IF1 - Practice Problems
IF1 - Practice Problems
Economics
ACCT 3201
Intermediate Financial Accounting 1
Kieso, D. E., Weygandt, J. J., Warfield, T. D., Wiecek, I. M., & McConomy, B. J. (2022).
Intermediate accounting (13th Cdn. ed., Vol. 1). Toronto ON: John Wiley & Sons.
ACCT 3201 Solutions to practices questions Chapters 1 to 6
CHAPTER 1
BRIEF EXERCISE 1-1
Accounting has the responsibility of measuring company performance accurately and fairly on a timely
basis. This enables investors and creditors to assess the relative risks and returns of investment
opportunities and channel resources more effectively. If a company’s financial performance is measured
accurately, fairly, and on a timely basis, the right managers and companies are able to attract investment
capital. Unreliable and irrelevant information leads to poor capital allocation, which adversely affects the
securities market and ultimately the performance of the economy as a whole.
LO 1 BT: C Difficulty: M Time: 5 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
Some stakeholders using financial accounting information and financial statements include:
Investors – These stakeholders are interested in the performance of their investment in the company.
They will use the financial statements to evaluate management stewardship and effectiveness.
Creditors – These stakeholders are interested in evaluating the company to decide whether to lend it
money. They use the statements to evaluate the risk that will be taken in making the loan. For example,
lenders want to know whether the company will be able to repay its loans when due and service both
interest and principal on a timely basis.
Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) – This stakeholder establishes the rules for measuring taxable income.
It is interested in the fair measurement of the financial position and financial performance of the company
so that the appropriate amount of tax will be paid. The financial statement’s net income is the starting
point in preparing tax returns. Net income for accounting purposes is adjusted to arrive at net income for
tax purposes, which is used to calculate the amount of tax payable. The CRA is principally interested in
compliance with the Income Tax Act.
Financial Analysts – These stakeholders provide investment advice to their clients. They are interested in
evaluating the investment opportunities and potential of various companies.
Note: This is only a suggested list of stakeholders and their possible uses of the financial accounting
information. There are many other stakeholders as discussed in the chapter that would be acceptable
answers to this question.
Different stakeholders make different decisions that require different information. For example, lenders
want to know whether the company will be able to repay its loans but the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA)
wants to know the amount of taxes that should be paid for the current year. Much of the information that
the lenders would request, such as who are the company’s major customers and the amounts they owe
the company, would be of no interest to the CRA for income tax purposes yet may be of relevance in a
GST/HST review.
LO 1 BT: C Difficulty: M Time: 20 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
Note the emphasis on resource (or capital) allocation decisions, which requires a focus on the statement
of financial position. The assessment of management stewardship is also important since users need to
know whether management is doing their job to maximize shareholder value (which is also called fiduciary
duty). As a general rule, it is assumed that management stewardship is already taken into account in the
resource allocation decision.
LO 1 BT: K Difficulty: M Time: 10 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
Information asymmetry exists when one stakeholder in the financial reporting process has more or different
information than another. For example, management generally has more information about the company
than external investors or creditors. While it is neither practical nor optimal for perfect information
symmetry to exist, financial reporting serves the role of ensuring that relevant information is properly
communicated to external parties such as investors, and others.
LO 1 BT: C Difficulty: M Time: 5 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
BRIEF EXERCISE 1-5
Where information asymmetry exists, there is a risk that the party with the additional information will act in
its own self-interest to the detriment of the other party and/or the capital market in general. For instance,
management might withhold negative information about the company for fear that it will hurt the manager’s
bonus. This would not be optimal for external parties such as creditors and investors who may need that
information before they invest or lend the company money. The risk that the party with the additional
information may act in its own self-interest is known as moral hazard. If people understand that this
behaviour is tolerated in the marketplace, the marketplace may attract people and companies that accept
and tolerate this behaviour (known as adverse selection). This will degrade the capital marketplace as
there will be less transparency and information sharing and thus suboptimal capital allocation.
LO 1 BT: C Difficulty: M Time: 10 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
A common set of standards applied by all businesses and entities provides financial statements which are
reasonably comparable. Without a common set of standards, each enterprise could, and would, develop
its own theory structure and set of financial reporting practices, resulting in a lack of comparability among
enterprises.
LO 2 BT: C Difficulty: M Time: 5 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
LO 1 BT: C Difficulty: M Time: 5 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
Accounting was affected and changed between 1900 and 1930 by the growth of the corporate form of
enterprise, the growing separation of management from ownership, the imposition of tax on business and
individual income, and the stock market crash (attributed in part to lax accounting standards and
oversight), and the subsequent great depression.
LO 2 BT: C Difficulty: M Time: 5 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
The International Accounting Standards Board (IASB) is the dominant standard setting body in the world
in 126 jurisdictions, including all of the G20 jurisdictions. Thousands of companies throughout the world
will use either the full IFRS or the version for small and medium size enterprises.
According to the IFRS web site: “Our mission is to bring transparency, accountability and efficiency to
financial markets around the world by developing IFRS Standards. Our work serves the public interest by
fostering trust, growth and long-term financial stability in the global economy.”
See: www.ifrs.org for further details.
LO 2 BT: C Difficulty: M Time: 10 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
The Accounting Standards Board (AcSB) of Canada has primary responsibility for setting GAAP in
Canada. This is accomplished through a lengthy and complex process. Two basic premises underlie the
process of establishing financial accounting standards: (1) the AcSB should respond to the needs and
viewpoints of the entire economic community, not just the public accounting profession, and (2) it should
operate in full public view through a “due process” system that gives interested persons enough
opportunity to make their views known. The Accounting Standards Oversight Council (AcSOC) oversees
AcSB activities: its activities include setting the agenda and reporting to the public, among other things.
The AcSB is responsible for setting standards for non-publicly accountable private enterprises (ASPE),
not-for-profit entities, and pension plans only. Standards for publicly accountable entities are set by the
International Accounting Standards Board (IASB). It is important to note that non-publicly accountable
entities also have the option to use IFRS.
LO 2 BT: C Difficulty: M Time: 15 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
The Provincial Securities Commissions (including the Ontario Securities Commission) collectively are one
of the stakeholders in standard-setting. Standard-setting is the responsibility of the Accounting Standards
Board (AcSB) (for ASPE) and the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB) (for IFRS). The
Accounting Standards Oversight Council (AcSOC) sets the strategic direction and priorities of the AcSB.
AcSOC membership consists of regulators and representatives of the financial analyst communities,
amongst others.
The OSC issues its own disclosure requirements. These additional requirements are applicable only to
companies registered with the OSC.
LO 2 BT: C Difficulty: S Time: 10 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
One of the functions of the Ontario Securities Commission (OSC) and the Securities and Exchange
Commission (SEC) is to represent and protect the interests of investors. They do not represent the
interests of different users of financial information. Since the early 1970s CPA Canada and its predecessor
CICA had the sole legislative and regulatory authority to set national private sector accounting standards
in Canada. It delegates this to the AcSB. Starting in 2011, the AcSB is responsible for ASPE and the IASB
is responsible for IFRS. This ensures that accounting standards have a high degree of acceptance from
its broad community of constituents.
LO 2 BT: C Difficulty: M Time: 10 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
The sources of pressure are innumerable, but the most intense and continuous pressure to change or
influence accounting principles or standards comes from individual companies, industry associations,
governmental agencies, securities commissions, practicing accountants, academicians, professional
accounting organizations, and public opinion. As we move towards international harmonization, the U.S.
accounting standards will have a continuing influence on IFRS due to the significant capital pool and flows
associated with U.S. markets.
LO 2 BT: C Difficulty: M Time: 10 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
The users of financial information from public companies have different needs than the users of financial
information from private companies. Public corporations need the opportunity to present financial
information using consistent accounting rules as those used globally. To accomplish this, public
companies need to follow the International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS). Doing so helps
Canadian companies compete in a global market. Following this set of policies and standards is not
essential to privately owned businesses who may have less complex business models and/or fewer
financial statement users, who do not expect as extensive measurement and disclosure requirements as
those required under IFRS.
LO 3 BT: C Difficulty: M Time: 10 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
No one particular proposal is expected in answer to this question. The students’ proposals, however,
should be defensible relative to the following criteria:
1. The method must be efficient, responsive, and expeditious.
2. The method must be free of bias and be above or insulated from pressure groups.
3. The method must have legislative authority or otherwise command widespread support.
4. The method must produce sound yet practicable accounting principles or standards.
The students’ proposals might take the form of alterations of the existing methodology, an accounting
court, or governmental device.
