (see Automatic Victory, 9.1 for ex- 9.2 Attacking units must be able to trace a line
ception), nor is it allowed to move from a hex in no more than five hexes long which is free of
the ZOC of an enemy unit directly to another hex enemy ZOC and impassable Qattara/water hex-
in the ZOC of that same enemy unit (Exception: sides to a friendly supply unit at the instant they
see Advance After Combat, 16.2). The unit achieve automatic victory. Although automatic
would have to first move to a hex free of enemy victory (hereafter referred to as AV) takes place
ZOC before reentering the ZOC of the original during the movement portion of a turn, the com-
enemy unit whose ZOC it began the turn in. It bat units involved in the AV may not make any
could, however, start its turn in an enemy ZOC further movement during that turn until after the
and move directly to a hex in the ZOC of a dif- battle portion of the turn, when they may ad-
ferent enemy unit providing the hex moved into vance if they meet the Advance After Combat
is not also in the ZOC of the original enemy unit (see 16.1) requirements.
in whose ZOC it started its turn.
9.3 Units which serve to cut off retreat routes
8.4 You must resolve combat against every and thus participate in an AV (in a 5-1 or 6-1
enemy combat unit into whose ZOC you have surrounded attack) even though they may not be
moved units. Every combat unit in the ZOC of adjacent to the AVed unit, also may not make
an enemy Unit must attack some enemy unit. any further movement during that turn.
AFRIKA KORPS 6

9.4 Units which move through a negated ZOC 1-2 attack without supply vs 1/22 and 32, and thus would be
eliminated before combat. What the Axis player has is just a
by virtue of an earlier AV attack, may join in that normal 5-1 vs 1SA/1. The 15/115, unable to attack at 1-2
AV attack. This means that units can move without supply, must be eliminated prior to combat. Note
through a negated ZOC and then join in the AV that 15/115 could have been saved had the Axis player been
attack against that AVed unit so as to be able to able to bring up enough force against 1/SA/1 to get a 7-1
AV, thus opening a supply route to 15/155 which could then
remain adjacent to other non-AVed enemy units
attack at 1-2 or even move away without a fight through the
without attacking, provided proper soak-offs are hole left by the demise of 1SA/1. Note also that, somewhat
made. However, units used to gain an AV can- paradoxically, 15/115 could have been saved had the 32
not later have their “places taken” by other units Armor unit had a defense factor of 3. 15/115 could then
have attacked at 1-3 without supply (see 14.3) and conceiv-
moving through the negated ZOC and thus free-
ably could have retreated through the hole left by the demise
ing the original AVing units to continue their of 1SA/1.
move.
10. DEFENDING
9.5 A unit which must be eliminated before com-
bat due to being trapped in enemy ZOC without 10.1 The defending player is not allowed to
benefit of supply cannot participate in an AV. move any unit while his opponent is taking his
turn, although his opponent can retreat his de-
9.6 Units making an AV attack must be in supply feated defending units after combat (see 7.6) in
(14.2) at the time of that attack. They cannot the same manner that the defender can retreat
rely on the AV to open a route to a source of defeated attacking units after combat.
supply to sustain that AV attack.
10.2 Any defending unit in a battle which occu-
9.7 The supply used to sustain an AV attack pies a fortress or escarpment hex has its de-
could conceivably move over the AVed unit and fense factor doubled for purposes of calculating
continue on to supply other attacks on the same the odds of that battle and the amount of loss an
turn but it must maintain its five hex supply line attacker must suffer in an “exchange” result.
to the units which made the AV attack as well as Such a unit’s defense factor remains doubled
any units involved in other attacks which it is regardless of the terrain occupied by the attack-
supplying (Exception: See 14.5). er.

11. MULTIPLE UNIT BATTLES

11.1 When two or more Units attack one defend-


ing Unit the factors of the attacking units must
EXAMPLE: 21/5 has established an AV (7-1) vs 7A/2. The
be totaled into one combined attack factor.
German unit is within five hexes of supply #1. The 21/5
must remain in position for the rest of the turn, although the 11.2 When one unit attacks two or more defend-
supply can move as shown to hex “A”, ignoring 7A/2’s ZOC ing units the factors of the defending Units must
and ending its movement still within five squares of21/5.
Note the reverse is not true: if supply #1 had started the turn
be totaled into one combined defense factor.
at “A” it could not supply the AV from that hex, since the
7A/2’s ZOC is not ignored until after the supplied AV has 11.3 When several units attack several defend-
taken place. ing units the attacker has the choice of dividing
combat into more than one battle as long as the
following conditions are met:

11.31 The attacker must attack every defending


unit in whose ZOC he has attacking units, and

11.32 His attacking units must be in the ZOC of


Example: At the end of the Allied turn 15/115 is isolated by
1SA/1, 1/22 and 32. The Axis player moves 21/104 and
every defending unit he is attacking, and
Brescia into position for what appears to be an AV vs 1SA/1.
However, it isn’t an AV because the 15/115 cannot make a 11.33 Each of the attacker’s units in an enemy
AFRIKA KORPS 7

ZOC must attack. ZOC after combat has been resolved. The de-
fending unit in such a case must attack or with-
11.4 The attacker may divide combat against draw in its turn or be eliminated. If such a Unit
stacked units on the same hex into more than wishes to attack in its turn it may do so by hold-
one battle as long as he has more than one at- ing its present position or by withdrawing from
tacking unit. the enemy ZOC altogether and then re-entering
into a different hex of the enemy unit’s ZOC pro-
11.5 The attacker with stacked units on the viding it has any supply it may need to attack.
same hex may divide combat into more than one
battle against defending units on separate hex- 11.9 If, at the end of the movement portion of its
es. turn, an attacking unit is isolated while in an
enemy ZOC it must be eliminated before the
11.6 The attacker may deliberately sacrifice one combat phase of the turn (Exception: 14.3 - see
or more attacking units at unfavorable odds in the second example under 9.6)
order to gain more favorable odds over other
defending units. This tactic is called soaking-off.
However, soak-off odds cannot be worse than 1-
6. Any time an attacker finds his units trapped in
enemy ZOC at odds worse then 1-6, he must
either bring up enough units in support to bring
odds down to 1-6 or eliminate it from the board
before resolving any battles.

11.7 The attack or defense factor of a unit can-


not be split and applied to more than one battle,
nor may any defending unit be attacked more
than once in any turn.

EXCEPTION: Should a unit be retreated into


In the above example blue may divide combat in two
a fortress hex which will be attacked later in that ways. As shown by the gray circles he may resolve combat
same turn, that unit could undergo attack twice in two separate battles or in three separate battles as shown
in the same turn. In this case, however, the unit by the red circles. Notice that in dividing combat every red
does not add its defense factor to that of the unit that is in a blue ZOC will be fought. Also notice that the
Free French unit is not engaged since its ZOC does not fall
other defending unit(s) in the hex, although it on any red units.
must abide by the results of the attack. If a D
Elim is rolled, the unit is eliminated with the oth-
er defending unit(s). If the result is DB2, the unit
is again retreated. The nonparticipating unit
could not be used to satisfy exchange losses
and is eliminated if all other defending units in
the hex are lost.

Should a unit be retreated into a fortress hex


containing no other combat units it would be
subject to automatic elimination if attacked at
any odds during that player turn.
In this example the red 2-2-12 soaks off against blue 2nd
The attacking player cannot dictate a retreat & 24th brigades at 1-3. This gives Red’s remaining units
into a vacant fortress hex against the defender’s odds of 5-1 over the remaining blue 2-2-6 unit. This tactic by
will if any other legal retreat route exists. red forces surviving blue units to withdraw or counterattack
at relatively unfavorable odds.
11.8 No attacking unit may fight more than one
battle per turn even if it finds itself in an enemy
AFRIKA KORPS 8

supplies on the first game turn because he


doesn’t control a port. The Axis player may
never have more than three of his own supply
units on board at any time.

SUPPLY TABLE
die Apr 41 – Jul 41 – Dec 41 –
roll Jun 41 Nov 41 Game End
1 Sunk Sunk Sunk
2 Sunk Sunk --
3 -- Sunk --
4-6 -- -- --
Soaking off can be useful in forcing defending units to
abandon an escarpment. Here the 2-2-7 soaks-off against The Axis player receives a supply unless he rolls
blue 4-4-7 at 2 to 8 (1-4). Note that blue 4-4-7’s defense a “Sunk” result.
factor doubles on defense. The remaining red units attack
blue 1-1-6 at 6 to 2 (3-1). Blue, in his turn, must either coun-
terattack or give up the escarpment position. 12.3 There is no limit to the number of captured
supply units which a player may have over and
above the maximum number of his own supply
units.

12.4 If a player is unable to land his supply unit


for a given turn in a controlled port (i.e. Tobruch
or his homebase) at the start of the movement
portion of his turn he forfeits that supply unit.
Supply units may not be accumulated off board.
They must land on their turn of arrival or be lost.