LO 3 BT: C Difficulty: M Time: 15 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
The explanation should note that generally accepted accounting principles have “substantial authoritative
support.” They consist of accounting practices, procedures, theories, and broad principles and
conventions of general application, including underlying concepts and methods, which are recognized by
a large majority of practicing accountants as well as other members of the business and financial
community. GAAP is divided into primary and other sources. Primary sources must be looked to first for
how to treat an issue. Where primary sources do not deal with the issue, the accounting policy selected
must be consistent with the primary sources as well as developed through use of professional judgement
in accordance with the conceptual framework.
LO 3 BT: C Difficulty: M Time: 10 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
Primary sources of GAAP are the core standards. Where these standards do not cover the accounting in
question, then other sources are looked to. Judgment must be applied in looking at these other sources
to ensure that they are appropriate and relevant.
For public companies or private companies choosing to follow IFRS, GAAP incorporates IFRS, IAS, and
Interpretations. Some IFRS and IAS are accompanied by guidance. The guidance will note whether it is
an integral part of the IFRS or IAS or not. Other sources include pronouncements of other standard setting
bodies, other accounting literature and accepted industry practices. The entity may also look at IFRS for
similar or related transactions.
For private companies following ASPE, primary sources of GAAP include (in descending order of
authority) the CPA Canada Handbook sections 1400 to 3870 including Appendices and Accounting
Guidelines including Appendices. Other sources include Background information and Basis for
conclusions documents, pronouncements from other standard setting bodies including IFRS and other
sources such as accounting text books, journals and articles. ASPE specifically labels the sources as
being primary sources or other sources.
An entity should apply every primary source of GAAP that deals with the accounting and reporting of
transactions encountered by an entity. This means that primary sources must be looked to first.
Where primary sources do not deal with a specific issue, the entity should use judgment in looking to the
other sources and then adopt accounting policies that are consistent with the primary sources as well as
the Conceptual Framework.
LO 3 BT: C Difficulty: M Time: 20 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
The chair of the FASB was indicating that too much attention is put on the bottom line and not enough on
the development of quality products. Managers should be less concerned with short-term results and be
more concerned with the long-term results. In addition, short-term tax benefits often lead to long-term
problems.
The second part of his comment relates to accountants being overly concerned with following a set of
rules, so that if litigation ensues, they will be able to argue that they followed the rules exactly. The problem
with this approach is that accountants often seem to want more and more rules with less reliance on
professional judgement. Less professional judgement leads to inappropriate use of accounting
procedures in difficult situations.
In the accountants’ defense, recent legal decisions have imposed vast new liability on accountants. The
concept of accountant’s liability that has emerged in these cases is broad and expansive; the number of
classes of people to whom the accountant is held responsible is almost limitless.
LO 3 BT: C Difficulty: M Time: 15 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
”Economic consequences” means the impact of accounting reports on the wealth positions of issuers and
users of financial information and the decision-making behaviour resulting from that impact. In other
words, accounting information impacts various users in many different ways, which leads to wealth
transfers among these various groups.
If politics plays too much of a role in the development of accounting standards, standards could become
subject to manipulation for the purpose of furthering whatever policy prevails at the moment. No matter
how well intentioned the standard setters may be, if information is designed to indicate that investing in a
particular enterprise or industry involves less risk than it actually does, or is designed to encourage
investment in a particular segment of the economy, financial reporting will suffer an irreplaceable loss of
credibility.
LO 4 BT: C Difficulty: M Time: 10 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
BRIEF EXERCISE 1-20
Principles-based standards are considered to be based on a conceptual framework and the accounting
principles that result may require significant professional judgement in interpreting and applying the
standards to ensure compliance. Rules-based standards are generally quite detailed, and in many
instances follow a “check-box” mentality that some contend may shield accountants, auditors and
companies from legal liability. IFRS and ASPE tend to follow the principles-based standard-setting system,
while U.S. GAAP is generally considered more rules-based (even though it is based on principles). This
is because it is more prescriptive and detail-oriented.
LO 4 BT: C Difficulty: M Time: 10 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
Concern exists about fraudulent financial reporting because it can undermine the entire financial reporting
process. Failure to provide information to users that is accurate can lead to inappropriate allocations of
resources in our economy. In addition, failure to detect massive fraud can lead to additional governmental
oversight of the accounting profession and financial reporting more generally.
Even though GAAP (including IFRS and ASPE) provides structured information that is relevant and
represents underlying business transactions and events, it may be manipulated. This is because the
various stakeholders in the process often act in their own self-interest. For instance, members of
management may seek to optimize their own bonus or the value of their stock options.
LO 4 BT: C Difficulty: M Time: 10 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
LO 4 BT: C Difficulty: M Time: 10 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
Some major challenges facing the accounting profession relate to the following items:
Credibility – how to regain public confidence in the aftermath of corporate fraud and poor reporting
practices.
Globalization of companies and capital markets – Canadian companies are operating and trading
securities in global markets and are subject to accounting regulations in other jurisdictions.
Canadian investors are investing in the global marketplace.
Non-financial measurement – how to report significant key performance indicators such as
customer satisfaction indexes, backlog information and reject rates on goods purchased.
Soft assets – how to measure and report intangible assets, such as market know-how, intellectual
capital, market dominance, and well-trained employees.
Timeliness – how to report more reliable real-time information in the Internet age.
LO 4 BT: C Difficulty: M Time: 20 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
BRIEF EXERCISE 1-25
The following are some of the key provisions of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act (SOX), enacted in 2002:
• Establishes an oversight board for accounting practices. The Public Company Accounting Oversight
Board (PCAOB) has oversight and enforcement authority and establishes auditing, quality control,
and independence standards and rules for auditors.
• Implements stronger independence rules for auditors. Audit partners, for example, are required to
rotate every five years and auditors are prohibited from offering certain types of consulting services
to corporate clients.
• Requires CEOs and CFOs to personally certify that financial statements and disclosures are
accurate and complete and requires CEOs and CFOs to forfeit bonuses and profit sharing when
there is an accounting restatement.
• Company management must report on the effectiveness of the financial reporting internal control
system and the auditors must assess and report on these internal controls.
• Requires audit committees of Boards of Directors to be comprised of independent members and
members with financial expertise.
• Companies must disclose whether they have a code of ethics for their senior financial officers.
In Canada, many of the SOX requirements have been put in place, in part by pronouncements by
Canadian securities administrators such as the OSC.
LO 4 BT: C Difficulty: M Time: 20 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001, cpa-t004 CM: Reporting and Audit
CHAPTER 2
BRIEF EXERCISE 2.1
LO 2 BT: K Difficulty: S Time: 15 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
BRIEF EXERCISE 2.2
a. Verifiability
b. Comparability
c. Timeliness
d. Comparability (knowledge of this fact enables better comparison over time).
e. Representational faithfulness (Neutrality)
f. Representational faithfulness (Completeness)
g. Representational faithfulness (Freedom from material error)
LO 2 BT: K Difficulty: S Time: 10 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
BRIEF EXERCISE 2.11
a. A corporate fleet of cars for senior management is an asset: the cars are tangible economic resources.
The cars have been acquired through a past transaction. Additionally, the cars are present economic
resources that produce cash inflows in conjunction with other economic resources – the cars are used
by senior management to generate cash flows for the company. By virtue of its ownership, the
company has control over the resources.
b. A franchise licence to operate a Tim Hortons store is an asset: the licence is an intangible economic
resource. It can be sold or used to generate revenues (subject to contractual terms) and related cash
flows. The agreement grants exclusive ownership and access to the franchisee. Additionally, the
contractual rights provide a present economic resource that is not contingent on a future event.
c. Customized manufacturing machinery that can only be used for one product line and for which there
is a small and limited customer market is an asset: the machine is a tangible economic resource. The
fact that it is of limited use or applicability will factor in its measurement or valuation – this does not
affect its recognition as an asset. It is capable of providing future economic benefit through its use
by the manufacturing company that owns and controls it.
d. The guarantee is a present resource that allows the subsidiary access to capital on a reduced cost
basis and resulted from a past transaction or event. The benefit of having the parent company’s
unconditional promise to pay is reflected through a lower interest rate from the bank. However,
assuming the guarantee came at no cost to the subsidiary, in this case, it is not recognized as an
asset.
e. If the spring water is freely available to all, it is not a specific asset to FreshWater Inc. Although the
water has value, it does not have economic value for purposes of the accounting definition as
FreshWater Inc. does not legally own or control the spring and cannot restrict others’ access to it.
f. If Mountain Ski makes the snow on their own slopes, it can be considered their asset – the value may
be short-lived however and the associated costs would generally be expensed when incurred. The
snow is controlled by Mountain Ski only to the extent it falls on their property (which they have control
over). Snow that falls naturally onto the land owned by Mountain Ski would be valued at $0 since it
literally fell from the sky at no cost.