12.5 A player does not have to accept supply.


He can decline the arrival of a supply unit if he
so desires.
The result of a blue attack has left red with a forced
soak-off situation in his turn. At first glance it appears that 13. MOVEMENT OF SUPPLY UNITS
red has blue NZ/2 surrounded, but a closer look finds that
red 1-1-7 would base to soak-off at odds of 1-8 which is not
allowed. Therefore, if red does not bring up additional units 13.1 Initial placement on board in a controlled
to join the attack and bring the soak-off odds down to at least port does not count against the supply unit’s
1-6, then red 1-1-7 must be removed before resolving the 4- movement rate. It can be moved and used to
1 attack against blue 1-1-6. sustain attacks on the turn of its arrival, or any
turn thereafter until used or destroyed.
12. AVAILABILITY OF SUPPLY
13.2 Supply units may move into an enemy ZOC
12.1 The Allied player is due one supply unit per only if they are being used to sustain attacks
turn throughout the game providing he has con- against that enemy unit in that turn.
trol of a port at which to land the supply unit.
However, the Allied player may never have more 13.3 A supply unit cannot capture or move adja-
than four of his own (not captured) supply units cent to (excepting the E18-F19, W62-X62 and
on board at any one time. fortress anomalies) opposing supply units (either
during or at the end of the movement portion of
12.2 The Axis player is allowed to roll a die once the turn) unless it is accompanied by a combat
per game turn on the SUPPLY TABLE in an at- unit. However, a supply unit could move adja-
tempt to secure a supply unit provided he con- cent to, or even on top of the Rommel unit (22) if
trols a port in which to land the supply unit that the Rommel unit were alone in a hex.
turn. Therefore the Axis player cannot roll for
AFRIKA KORPS 9

Example: All attacking blue units are within five hexes of a supply unit except blue 2-2-6, which has been left surrounded by red’s
previous player turn. In this even blue 2-2-6 is automatically eliminated prior to combat resolution (see 11.9), thus opening a retreat
route for red 2-2-4 which is being attacked at 10-2 (5-1). Note that red 2-2-4 would be Aved in a 5-1 surrounded attack were it not
for rule 11.9 which requires the elimination of blur 2-2-6 before any combat is resolved due to being in red ZOC without access to
supply. Both blue supply units must be removed because neither is within five hexes (free of enemy ZOC) of all attacking units.

14. SUSTAINING ATTACKS quire supply. However, attacking units are not
allowed to voluntarily attack at reduced odds so
14.1 Units may never attack at odds of 1-2 or as to avoid the necessity of supply.
better without access to a supply unit. Whenev-
er a supply unit is used to sustain an attack that 14.4 One supply unit may sustain attacks for
supply unit is removed at the end of the current more than one attack in the same player turn.
player turn. There is no limit to the number of attacks that
can be sustained by the same supply unit as
14.2 Units may attack at odds of 1-2 or better long as all the units which are attacking at 1-2 or
only if all attacking units involved in that attack better odds are within the five hex radius of the
are within five hexes of a friendly supply unit supply unit described in 14.2. Other supply units
after movement. The five hex route to the (whether within the five hex radius or not) do not
supply unit must be free of enemy ZOC and full have to be used and can remain on board for
Qattara Depression hexes (and cannot be use in later turns.
traced across the E18-F19, W62-X62 hexsides).
The five hex route is inclusive of the hex con- 14.5 Supply units are required to sustain AV at-
taining the supply unit, but exclusive of the hex tacks both at the instant the AV is attained and
containing the attacker. The five hex supply at the end of the movement portion of the attack-
route need not be maintained once combat is ing player’s turn. Note that it is possible that the
resolved: thus, retreating enemy combat units supply unit sustaining an AV attack may move
across the five hex supply route would have no out of the five hex supply radius of that attack,
effect on subsequent attacks being resolved dur- providing another supply unit takes its place
ing that same player turn. within the five hex supply radius at the end of
the movement portion of the turn. However, in
14.3 Attacks at odds of 1-3 or worse do not re- this case both supplies would have to be used to
AFRIKA KORPS 10

sustain the AV attack.