LO 3 BT: C Difficulty: M Time: 20 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 2.2
a. Feedback value.
b. It is generally the role of professional judgement to identify
and balance trade-offs between fundamental qualitative
characteristics and enhancing qualitative characteristics.
These include: between relevance and representational
faithfulness; between relevance and verifiability; between
relevance and comparability; between relevance and
timeliness; between relevance and understandability. Note
that the fundamental qualitative characteristics have
precedence over the enhancing characteristics.
Constraint: Cost/Benefit
Note – other examples are also acceptable
c. Neutrality.
d. Not acceptable – in many cases, this goes against
representational faithfulness. We should consider the
substance of a transaction as well as its legal form with
substance over form taking precedence
e. Neutrality.
f. Understandability.
g. Timeliness.
h. Relevance.
i. Comparability.
j. Verifiability.
k. Freedom from material error or completeness.
LO 2,5 BT: C Difficulty: M Time: 20 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 2.8
1. Monetary unit
2. Full disclosure
3. Historical cost and matching
4. Going concern
5. Fair value
6. Historical cost
7. Full disclosure
8. Revenue recognition and realization
9. Full disclosure
10. Full disclosure
11. Economic entity and control
12. Periodicity
13. Matching/fair value
14. Historical cost
15. Matching
LO 4 BT: K Difficulty: M Time: 20 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 2.12
a. A conceptual framework is useful for standard setters since having an established body of concepts
and objectives helps them to develop additional useful and consistent standards. This results in a
coherent set of standards that are built upon the same foundation. An understanding of the underlying
concepts helps the preparer and the auditor ensure consistent and meaningful application of the
principles. Such a framework also increases the financial statement user’s understanding of, and
provides confidence in, financial reporting. It also enhances comparability of different companies’
financial statements.
(Note that other principles/characteristics may also be discussed. There is rarely a single right and
wrong answer to these types of questions.)
LO 1,2,4 BT: C Difficulty: M Time: 25 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
CHAPTER 3
EXERCISE 3.4
a.
1. Using a financial calculator:
PV $ 100,000
I ?% Yields 11.0 %
N 2
PMT 0
FV $ (123,210)
Type 0
Result: 11%
b. 1.Using a financial calculator:
PV ? Yields $ 97,394.69
I 11%
N 2
PMT 0
FV $(120,000.00)
Type 0
LO 4 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 20 min. AACSB: None CPA: CPA: cpa-t001 cpa-t005 CM: Reporting and Finance
EXERCISE 3.7
a. Time diagram:
Viavélo Inc.
PV =? i = 5%
PV–OA =? Principal
$2,000,000 interest
0 1 2 3 26 27 28
n = 28
c. There are no measurement uncertainties for this bond liability that would require disclosure in
Viavélo’s financial statement notes. The amount and timing of cash flows are fixed along with the
rate of interest as stated in the bond agreement.
LO 4 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 20 min. AACSB: None CPA: CPA: cpa-t001 cpa-t005 CM: Reporting and Finance
EXERCISE 3.10
Estimated
Cash Probability Expected
Outflow X Assessment = Cash Flow
$200 10% $ 20
450 30% 135
600 50% 300
750 10% 75 $
530
LO 2,4 BT: AP Difficulty: S Time: 15 min. AACSB: None CPA: CPA: cpa-t001 cpa-t005 CM: Reporting and Finance
CHAPTER 4
BRIEF EXERCISE 4.16
a.
Sierra Corporation
Income Statement
For the Year Ended December 31, 2023
LO 5,7 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 20 min. AACSB: Analytic CPA: CPA: cpa-t001 cpa-t005 CM: Reporting and Finance
BRIEF EXERCISE 4.17
Note: Earnings per share information related to comprehensive income is not required under
IFRS.
LO 5,7 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 20 min. AACSB: Analytic CPA: CPA: cpa-t001 cpa-t005 CM: Reporting and Finance
Parfait Limited
Statement of Changes in Shareholders’ Equity
For the Year Ended December 31, 2023
Accumulated
Other
Common Retained Comprehensive
Shares Earnings Income Total
Beginning balance $600,000 $900,000 $250,000 $1,750,000
Comprehensive income
Net income1 50,000 50,000
Other comprehensive Income 60,000 60,000
Dividends _______ (300,000) _______ (300,000)
1
($900,000 – $750,000 – $100,000).
LO 6 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 20 min. AACSB: None CPA: CPA: cpa-t001 Reportin
EXERCISE 4.2
1
$55,000 + ($126,000 - $110,000)
c. Accumulated other comprehensive income (AOCI) had a balance of $129,000 ($74,000 +
$55,000) at January 1, 2023. Prior to the transfer to Retained Earnings, the balance in AOCI at
December 31, 2023 is $74,000 which relates to revaluation surplus (land). This amount represents
the cumulative revaluation gains/(losses) related to the piece of land accounted for under the
revaluation model. Under the revaluation model, revaluation gains are recorded as revaluation
surplus (OCI) and accumulated in AOCI until the asset is retired or disposed of. Pike sold the
piece of land in 2023 when the carrying amount of the land was $216,000. The balance in AOCI
related to previous revaluations of the land to fair value using the revaluation method is not
recycled or reclassified to income. Rather, the balance is transferred to Retained Earnings
directly.
$55,000 of the opening AOCI balance was related to cumulative unrealized gains/(losses)
related to the measurement of debt investments at fair value through OCI (FV-OCI). Pike sold
the related FV-OCI debt investments in 2023, and upon sale, Pike would have captured any
unrealized gain for the year to date ($126,000 - $110,000) in OCI, and transferred (recycled)
the cumulative unrealized gains/(losses) from OCI [$55,000 + ($126,000 - $110,000)] to net
income (according to company policy).
d. Under ASPE, other comprehensive income is not recognized. The revaluation model is not
permitted under ASPE. Investments that are traded in an active market are accounted for as
FV-NI under ASPE.
Calculation of net income:
1
($216,000 - $142,000)
2
$33,000 + ($126,000 - $110,000)
Note: under ASPE, retained earnings at January 1, 2023 would be $465,000 ($410,000 + $55,000),
because all investments designated as FV-OCI under IFRS would be accounted for as FV-NI under
ASPE. Under ASPE, no OCI exists and investments traded in an active market are accounted for
as FV-NI. Therefore, all previously recognized unrealized gains/(losses) on those investments
($55,000) would have been recorded in net income and closed to retained earnings in previous
years.
e. The sum of the AOCI and Retained Earnings under IFRS equal the balance of Retained Earnings
under ASPE as follows:
IFRS ASPE
Retained Retained
AOCI Earnings Earnings
LO 3,8 BT: AP Difficulty: C Time: 50 min. AACSB: None CPA: CPA: cpa-t001 Reporting
EXERCISE 4.8
a. Multiple-Step Form
Flett Tire Repair Corporation
Income Statement
For the Year Ended December 31, 2023
Sales Revenue
Sales revenue $930,000
Less: Sales returns and allowances 15,000
Net sales revenue 915,000
Operating Expenses
Service expenses
Service salaries and wages 71,000
Depreciation expense—garage
equipment 18,000
Garage supplies expense 9,000 98,000
Administrative expenses
Administrative salaries and
wages
39,000
Depreciation expense—building 28,500
Office supplies expense 9,500 77,000 175,000
Income from operations 153,000
b.
Rainy Day Umbrella Corporation
Statement of Financial Position (Partial)
December 31, 2023
(all amounts in thousands)
Share capital:
Preferred shares $ 3,375
Common shares 9,188
Total share capital 12,563
Contributed surplus 3,744
Total paid-in capital 16,307
Retained earnings 30,310
Accumulated other comprehensive income 3,153
Total shareholders’ equity $49,770
LO 6 BT: AP Difficulty: S Time: 20 min. AACSB: None CPA: CPA: cpa-t001 Reporting
EXERCISE 4.18
Net income:
Income from continuing operations
before tax $23,650,000
Income tax expense (30%) 7,095,000
Income from continuing operations 16,555,000
Discontinued operations
Loss before tax $3,225,000
Less income tax recovery 967,500 2,257,500
Net income $14,297,500
1
($16,555,000 – $1,075,000) ÷ 3,900,000.
2
$2,257,500 ÷ 3,900,000.
3
($14,297,500 – $1,075,000) ÷ 3,900,000.
LO 7 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 20 min. AACSB: Analytic CPA: CPA: cpa-t001 cpa-t005 CM: Reporting and Finance
CHAPTER 5
EXERCISE 5.2
a. 8 l. 6
b. 4 m. 1
c. 6 n. 7
d. 6 o. 3
e. 3 p. 2
f. 1 q. 1
g. 6 r. 1
h. 6 s. 6
i. 1 t. 6
j. 1 u. 11
k. 7 v. 10
LO 3 BT: K Difficulty: S Time: 20 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 5.3
Financial
Classification Monetary Instrument
a. 1.
b. 2. X
c. 6.
d. 1.
e. 7.
f. 4.
g. X X
1.
h. 6. X **
i. 1. X X
j. 6. X X
k. 1.*
l. 3.
m. 2. X X
n. 6. X X
o. X.
p. 3.
q. 11.
r. 6. X X
s. 5.
* Under IFRS, a non-current asset would typically be reclassified as a current asset when it meets
the criteria to be classified as held for sale.
** Financial instruments are contracts between two or more parties that create a financial asset for
one party and financial liability or equity instrument for the other. Therefore, non-contractual items
such as taxes payable and HST payable are not financial instruments.
LO 3 BT: K Difficulty: S Time: 20 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 5.4
a.
Bruno Corp.
Statement of Financial Position
December 31, 2023
Assets
Current assets
Cash $ 290,000
FV - NI Investments 120,000
Accounts receivable $357,000
Less allowance for expected credit losses 17,000 340,000
Inventory, at lower of cost and net realizable value 401,000
Prepaid expenses 12,000
Total current assets 1,163,000
Long-term investments
Land held for future use 175,000
Investment in bonds to collect cash flows 90,000 265,000
Property, plant, and equipment
Buildings $730,000
Less accumulated
depreciation—buildings
160,000 570,000
Equipment 265,000
Less accumulated
105,000 160,000 730,000
depreciation—equipment
Goodwill 80,000
Total assets $2,238,000
Long-term debt
Bonds payable $553,000
Pension obligation 82,000 635,000
Total liabilities 1,034,000
Shareholders’ equity
Common shares, unlimited authorized
issued 290,000 shares 290,000
Contributed surplus 180,000
Retained earnings* 734,000
Total shareholders’ equity 1,204,000
Total liabilities and shareholders’ equity $2,238,000
*b . The bank overdraft is classified as a current liability, as there is no legal right to offset the
bank overdraft against the positive cash balance. The bank accounts are at different banks.
Had the bank overdraft been offset (netted) against the cash balance as originally prepared
by the bookkeeper, there would have been no effect on working capital. The net amount of
current assets, less current liabilities would not change in absolute amount.
However, the classification change does affect the current ratio (current assets / current
liabilities):
Those who prepared the statement of financial position likely did not do the misclassification
of the bank overdraft on purpose. The bank account in overdraft is likely one of several bank
accounts used by Bruno Corp. This particular account happens to fall in a temporary
overdraft position, as allowed by the bank, as of the fiscal year end of the business.
LO 3,4,11 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 40 min. AACSB: Ethics CPA: cpa-t001 cpa-e0001 CM: Reporting and Ethics
EXERCISE 5.5
a.
Garfield Corp.
Statement of Financial Position
As at July 31, 2023
Assets
Current assets
Cash $ 66,000*
Accounts receivable $ 46,700**
Less allowance for expected credit
losses
3,500 43,200
Inventory 65,300***
Total current assets 174,500
Long-term investments
Bond sinking fund investment 12,000
Intangible assets
Patents, net of accumulated amortization 21,000
Total assets $291,500
Shareholders’ equity
Common shares 105,000
Retained earnings 50,500 __155,500
Total liabilities and shareholders’ equity $291,500
* ($69,000 – $12,000 + $9,000) *** ($60,000 + $5,300)
** ($52,000 – $5,300) ****($44,000 + $8,000)
EXERCISE 5.5 (CONTINUED)
*b. Since there is no legal right to offset the credit balances in accounts receivable against any
other amounts owing from customers, these balances need to be classified as a current liability,
unless the amounts are deemed to be immaterial. Had the credit balances in accounts
receivable been offset (netted) against other debit balances as originally presented, there would
have been no effect on working capital. The net amount of current assets, less current liabilities
would not change in absolute amount.
However, the classification change does affect the current ratio (current assets / current
liabilities) as demonstrated below:
The credit balances in accounts receivable represent amounts owing to specific customers.
Following are possible conditions or situations that would give rise to a credit balance in
accounts receivable:
1. Customers have returned goods after paying for a shipment and credit memorandums
for the sales returns have been applied subsequent to collection on account.
LO 3,4,11 BT: AN Difficulty: M Time: 40 min. AACSB: Analytic CPA: cpa-t001 cpa-t005 CM: Reporting and Finance
EXERCISE 5.11
a.
Uddin Corp.
Statement of Financial Position
December 31, 2023
Assets
Current assets $1,380,500a
FV – OCI Investments 20,500
Property, plant, and equipment
Land $ 30,000
Buildings ($1,120,000 + $31,000) $1,151,000
Less accumulated depreciation
($130,000 + $4,000) (134,000) 1,017,000
Equipment ($320,000 – $20,000) 300,000
Less accumulated depreciation
($11,000 – $8,000 + $9,000) (12,000) 288,000
Total 1,335,000
Intangible assets
Patents, net ($40,000 – $3,000) 37,000
a
The amount determined for current assets is calculated last and
is a derived or “plug” figure. That is, total liabilities,
shareholders’ equity and other asset balances are calculated
because information is available to determine these amounts.
PROBLEM 5.3
a.
Eastwood Inc.
Statement of Financial Position
December 31, 2023
Assets
Current assets
Cash $ 41,000
Accounts receivable $163,500
Less allowance for expected credit
losses 154,800
8,700
Inventory—at lower of FIFO cost and 208,500
NRV
Prepaid insurance 5,900
Total current assets $ 410,200
Long-term investments
FV – OCI investments, of which investments carried
at $120,000 have been pledged as security for
notes payable to the bank 378,000
Intangible assets
Patents 40,000
Less accumulated amortization 4,000 36,000
Total assets $1,193,200
Long-term liabilities
7% bonds payable, $200,000, due January 1, 2035 180,000
Total liabilities 471,200
Shareholders’ equity
Capital shares
Common shares; unlimited shares authorized,
500,000 shares issued and outstanding 500,000
Retained earnings 138,000
Accumulated other comprehensive income 84,000* 722,000
Total liabilities and shareholders’ equity $1,193,200
* Opening balance of $45,000 + $39,000 ($378,000 – $339,000) for unrealized holding gain – OCI on FV-OCI investments.
b. If the Construction in Process account represents the costs of construction of a building for resale,
the account is an inventory account, and a current asset. However, the Construction in Process
account in Eastwood’s trial balance represents the costs of construction of a building for use by
Eastwood, which is a property, plant, and equipment account, and a long-term asset. Incorrect
classification of the Construction in Process account as an inventory account would overstate current
assets, which is a measure that a potential creditor would use in evaluating Eastwood’s liquidity.
Incorrect classification of accounts presents biased and misleading information on the statement of
financial position. Proper classification of accounts is necessary in presenting a statement of
financial position that is useful and faithfully representative.
LO 4,6 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 45 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
PROBLEM 5.9
a.