15.212 Immediately after its capture, the cap-
14.6 The attacking player must state before re- tured supply unit is subject to all movement re-
solving each combat (including AV attacks) strictions and cannot move through what
which supply is sustaining the attack. previously were friendly, but are now enemy,
ZOC.
14.7 Supply is not necessary to defend. There
is no change or reduction of a unit’s defense 15.22 Any retreating/advancing combat unit
factor due to lack of supply. which finds itself adjacent (usual E18/F19,
W62/X62 exceptions apply) to or on top of an
15. CAPTURE OF SUPPLY enemy supply unit (unaccompanied by a combat
Unit) during its retreat/advance automatically
15.1 Supply units have no ZOC and all enemy captures that supply unit (Exception: see 15.23).
combat units may move adjacent to or on top of However, the captured supply unit can move no
a hex containing only supply units (and/or further during that player turn other than accom-
Rommel unit) without stopping or may even end panying the capturing retreated combat unit for
their move in the same hex. Opposing supply the duration of its retreat. Should a supply
and/or Rommel units may not move adjacent to which is currently being used to sustain an at-
an opposing supply unit unless they are accom- tack during that player turn be overrun by a re-
panied by a friendly combat unit. treating unit in this manner it is neither captured
(because it is in the process of being used) nor
15.2 The situations in which supplies can be prevented from sustaining other attacks during
captured fall into two distinct categories; those in that player turn.
which the supply is stacked with a friendly com-
bat unit, and those in which it is not. The follow- 15.23 A supply unit (unaccompanied by a com-
ing rules pertain to the capture of supplies bat unit) in a fortress can be captured by an ad-
wherein the supply Unit is unaccompanied by jacent combat unit only at the conclusion of the
friendly combat units. movement portion of the turn because the for-
tress protects the supply unit from the combat
15.21 A supply unit is automatically captured unit’s ZOC. A retreating or moving combat unit
whenever an enemy combat unit moves adja- could capture the supply unit only if it moved into
cent to it prior to combat (Exception: the E18- the fortress on top of the supply unit. In es-
F19, W62-X62 anomalies) unless the supply unit sence, for a supply unit alone in a fortress to be
is in a fortress (see 15.23). The instant this oc- captured by an adjacent combat unit it must be
curs the supply unit is replaced with a captured “attacked”, and attacks can occur only during the
supply unit of the opposing color in the same combat portion of a turn - not before or after it.
hex. The removed supply unit is returned to the Therefore, such a supply unit could not be
opponent for possible reentry into the game at a moved immediately after capture, because the
later time under the normal supply generation captor’s movement portion of the turn has been
rules. The captured supply unit can then be completed. Note also that a supply unit (unac-
moved normally for the duration of the capturing companied by a friendly combat unit) in a for-
player’s movement portion of his turn and can tress would also be captured as part of the same
also be used to sustain attacks as if it had attack in which an enemy combat unit attacks
started that player turn as a friendly supply unit both the lone supply unit in the fortress and any
in that hex. Such a capture can occur during a other friendly combat units which are adjacent to
combat unit’s move - after which that combat the attacker unless all the attacking units were
unit may continue its movement for the turn eliminated or retreated as a result of the combat.
without penalty or delay.
15.24 Supply is not necessary in order to “at-
15.211 The possible presence of enemy combat tack” an unaccompanied supply unit (nor is it
units adjacent to the unaccompanied enemy necessary to attack a supply unit under any cir-
supply unit has no effect on the capture outlined cumstances, although it is often necessary to
above. attack accompanying combat units). Capture of
AFRIKA KORPS 11

an unaccompanied supply unit during movement time that a unit can move through an enemy
is not considered a “battle” (even in the case of ZOC other than during Advance After Combat
the fortress example cited in 15.23). Thus, the (16.2).
combat unit which captures the supply unit may
also take part in battle against enemy combat
units in that player turn.

15.3 Capture of supply units which are accom-


panied by friendly combat units in the same hex
is governed by the following rules.