Sargent Corporation
Statement of Financial Position
December 31, 2023
Assets
Current assets
Cash $ 190,000
FV - NI investments 80,000
Accounts receivable $170,000
Less allowance for expected credit losses 10,000 160,000
Inventory, at lower of FIFO cost and
net realizable value 180,000
Total current assets $ 610,000
Long-term investments
FV – OCI investments 155,000
Bond sinking fund 250,000
Note receivable from related company due 2029 40,000
Land held for future use 270,000 715,000
Intangible assets
Patents (net of accumulated amortization) 115,000
Franchise (net of accumulated amortization) 265,000 380,000
Total assets $3,155,000
Long-term liabilities
Notes payable $ 120,000
7% bonds payable, due 2031 960,000 1,080,000
Total liabilities 1,385,000
Shareholders’ equity
Capital shares
Preferred shares; 200,000 shares
authorized, 70,000 issued $ 450,000
Common shares; unlimited
authorized, 100,000 issued 1,000,000 1,450,000
Retained earnings 290,000
Accumulated other comprehensive income 30,000
Total shareholders’ equity 1,770,000
Total liabilities and shareholders’ equity $3,155,000
b. The main purposes of the statement of financial position are to provide information about the assets,
liabilities and shareholders’ equity, to allow the reader to assess how well the business is using its
assets to earn a return, and to evaluate the business’ capital structure. The details are intended to
provide all of the necessary information to assess business risk and future cash flows, and are lost
in the condensed presentation, especially if items are offset. It would be difficult with the condensed
format to analyze the company’s liquidity, solvency and financial flexibility. The final goal is to
analyze profitability and return on investment, when relating the income statement to the level of
investment outlined in the statement of financial position.
LO 2,3,4 BT: AP Difficulty: C Time: 45 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
PROBLEM 5.10
1. An allowance for expected credit losses for the accounts receivable is not indicated, and there is no
indication that the amount presented is “net”.
2. The basis for the valuation and the method of pricing of inventory are not indicated, and it is not
indicated that inventory is reported at the lower of cost and net realizable value, as required by IFRS.
3. An investment in a subsidiary company is not an investment ordinarily held to be sold within one
year or the operating cycle. As such, this account should not be classified as a current asset, but
rather should be included under the heading “Long-term investments”. If this is an investment in the
common shares of the subsidiary (as opposed to an advance) it would be eliminated in consolidation,
as all subsidiaries are consolidated under IFRS.
4. Investments in shares listed under investments should be described as to the measurement model
used to account for these investments, for instance, “FV-NI” or “FV-OCI” depending on the nature
of the investments and accounting policy choice.
5. Buildings and land should be segregated. The term “reserve for” should be replaced by
“accumulated” and the accumulated depreciation should be shown as a subtraction from the
Buildings account only.
6. Investment in bonds to be held to maturity would be more appropriately shown under the heading of
"Investments" and should be shown at “amortized cost”.
8. Customers' Accounts with Credit Balances is an immaterial amount. As such, this account need not
be shown separately. The $1 credit could readily be netted against Accounts receivable, or grouped
with Accounts payable without any material misstatement.
9. Bonds Payable are inadequately disclosed. The interest rate, interest payment dates, and maturity
date should be indicated.
10. Additional disclosure relative to the Common Shares account is needed. This disclosure should
include the number of shares authorized and issued.
12. Cash Dividends Declared should be disclosed on the statement of changes in equity under the
section for retained earnings as a reduction of retained earnings. Dividends Payable, in the amount
of $8,000, should be shown on the statement of financial position among the current liabilities,
assuming payment has not occurred.
13. Grand totals should have captions for “Total Assets” and “Total Liabilities and Shareholders’ Equity”.
14. Shareholders’ equity may need to show “Accumulated Other Comprehensive Income” since the
company has investments and would have unrealized gains and losses to disclose if they are using
the Fair Value through OCI model.
LO 4,5 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 30 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
CHAPTER 6
EXERCISE 6.7
2. Grupo would recognize revenue of $800,000 at the point of sale. The point of sale will occur
when the goods reach their destination.
3. Grupo would recognize revenue of $464,000 at the point of sale. Interest revenue of $36,000
will be earned over the next 2 years using the effective interest method.
4. Grupo would record the sales revenue at the point of sale at the amount of $45,000, which is
the fair value of the merchandise sold. This amount is the best estimate since Grupo is unable
to determine the market value of the common shares obtained in the exchange (since the
shares are shares of a private company).
LO 5 BT: C Difficulty: S Time: 15 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 6.16
a.
Steps Analysis
Step 1: Identify the Both parties have agreed to enter into a
contract with contract. The quantity, price, and
customers. payment terms have been agreed to and
each party’s rights under the contract are
clear. The contract has commercial
substance. There are no indications of
any concerns regarding collectibility.
a. (Continued)
Schedule 1
Stand-
Alone
(SA) % of Total Allocation
Performance Selling SA Selling Contract of Contract
obligation Price Price Price Price
Deliver goods $370,000 90.24% X $400,000 $360,960
Installation 40,000 9.76% X $400,000 39,040
$410,000 100 % $400,000
b.
Jan. 2, 2023
No entry – neither party has performed under the contract.
March 1, 2023
Cash ............................................................... 270,000
Accounts Receivable ....................................... 90,960
Sales Revenue ......................................... 360,960
To record sales
The sale of the goods is recognized once delivered. The installation fee is recognized when the
goods are installed.
LO 2,6,7 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 25 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 6.17
a.
Stand-
Alone (SA) % of Total Allocation of
Performance Selling SA Selling Contract Contract
obligation Price Price Price Price
Deliver equip. $1,000,000 95.24% X $1,000,000 $952,400
Installation 50,000 4.76% X $1,000,000 47,600
$1,050,000 100 % $1,000,000
b.
May 2, 2023
No entry – neither party has performed under the contract.
June 1, 2023
Cash ............................................................... 950,000
Contract Asset ............................................... 2,400
Sales Revenue ......................................... 952,400
To record sales
LO 6,7 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 30 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 6.19
a. The separate performance obligations are the oven, installation, and maintenance service, since
each item has stand-alone value to the customer.
b.
Stand-
Alone % of Allocation
(SA) Total SA of
Performance Selling Selling Contract Contract
obligation Price Price Price Price
Oven $800 78.05% X $1,000 $780
Installation 501 4.88% X $1,000 49
Maintenance 175 17.07% X $1,000 171
$1,025 100 % $1,000
1
$50 = $850 – $800 (differential between oven with and without installation services)
LO 6 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 15 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 6.36
LO 12,14 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 20 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
*PROBLEM 6.9
a. (continued) Percentage-of-completion
Recognized Recognized
in Prior in Current
To Date Years Year
2023
Revenues ($2,800,000 × 32%) $ 896,000 $ 896,000
Costs 800,000 800,000
Gross profit $ 96,000 $ 96,000
2024
Revenues ($2,800,000 × 75%) $2,100,000 $ 896,000 $1,204,000
Costs 1,800,000 800,000 1,000,000
Gross profit $ 300,000 $ 96,000 $ 204,000
2025
Revenues ($2,800,000 × 100%) $2,800,000 $2,100,000 $700,000
Costs 2,350,000 1,800,000 550,000
Gross profit $ 450,000 $ 300,000 $150,000
*PROBLEM 6.9 (CONTINUED)
b. Percentage-of-completion 2023 2024
d. Percentage-of-completion
CHAPTER 7
EXERCISE 7.2
EXERCISE 7.5
a.
7/1 Accounts Receivable .................................... 9,000
Sales Revenue ...................................... 9,000
c.
LO 4,10 BT: AP Difficulty: S Time: 15 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 7.7
LO 5 BT: AP Difficulty: S Time: 10 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 7.10
Eight months
4/12 (#2412) ($2,110 – $1,000 – $300) 810 and 18 days
Inasmuch as later invoices have been paid in full, all three of these
amounts should be investigated to determine why Hopkins Co. has not
paid them. The amounts in the beginning balance and #2412 should be
of particular concern. (Note to instructor: multiple interpretations of
accounts to investigate are possible)
LO 5 BT: AP Difficulty: S Time: 15 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 7.11
LO 6 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 25 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 7.14
LO 6,8 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 20 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
PROBLEM 7.4
a.
Schedule 1
Calculation of Allowance for Doubtful Accounts
at December 31, 2023
Aging Doubtful
category Balance % accounts
*$150,000 – $69,000
b. Campbell Corporation
Journal Entry
December 31, 2023
Account Dr. Cr.
LO 5 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 25 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
PROBLEM 7.7
a.