15.31 If an AV can be attained against the ac-


companying combat unit(s), capture of the
supply follows the procedure in 15.21 with the
exception that the attacker could not occupy the EXAMPLE: The Allies have moved to capture Axis supply #1
by 2SA/4, while 32nd attacks 15/8 at 1-4. This is a clever
AVed unit’s actual hex (see 9.1), unless an Ad- way to destroy Axis supply without using an Allied supply
vance After Combat (16.2) situation was appli- and taking only a 50% chance of losing the 32nd. Note
cable. 2SA/4 cannot join in the attack against 15/8. In this case,
the capture of the supply is considered a battle. Now con-
sider what would happen if the Allies could bring up the 1st
15.32 In all other cases, supply units accompa- Armor (another 2-2-7) to the hex occupied by the 32nd. The
nied by friendly combat units can be captured 1st Armor cannot join 2SA/4 in capturing the supply since in
only by carrying out normal attacks against the a situation like this only one attacking unit may he used to
accompanying combat units. This capture can capture the supply. However, the Allies would have a sur-
rounded 1-2 vs 15/8 (assuming the 1st & 32nd can be sup-
take one of two forms. plied by a separate supply unit -- the captured supply cannot
be used to sustain this attack) because 2SA/4 serves to
15.321 The supply unit is captured if all accom- block the 15/8's retreat.
panying combat units are eliminated or retreated
while at least one attacking combat unit remains 15.4 A player may destroy his own supply or
adjacent to the supply or advances after combat captured supply units at any time during his own
(see 16.1) onto it. Supply units cannot retreat. player turn, including after combat is resolved.
The supply unit is neither captured or eliminated
if the battle result eliminates all attacking and 16. ADVANCE AFTER COMBAT
defending combat units and the supply unit is
not left in an enemy ZOC. 16.1 Any time an attack removes all defending
combat units from a fortress or escarpment hex,
15.322 The supply unit is captured if one adja- any and all (up to maximum stacking limits) sur-
cent enemy combat unit “attacks” the supply, viving attacking units may move into the hex
while other attacking units attack the accompa- vacated by the defender. Such advance must
nying combat units at legal odds (1-6 or better). occur prior to the resolution of the next battle, if
The attacker may not use more than one attack- any.
ing unit to capture the supply; all other units in
the defender’s ZOC must attack the accompany- 16.2 Advance after combat is the only instance
ing combat units. NOTE: this method cannot be (other than 15.34) in which a unit may move di-
used if the defender is in a fortress hex. rectly from the ZOC of an enemy unit into
another ZOC of that same enemy unit.
15.33 Supply units captured by the 15.32 me-
thod can be moved by the attacker their full 16.3 A unit attacking a supply unit in a fortress
movement capability, but they cannot be used to without accompanying combat units can never-
sustain other battles during that turn. theless advance after combat into the fortress
even though there was no defending combat
15.34 Captured supply units may be moved out unit involved.
of the ZOC of previously accompanying friendly
combat units by the new owner. This is the only
AFRIKA KORPS 12

17. COAST ROAD way a unit could move through more than one
escarpment hex in a player turn would be to ad-
17.1 All units are allowed to move up to ten ad- vance (16.1) or retreat (7.6) after combat.
ditional hexes per turn on the coast road above
and beyond their normal movement factors. 18.4 Units may move through escarpment hexes
Such movement may be combined with normal containing the coast road without stopping, us-
movement over other terrain in any manner de- ing either normal movement factors or their
sired. coast road bonus as long as movement is made
through hex-sides bisected by the road.
EXAMPLE: A 2-2-6 unit could move two hexes through clear
terrain to a coast road, then move seven hexes along the
18.41 Units may move directly onto a coast road
coast road, then move four additional hexes across clear
terrain (or coast road), before returning to the coast road for escarpment hex from a hexside not bisected by
its last three hexes of movement along the coast road. the road and then continue along the coast road
without stopping. However, they may not then
17.2 Movement along the coast road must be leave a coast road escarpment hex from a hex-
through the specific hexsides bisected by the side not bisected by the road.
red coastal road lines. To qualify for the coastal
road bonus the hex entered must be entered 18.42 Units which enter a coast road escarp-
through a hexside crossed by the red coastal ment hex from a hexside which is bisected by
road symbol; otherwise movement into that hex the road may later move off a coast road es-
is at the cost of the other terrain in that hex. carpment hex in any direction.

17.3 Hex I26 contains two roads which do not in- 18.5 In summary, rule 18.4 allows a unit to move
tersect within the hex and therefore presents an either off or on a coast road escarpment hex
exception to the normal rules. from a hexside not bisected by the road without
delay, but not to move both off and on in the
17.31 A unit which starts its turn in I26 can move same turn except as a result of retreat or ad-
along either road. vance after combat. See examples at bottom
left.
17.32 A unit which starts its turn outside I26 and
moves into the hex via the road could not trans-
fer to the other road in that hex and move along
it at no penalty. It would either have to move
outside the hex and back into it along the proper
hexside (such as I26-J27-I26) or pay an addi-
tional movement factor for moving across the
escarpment within the hex to get to the new
road. Such an expenditure would count as mov-
ing onto a road escarpment hex (see EXAMPLES: A unit beginning its turn at either G24 or I24
18.5). could move directly onto H24 and then continue to H23,
H25, or I25 and then onwards along the road with no delay.
However, the unit could not move H24-H25-H26 since the
18. ESCARPMENTS direct move between H25 and H26 would be off the coast
road escarpment through a hexside not intersected by the
18.1 Any unit may move onto an escarpment road, and in one turn a unit cannot move on (to H24) and off
(to H26) a coast road escarpment in this way. Note that an
hex at the normal cost of one movement factor, H24-I25-I26-J27-I27-I28-H28-H29-I30 move is legal, since
but may move no further during the movement entry to I30 is made from a coast road clear terrain hex
portion of that player turn. (H29).

A unit beginning its turn at G22 can move H23-H24-H25-


18.2 Units may leave escarpment hexes at their H26-H27, etc. It entered the coast road escarpment (H23)
normal movement rate. from a hexside intersected by the road, thus the H25/H26 is
the only time it used the non-road hexside move. NOTE:
18.3 Units move through escarpment hexes at technically, the unit did more off H25 and on H26 from non-
road hexsides, but the one hex distance is considered a
the rate of one hex per player turn. The only single move.
AFRIKA KORPS 13

A unit beginning its turn in Tobruch may move H26-I27-J27-


20.1 Starting in March, 1942 both players are
J28 but it may not move H26-I27-J28. The H26/I27 is its
legal non-road hexside move; the I27/J28 would be a second eligible to receive replacement units. These
such move in the same turn, which is not allowed. units have nothing to do with reinforcements
(19) and are taken only from those Units already
19. REINFORCEMENTS eliminated.

19.1 Both players receive reinforcements at 20.2 The Axis player earns replacement units at
specific intervals. Reinforcements are new units the rate of one attack factor per turn for his
and have nothing to do with Replacements (see home base and one attack factor per turn for
20). The Order of Appearance tables printed on Tobruch, providing he controls these hexes at
the mapboard state the earliest time that rein- the beginning of his player turn, for a maximum
forcements can be put into play. These turns of two attack factors per turn.
are noted in bold print on the Time Record Card
as a reminder. 20.3 The Allied player receives two attack fac-
tors per turn for his home base and one attack
19.2 Reinforcements may enter the game at To- factor per turn for Tobruch, provided he controls
bruch, their home base, or both provided they these hexes at the beginning of his player turn,
are controlled by friendly forces at the start of for a maximum of three attack factors per turn.
the player turn. As is the case with the arrival of
supply units there is no movement penalty for 20.4 The rules for putting replacements into play
being placed on board in a controlled port. They are identical to those for reinforcements.
can be moved and used in battle on their turn of
arrival. 20.5 Each side is allowed to accumulate re-
placement factors from turn to turn. A special
19.3 Unlike supply units, reinforcements do not (unshaded) column for each side is provided on
have to land on the first turn they are available. the Time Record Card for this very purpose.
They can be left off-board for arrival during a
later turn. Such units are not considered at sea 20.6 Accumulated replacement factors are not
and are therefore not subject to the restrictions lost even if an opponent gains temporary control
of units using normal sea movement. of Tobruch and/or the home base.

19.4 Arriving reinforcements may be stacked 21. ALLIED SUBSTITUTE COUNTERS


above the three-high limit during their initial
placement on the board providing they do not 21.1 Starting in August, 1942 and all turns there-
exceed that stacking limit at the conclusion of after, the Allied player may exchange substitute
the movement portion of the turn. counters for units presently
on board totaling the same
19.5 Reinforcements (and supply) can be placed number of attack factors as
in Tobruch while under siege. Adjacent units do that of the substitute coun-
not exert a ZOC over a fortress hex, and, there- ters. Armor must be exchanged for armor
fore, do not prevent this. and/or armored infantry; infantry must be ex-
changed for infantry and/or recce units.
19.6 Reinforcements can enter play only during
their own player turn. 21.2 Substitution can occur only at the end of
the Allied player’s movement portion of his play-
19.7 An opponent’s home base cannot be used er turn. The Allied player is not allowed to move
as a source of reinforcements. substitute units during the turn of placement (ex-
cept as a result of combat; i.e. advance or re-
19.8 Reinforcements which are not in play by treat), but he may use them to attack during their
the last October 1942 turn are eliminated. initial turn on the board. Substitution can there-
fore occur in an enemy ZOC. The only require-
20. REPLACEMENTS ment is that all units involved in the substitution
AFRIKA KORPS 14

end the movement portion of their turn in the 22.2 The Rommel unit does not count against
same hex. stacking limits.