October 1, 2023
Notes Receivable ........................................ 150,000
Sales Revenue .................................. 150,000
October 1, 2024
Cash ........................................................... 15,000
Interest Receivable ............................ 3,750
Interest Income2 ................................. 11,250
2
($150,000 X 10% X 9/12)
October 1, 2025
Cash ........................................................... 165,000
Interest Receivable ............................ 3,750
Interest Income4 ................................. 11,250
Notes Receivable............................... 150,000
4
($150,000 X 10% X 9/12)
b.
October 1, 2023
Notes Receivable ........................................ 150,000
Sales Revenue .................................. 150,000
October 1, 2024
Cash ........................................................... 15,000
Interest Income .................................. 15,000
January 1, 2025
Interest Income ........................................... 3,750
Interest Receivable ........................... 3,750
October 1, 2025
Cash ........................................................... 165,000
Interest Income .................................. 15,000
Notes Receivable............................... 150,000
LO 6 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 20 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
PROBLEM 7.8
a.
Value of the note receivable:
Using a financial calculator:
PV ? Yields $ (55,844)
I 11%
N 4
PMT $18,000
FV 0
Type 0
Excel formula: =PV(rate,nper,pmt,fv,type)
Or
PV of $18,000 annuity
@ 11% for 4 years ($18,000 X 3.10245) $55,844.10
b.
1. December 31, 2023
Cash .............................................................. 36,000.00
Notes Receivable ........................................... 55,844.10
Service Revenue .................................. 91,844.10
LO 6 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 30 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
PROBLEM 7.9
8% Note receivable
Principal 400,000
Interest 32,000 32,000 32,000
Non-interest-bearing note
receivable
Payment 200,000
Instalment contract
receivable
Down payment 60,000
Payments 45,125 45,125 45,125 45,125
6% Note receivable
Principal 200,000
Interest ______ 6,000 ______ ______ ______
Note Receivable—Employees
Interest earned 1/1 to 12/31/2023
($400,000 X 8%) 32,000
Zero-interest-bearing Note—Patent
Face amount 4/1/23 $200,000
Less imputed interest
[$200,000 – ($200,000 X 0.79719)] 40,562
Balance, 4/1/2023 159,438
Interest earned to 12/31/2023
($159,438 X 12% X 9/12) 14,349
b. Desrosiers Ltd.
Long-Term Receivables Section
of Statement of Financial Position
December 31, 2023
Explanation of Amounts
LO 6 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 40 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
CHAPTER 8
EXERCISE 8.2
b. Transaction 3
Sales Revenue ................................ 12,800
Accounts Receivable ............ 12,800
To reverse sale entry in 2023
Transaction 4
Purchases ....................................... 15,630
Accounts Payable ................. 15,630
To record purchase of merchandise in 2023
Transaction 8
Refund Liability .............................. 2,600
Accounts Receivable ............ 2,600
To record sales return
Transaction 9
Sales Revenue ................................. 21,000
Accounts Receivable ............ 21,000
To reverse sale entry in 2023
Transaction 3
Sales Revenue ................................. 12,800
Accounts Receivable ............ 12,800
To reverse sale entry in 2023
Transaction 4
Purchases ........................................ 15,630
Accounts Payable ................. 15,630
To record purchase of merchandise in 2023
Transaction 8
Sales Returns
and Allowances ........................... 2,600
Accounts Receivable ............ 2,600
To record sales return
Transaction 9
Sales Revenue ................................. 21,000
Accounts Receivable ............ 21,000
To reverse sale entry in 2023
LO 2,3,5,11 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 20 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 8.5
$102,000 $59,850.00
c.
LO 2,7 BT: AP Difficulty: S Time: 25 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 8.9
a.
Errors in Inventories
Net Add Deduct Deduct Add
Income Under- Over - Under-
Over- Corrected
Per statement statement statement
statement Net
Year Books Jan. 1 Dec. 31 Dec. 31
Jan. 1
Income
b.
Balance Revised
Original Retained Corrected Retained
Net Income Earnings Net Income Earnings
2018 $ 50,000 $ 50,000 $ 45,000 $ 45,000
2019 52,000 102,000 48,000 93,000
2020 54,000 156,000 74,000 167,000
2021 56,000 212,000 45,000 212,000
2022 58,000 270,000 60,000 272,000
2023 60,000 $ 330,000 48,000 $ 320,000
$330,000 $ 320,000
c. The original data shows a steadily increasing net income. The
revised data is much more variable. It appears that income was
manipulated by adjusting the ending balance of the inventory
account.
LO 3 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 20 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 8.14
LO 5,6 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 40 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 8.17
a. Calculations
1. 2,100 units available for sale – 1,400 units sold = 700
units in the ending inventory.
500 @ $4.58 = $2,290
200 @ 4.60 = 920
700 $3,210 Ending inventory at FIFO cost.
b. Analysis of methods
FIFO will yield the highest ending inventory and therefore the
higher current ratio. The company has experienced rising
purchase prices and FIFO uses the most recent costs to price the
ending inventory units.
FIFO gives the higher inventory values, a lower cost of goods sold
(beginning inventory + purchases – ending inventory) and a
higher gross profit.
LO 5,6,10 BT: AP Difficulty: S Time: 15 min. AACSB: Analytic CPA: CPA: cpa-t001 cpa-t005 CM: Reporting and
Finance
EXERCISE 8.18
Moving-average cost
b.
In the case of the FIFO cost flow formula, it would not matter if
the inventory system used were perpetual or periodic, as the results
would be the same. This is because the FIFO method assumes that
older goods are sold first. This flow of costs is not changed whether a
periodic or perpetual system is used.
LO 5,6 BT: AP Difficulty: C Time: 40 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
CHAPTER 9
(a)
Other Investments1 .......................................... 13,332
Cash ........................................................ 13,332
1
[$13,200 + ($13,200 X 0.01)]
(b)
Cash ................................................................. 600
Dividend Revenue2 ................................. 600
2
(400 shares X $1.50)
(c)
Cash 3................................................................ 14,949
Gain on Disposal of Investments
- Cost/Amortized Cost…………….. 1,617
Other Investments ................................. 13,332
3
$15,100 – ($15,100 X 0.01) = $14,949
LO 2 BT: AP Difficulty: S Time: 15 min. AACSB: None CPA: CPA: cpa-t001 Reporting
BRIEF EXERCISE 9.4
(a) Bond Discount Amortization Table
8% Bonds Sold to Yield a 10% Return
Date Cash Interest Bond Amortized
Received Income Discount Cost of
(8%) (10%) Amortization Bond
Day 1 $ 95.03
End Year 1 $8.00 $9.501 $1.50 96.53
End Year 2 8.00 9.65 1.65 98.18
End Year 3 8.00 9.82 1.82 100.00
$24.00 $28.97 $4.97
1
$95.03 X .10
End of Year 2
Cash……………………………………………….. 8.00
Bond Investment at Amortized Cost………… 1.65
Interest Income……………………………. 9.65
End of Year 3
Cash……………………………………………….. 8.00
Bond Investment at Amortized Cost………… 1.82
Interest Income……………………………. 9.82
To record interest collected
Cash………………………………………………. 100.00
Bond Investment at Amortized Cost…… 100.00
To record maturity of bond investment
BRIEF EXERCISE 9.4 (CONTINUED)
Cash………………………………………………. 100.00
Bond Investment at Amortized Cost…… 100.00
To record maturity of bond investment
(e) Total interest income:
Effective interest method $9.50 + $9.65 + $9.82 = $28.97
Straight-line method $9.66 + $9.66 + $9.65 = $28.97
That is, they are the same in total.
BRIEF EXERCISE 9.4 (CONTINUED)
LO 2 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 30 min. AACSB: None CPA: CPA: cpa-t001 Reporting
BRIEF EXERCISE 9.5
(a) Bond Premium Amortization Table
6% Bonds Sold to Yield a 4% Return
Date Cash Interest Bond Amortized
Received Income Premium Cost of
(6%) (4%) Amortization Bond
Day 1 $ 105.55
End Year 1 $6.00 $4.221 $1.78 103.77
End Year 2 6.00 4.15 1.85 101.92
End Year 3 6.00 4.08 1.92 100.00
$18.00 $12.45 $5.55
1
$105.55 X .04
End of Year 1
Cash………………………………………………... 6.00
Bond Investment at Amortized Cost…… 1.85
Interest Income……………………………. 4.15
End of Year 2
Cash………………………………………………... 6.00
Bond Investment at Amortized Cost…… 1.85
Interest Income……………………………. 4.15
End of Year 3
Cash………………………………………………... 6.00
Bond Investment at Amortized Cost…… 1.85
Interest Income……………………………. 4.15
To record interest collected
Cash………………………………………………. 100.00
Bond Investment at Amortized Cost…… 100.00
To record maturity of bond investment
BRIEF EXERCISE 9.5 (CONTINUED)
(e) Total interest income:
Effective interest method $4.22 + $4.15 + $4.08 = $12.45
Straight-line method $4.15 + $4.15 + $4.15 = $12.45
That is, they are the same in total.