21.3 Substitution counters can be broken down 22.3 The Rommel unit has no ZOC and cannot
into component smaller parts of the same type block enemy units in any manner, nor can it cap-
(see 21.1) in much the same manner they are ture supply. Enemy Units can move directly on
formed at the end of the movement portion of top of the Rommel unit if unaccompanied by
their player turn, or during combat resolution. Axis combat units.
Thus, a 4-4-10 unit which must take a three fac-
tor loss due loan exchange result could be re- 22.4 The Rommel unit cannot be attacked, cap-
placed by a 1-1-7 unit. tured or eliminated. If placed in an enemy ZOC
without benefit of an accompanying friendly
21.4 A substitute counter which is breaking combat unit in the same hex, the Rommel unit is
down into its component parts may not generate merely placed with the closest Axis combat unit
units whose combined attack factor is greater at that point in time. If isolated without benefit of
than that of the substitute unit, nor can it gener- an accompanying friendly combat unit, it is like-
ate any unit whose movement factor is greater wise moved to the closest Axis combat unit. If
than that of the substitute unit unless that unit isolated with a friendly combat unit inside the
was used to create the substitute unit originally. same encirclement, Rommel must stay within
Therefore, should a recce unit be used to create the encirclement pending the elimination or relief
a substitute unit special care should be taken to of the combat unit.
record the specific substitute unit which contains
the recce unit. 22.41 The Axis player may not purposefully
move the Rommel Unit into an Allied ZOC with-
21.5 Units on board being converted to a substi- out benefit of accompanying friendly combat unit
tute counter or a substitute counter being con- in the same hex unless there is no alternative
verted back to its component parts may not move or non-move.
stack in such a way as to be above the three-
high maximum combat unit limit either imme- 22.42 In determining “the closest Axis combat
diately before or after the substitution takes unit” in 22.4 the Axis player may not count hexes
place. which can’t be traversed normally or which are
in Allied ZOC unless there is no other way to
21.6 Substitution may not take place at sea, or place Rommel with an Axis Unit. If two Axis
off-board, nor may substitute units be brought combat units are still equidistant from Rommel,
onto the board as replacements. the Axis player may choose which of the two he
wishes to place Rommel with.
21.7 Only those units provided in the game spe-
cifically as substitute counters can be used as 22.5 Rommel may be used to control ports, but
such. For example, the British player could not does not count as a unit to be eliminated for Al-
use an eliminated 2-2-6 unit as a substitute lied victory conditions.
counter for a pair of still functional 1-1-6 coun-
ters. 23. FORTRESSES & SEA MOVEMENT

22. ROMMEL HEADQUARTERS UNIT 23.1 Opposing units may move adjacent to
enemy combat Units in Bengasi and Tobruch
22.1 The Rommel Unit provides any and all without attacking, al-
friendly units a two hex movement bonus pro- though they have the op-
vided it moves with that unit(s) for two tion to do so. If units
hexes. There is no numerical limit to attack into a fortress, they
the number of Axis units which the must attack all units in the fortress, but not all
Rommel unit can help in this manner, units adjacent to the fortress necessarily have to
but it can help each unit only once per turn. attack.
AFRIKA KORPS 15

23.2 Units in fortresses do not have to attack


adjacent enemy combat Units, although they
have option to do so. If units in a fortress attack,
they must attack all adjacent enemy Units.
However, all units in the fortress are not required
to take part in an attack.

23.3 Sea movement in and out of Bengasi is not


allowed.

23.4 Sea movement between Tobruch and each


side’s respective controlled home base is al-
lowed. Sea movement is conducted by moving
the units involved to Tobruch or their home base
and then off the board. In the following friendly EXAMPLE: In the diagram above, neither side is required to
player turn those units may be placed on To- attack. However, red 4-5-6 and 2-2-12 units attack blue 1-1-
bruch or the home base and moved inland. 6 at 6 to 2 (3-1) with blue’s defense factor doubled. Red 1-1-
7 must soakoff against blue 3-3-7, doing so at 1-6. In the 3-
1 attack, a die roll of ”3” calls for blue 1-1-6’s retreat, but
23.41 Units may move in and out of Tobruch by since involuntary movement out to sea is not allowed, blue
sea even when enemy units are adjacent. A unit 1-1-6 is eliminated instead. Red 1-1-7 is eliminated in the
may not move both into and out of Tobruch by soak-off attack. In this instance, the blue supply unit cannot
be captured (15.322).
sea during the same player turn.
In the diagram below, it is now blue’s move so he decides to
23.42 Units cannot remain at sea indefinitely. move his supply unit off the board voluntarily to preclude
capture in the event of a successful red attack against blue
They must return to a port on the turn following
3-3-7 on the next turn. However, to prevent blue 3-3-7’s
initial removal from the board or they are elimi- elimination due to isolation, a supply unit will have to be
nated. A unit which lands at a port may not brought back into the fortress on the second blue turn of
move out to sea again in the same turn. isolation.

23.43 Units can return to the same port they em-


barked from on the previous game turn. They
need not move to another port.

23.44 To use sea movement into a port, you


must control the port at the beginning of your
turn. However, you may move out of a port
without controlling it at the beginning of your
player turn, provided it is not in an enemy ZOC
at the time of embarkation.
24. ISOLATION
23.5 Transfer between Tobruch and the enemy
home base is not allowed. 24.1 A combat unit becomes isolated when it is
unable to trace a line of hexes free of enemy
23.6 Units in a fortress which are surrounded by ZOC, the sea, Qattara Depression, board edge,
a combination of enemy ZOC and the sea are or unplayable hexsides to a friendly supply unit.
subject to isolation (see 24) unless they have a It makes no difference how extended or curved
supply unit present. the supply line is or how far away the supply
unit.
23.7 Units in a fortress which are surrounded by
a combination of enemy ZOC and the sea may 24.2 Any unit that is isolated for two consecutive
not retreat. Such units would be eliminated if friendly player turns both at the beginning and
they suffered a “back 2” result on the Combat end of the player turn is automatically eliminat-
Results Table. ed. Therefore, an isolated unit which advances
into attack position and thereby momentarily
AFRIKA KORPS 16

breaks isolation before being retreated back into 24.3 Units which land at a port are considered to
isolation has not broken isolation because it is be in the same supply status as the port in which
still isolated at the beginning and end of the they are brought onto the board. Such units en-
player’s turn. tering a port which cannot trace a line of supply
to a friendly supply unit share the supply status
of any units already there, whether it be the first
or second turn of isolation.

24.4 Supply lines cannot be traced from one port


to another, or through the sea in any manner.
However, combat units which end their turn at
sea with a supply unit also at sea are considered
supplied, even if the combat unit and the supply
unit put out to sea from different ports. Combat
units at sea without a supply unit also at sea are
considered isolated. Therefore, if a unit is in its
second turn of isolation on the board and then
moves out to sea without a supply unit also at
sea, it is eliminated.
EXAMPLE: 15/33 begins its turn on hex “A” isolated by the
four South African infantry brigades, and moves as shown by 24.5 Any player without supply units on board at
the red line to attack 1SA/3 at 2-1 (supplied by Axis supply
#1). The battle results in an AB2, with 15/33 retreated along the start and end of two consecutive friendly
the black line to hex “B”, thus ending its turn still very much player turns loses all units currently on board,
in isolation. Since 15/33 was isolated both at the beginning and, consequently, the game.
and the end of its turn it is considered isolated for the entire
turn even though it used a supply unit to sustain its attack.

DESIGN CREDITS
THIRD EDITION
Original Research & Design: Charles Ro-
These rules are the third edition (copyright berts
1980) and supersede all earlier versions. Original Development: Thomas N. Shaw
Players are urged to confer as to the exact Third Edition Rewrite: Donald Greenwood
edition of the rules they are using prior to the Rulebook Cover Art: Rodger MacGowan
start of any game (especially those played by Playtesting: Frank Preissle, Bruno Sinigaglio,
mail) so as to avoid misunderstandings later. Dale Garbutt, Alan R. Moon, Donald Burdick
Typesetting: Colonial Composition
Printing: Monarch Services, Inc.

COMBAT RESULTS TABLE


ODDS 1-6 1-5 1-4 1-3 1-2 1-1 2-1 3-1 4-1 5-1 6-1
1 AE AE AB2 AB2 DB2 DE DE DE DE DE DE
2 AE AE AE AB2 EX EX EX EX EX DB2 DB2
DIE ROLL

3 AB2 AB2 AB2 AB2 AB2 DB2 DB2 DB2 DE DE DE


4 AE AB2 AB2 AB2 AB2 AB2 AB2 DB2 DB2 DB2 DE
5 AE AE AE AE AE AE EX EX DB2 DE DE
6 AE AE AE AE AE AE AE DE DE DE DE

AE = A Elim, AB2 = A back 2, EX = Exchange, DB2 = D back 2, and DE = D Elim

You might also like