(f) Year Cash Flow
1 $6.00
2 $6.00
3 $106.00
=NPV(0.04,6,6,106)
LO 2 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 30 min. AACSB: None CPA: CPA: cpa-t001 Reporting
BRIEF EXERCISE 9.12
LO 4 BT: AP Difficulty: S Time: 15 min. AACSB: None CPA: CPA: cpa-t001 Reporting
LO 4 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 15 min. AACSB: None CPA: CPA: cpa-t001 Reporting
EXERCISE 9.4
a. Schedule of Interest Income
and Bond Discount Amortization
Effective Interest Method
9% Bond Purchased to Yield 12%
Bond Carrying
Cash Interest Discount Amount
Date Received Income Amortization of Bonds
01/01/23 — — — $278,384
1
12/31/23 $27,000 $33,406 $6,406 284,790
12/31/24 27,000 34,175 7,175 291,965
2
12/31/25 27,000 35,035 8,035 300,000
11
11 $278,384 X .12 = $33,406
2
Adjusted due to rounding
A step-by-step solution for this section of the problem can be found
in the student resources section of the online course.
LO 2 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 25 min. AACSB: None CPA: CPA: cpa-t001 Reporting
EXERCISE 9.7
a.
Investment Income or Loss1 ............... 1,400
FV-NI Investments ...................... 1,400
1
($50,000 – $48,600)
b.
Cash ..................................................... 9,500
Investment Income or Loss......... 500
FV-NI Investments ...................... 9,000
c.
Carrying
Securities Amount2 Fair Value
Moonstar Corp. shares $19,000 $19,300
Radius Ltd. shares 20,600 20,500
Total of portfolio $39,600 $39,800
Adjustment needed to bring portfolio
to fair value $200 Dr
2
Carrying amount for 2023 reflects the FV adjustments as at December
31, 2022
FV-NI Investments ............................... 200
Investment Income or Loss ....... 200
LO 3 BT: AP Difficulty: S Time: 15 min. AACSB: None CPA: CPA: cpa-t001 Reporting
EXERCISE 9.11
April 1, 2023
FV-NI Investments (5,000 X $52.00)............. 260,000
Commission Expense .................................. 3,370
Cash....................................................... 263,370
September 10, 2023
FV-NI Investments (7,000 X $26.50)............. 185,500
Commission Expense .................................. 2,910
Cash....................................................... 188,410
Fair
c. Shares Cost Value
Nirmala Corp. (6,0003 shares) $201,000 $180,000
Oxana Corp. (5,000 shares) 260,000 275,000
WTA Corp. (7,000 shares) 185,500 196,000
Total portfolio $646,500 $651,000
3
Of the 9,000 shares purchased on January 15, 2023, 3,000 were
sold May 20, 2023.
April 1, 2023
FV-OCI Investments ..................................... 263,370
Cash....................................................... 263,370
d. (continued)
Unrealized
Carrying Fair Gain
Shares Amount Value (Loss)
Nirmala Corp., 6,000 shs *$202,3205 $180,000 $(22,320)
Oxana Corp., 5,000 shs 263,370 275,000 (11,630)
WTA Corp., 7,000 shs 188,410 196,000 7,590)
Total portfolio $654,100 $651,000 (3,100)
5
$303,480 + $990 – $102,150 = $202,320
a. July 1, 2023
FV-OCI Investments ................................. 103,585
Cash................................................... 103,585
b. Schedule of Interest Revenue and
Bond Premium Amortization
Effective-Interest Method
6% Bonds Sold to Yield 5%
Amortized
Cash Interest Premium
Cost of
Received Revenue Amortized
Date Bonds
July 1, 2023 — — — $103,585
Dec. 31, 2023 $3,000 $2,590 $410 103,175
June30, 2024 3,000 2,579 421 102,754
Dec. 31, 2024 3,000 2,569 431 102,323
Vehicles........................................................ 58,802
Notes Payable ..................................... 58,802
Using tables:
Present value of the single payment
$80,000 X .73503 $58,802.40
LO 3 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 15 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
LO 3 BT: AP Difficulty: S Time: 5 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
BRIEF EXERCISE 10.8
Fair % of Recorded
Value Total Cost Amount
Land $ 95,000 95/455 $406,000 $ 84,769
Building 250,000 250/455 406,000 223,077
Equipment 110,000 110/455 406,000 98,154
$455,000 $406,000
LO 3 BT: AP Difficulty: S Time: 10 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
LO 3 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 10 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
BRIEF EXERCISE 10.11
LO 3 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 15 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
The consideration paid is fair value of used vehicle plus cash paid
1
$2,000 + $31,000
Spencer assumes that the amount of cash paid is significant and
therefore the transaction is monetary. In addition, the transaction has
commercial substance as the asset obtained will have different future
cash flows than the asset given up. Spencer expects the performance
of the asset to be much improved compared to the old asset, since the
vehicle obtained is new.
LO 3 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 15 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
Before Spencer negotiated the trade, they would have realized that
there was a loss to be recognized on the disposal of the used vehicle.
The carrying amount of the used vehicle was $30,000 - $27,000 = $3,000
and the fair value was $2,000. The loss of $1,000 must be recorded.
The price of the new vehicle is the list price of $36,000 less the discount
of $3,000 or $33,000. This is the fair value of the new vehicle.
LO 3 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 15 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 10.2
a. Machinery:
b. Equipment (Self-Constructed):
Note that the cost of material and purchased parts is reduced by the
amount of cash discount not taken because the equipment should be
reported at its cash equivalent price. The imputed interest on funds
used during construction is related to share financing and should not
be capitalized or expensed. This item is an opportunity cost that is not
reported.
LO 2,3 BT: C Difficulty: M Time: 25 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 10.11
a.
Using tables:
Present value of the single payment
$26,000 X .90909 $23,636.34
Result: $23,636.36
Under IFRS, the fair value of the asset acquired should be used to
measure its acquisition cost, unless that fair value cannot be
estimated reliably. In this case, the fair value of the shares appears
to be a better gauge of the fair value of the truck received. Vehicles
are very often sold at a price well below the list price.
b.
Transaction 4 involves a share-based payment. Under ASPE,
the more reliable of the fair value of the asset received or the
equity instruments given up should be used to measure the
acquisition cost of the asset. If Jackson prepares financial
statements in accordance with ASPE, it would be a private
company, and its shares would not be actively traded. The fair
value of its common shares would likely not be more reliable
than the fair value of the truck, therefore the fair value of the
truck (as determined by a reliable, independent appraiser, for
example or from negotiating a cash purchase) would be used
to measure the acquisition cost.
LO 3,7 BT: AP Difficulty: S Time: 20 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 10.15
Using tables:
Present value of annuity @ 10% for 5 years
$180,000 X 3.79079 $682,342.20
LO 3 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 20 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 10.17
3
Cost of old asset $11,200
Accum. depr. ($6,300 + $700) (7,000 )
Carrying amount 4,200
Fair market value of old asset (5,200 )
Gain on disposal of equipment $ 1,000
2
Cash paid $10,000
Fair value of old melter 5,200
Cost of new melter $15,200
LO 3 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 20 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 10.18
Stacey Limited:
Equipment (New)1 ........................................ 28,000
Accumulated Depreciation – Equipment ... 31,250
Equipment (Old) ................................. 50,000
Cash .................................................... 3,000
Gain on Disposal of Equipment2 ....... 6,250
1 2
Valuation of new equipment: Calculation of
gain:
Fair value of $25,000 Fair value of old
equip. given equipment $25,000
Cash 3,000 Carrying value of
old equipment (18,750)
New equip. $28,000 Gain on disposal $ 6,250
Chokar Limited:
Cash ............................................................... 3,000
Equipment (New) ........................................... 25,000
Accumulated Depreciation – Equipment ..... 22,000
Loss on Disposal of Equipment1 .................. 5,000
Equipment (Old) ................................... 55,000
1
Calculation of loss:
Carrying value of old $33,000
equipment
Fair value of old equipment 28,000
Loss on exchange $ 5,000
b. The exchange does not have commercial substance:
Stacey Limited:
Equipment (New)1 ........................................ 21,750
Accumulated Depreciation – Equipment ... 31,250
Equipment (Old) ................................. 50,000
Cash .................................................... 3,000
1
Valuation of new equipment:
Carrying value of old
equipment $18,750
Cash paid 3,000
New equipment $21,750
Chokar Limited:
Cash ............................................................... 3,000
Equipment (New)1 .......................................... 25,000
Accumulated Depreciation - Equipment ...... 22,000
Loss on Disposal of Equipment2 .................. 5,000
Equipment (Old) ................................... 55,000
2
Fair value of new
equipment + cash $28,000
received ($3,000)
Carrying value of old
equipment (33,000)
Loss on disposal $ (5,000)
1
The new equipment cannot be recorded at cost exceeding its fair
value of $25,000.
LO 3 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 25 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 10.19
1
Valuation of new equipment:
Cash $4,000
Installation cost
(cash) 1,100
Carrying value of
old equipment 45,000
New equipment $50,100
Since little cash is involved, the transaction is considered
nonmonetary. The transaction does not have commercial
substance; therefore, the exchange is recorded at the carrying
amount of the asset(s) given up, which is adjusted for the
inclusion of any cash or other monetary assets.
b. Equipment (New)1..................................... 55,900
Accumulated Depreciation—Equipment 20,000
Gain on Disposal of Equipment2 5,800
Equipment (Old) .............................. 65,000
Cash ................................................. 5,100
1 2
Valuation of new equipment: Calculation of gain:
Cash $4,000
Installation cost Fair value of old
(cash) 1,100 equipment $50,800
Fair value of Carrying value of
old equipment 50,800 old equipment (45,000)
New equipment $55,900 Gain on disposal $ 5,800
EXERCISE 11.2
EXERCISE 11.3
$769,000 – $300,000
a. = $23,450 per year
20 years
100%
b. = 5%; 5% X 2 = 10%
20
OR
3/12 X 10% X $769,000 = $19,225
+ 9/12 X 10% X ($769,000 – $76,900) = 51,908
$71,133 for 2021
$769,000 – $0
c. = $25,633 per year
30 years
Component 3:
$115,000 – $46,000 = $2,300 per year
30 years
2020: $2,300 X 9/12 = $1,725
2021: $2,300
LO 3 BT: AP Difficulty: S Time: 35 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 11.4
$315,000 – $15,000
a. 2021 Straight-line = $30,000/year
10 years
$315,000 – $15,000
b. 2021 Output = $1.25/output unit
240,000 total units
$315,000 – $15,000
c. 2021 Working hours = $12.00/hour
25,000 total hours
OR
10 + 9 + 8 + 7 + 6
e.
+ 5 + 4 + 3 + 2 + 1 = 55
n (n + 1) 10 (11)
OR = = 55
2 2
Allocated to
Sum-of-the-years’-digits Total 2020 2021
Year 1 10/55 X $300,0001 = $54,545 $36,363 $18,182
2 9/55 X $300,000 = $49,091 _______ _32,727
$36,363 $50,909
2021: $50,909 = (4/12 of 1st year of machine’s life plus 8/12 of 2nd
year of machine’s life).
1
Cost of $315,000 less residual value of $15,000
LO 3,5,10 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 30 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 11.16
LO 5 BT: AP Difficulty: S Time: 25 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 11.17
b. 2002-2019:
Building ($1,800,000 – $400,000) ÷ 40 = $35,000/yr.
Addition ($750,000 – $150,000) ÷ 30 = 20,000/yr.
$55,000/yr.
Addition:
Carrying amount: ($750,000 – $360,0002) $390,000
Remaining useful life 2 years
Annual depreciation $195,000
1
$35,000 X 28 years = $980,000
2
$20,000 X 18 years = $360,000
Note: 30 years total useful life; 28 years have lapsed so the
unamortized balance is charged off over the two years of
remaining expected useful life. Despite the amount, this is
treated prospectively.
Annual depreciation expense:
Building ($410,000 + $195,000) = $605,000
e. The original useful life estimate would have been management’s
best estimate based on the information that was available.
However, an investor who purchased shares in Lincoln in 2019
would have based his or her investment decision on financial
statements that show annual building depreciation expense of
$55,000/yr., when annual building depreciation expense would
have been $76,667/yr. [($1,800,000 - $400,000) ÷ 30 + ($750,000 -
$150,000) ÷ 20] based on an original useful life of 30 years. Annual
building depreciation expense of $46,667 for the first 10 years and
$76,667 for 18 years would have amounted to $1,864,676 in
accumulated depreciation at end of 2019, whereas the financial
statements at end of 2019 reported accumulated depreciation of
$1,340,000. Also, the investor would have invested based on the
information that the building would be useful for another 12 years
(until 2031), although Lincoln will likely need to invest in a new
building within 2 years, if the company intends to occupy a
building within the same district. The investor should also be
concerned that the building should be tested for impairment,
since the value of the building on the SFP is likely overstated (it
is based on an original useful life of 40 years), and there are now
only 2 years of useful life remaining. Review of asset useful life at
least at each year end helps to ensure that financial statements
are prepared based on the most relevant information available.
1
$36,000 X 28 years = $1,008,000
LO 5 BT: AP Difficulty: S Time: 25 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 11.20
a.
b. Machinery:
LO 6 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 25 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 11.21
a.
The impairment loss is allocated to the individual assets in the unit, but
no individual asset is reduced to below the highest of (1) its value in
use, (2) its fair value less costs to sell, or (3) zero.
b.
c.
Under ASPE, the asset group is impaired if its undiscounted future net
cash flows are less than its carrying amount. The undiscounted future
net cash flows are $144,000, which is higher than the asset group’s
carrying amount of $120,000. Therefore the asset group is not impaired
and no entry is necessary.
LO 6 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 25 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 11.26
a. Situation 1
Depreciation Expense1 ................................ 2,700
Accumulated Depreciation—
Equipment ........................................ 2,700
1
($120,000 – $12,000) ÷ 10 X 3/12 = $2,700
To record depreciation on equipment
Cash .............................................................. 28,000
Loss on Disposal of Equipment .................. 13,700
Accumulated Depreciation—Equipment
($75,600 + $2,700) ......................................... 78,300
Equipment ........................................... 120,000
To record disposal of equipment
Situation 2
Depreciation Expense2 ................................ 1,750
Accumulated Depreciation—
Machinery ......................................... 1,750
2
($38,000 – $2,000) ÷ 12 X 7/12 = $1,750
To record depreciation on machinery
Cash .............................................................. 10,000
Loss on Disposal of Machinery................... 2,250
Accumulated Depreciation—Machinery
($24,0003 + $1,750) ....................................... 25,750
Machinery ............................................ 38,000
3
Accumulated depreciation to December
31, 2019 is ($38,000 – $2,000) ÷ 12 X 8 yrs
= $24,000
To record disposal of machinery
Situation 3
Cash .............................................................. 5,200
Accumulated Depreciation— Equipment ... 8,500
Equipment ........................................... 12,000
Gain on Disposal of Equipment 1,700
b. The treatment for the above journal entries would be the same
under both ASPE and IFRS.
LO 7 BT: AP Difficulty: S Time: 15 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 11.27
d. The treatment for the above journal entries would be the same
under both ASPE and IFRS.
LO 7 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 25 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
CHAPTER 12
LO 2,3,4 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 10 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
BRIEF EXERCISE 12.6
Amort.
Carrying Life in Per Months
Amount Months Month Amort.
Patent (1/1/20) $365,000 961 $3,802 12
Legal cost (12/1/20) 106,000 85 $1,247 1
$471,000
1
(8 X 12)
LO 2,3,5 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 15 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 12.3
LO 2,3,5,7,10 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 15 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
EXERCISE 12.8
a.
Depreciation of equipment acquired
for use in research and development
projects over the next 5 years ($240,000 ÷ 5) $ 48,000
Materials consumed in research projects 61,000
Consulting fees paid to outsiders for research and
development projects ($95,000 - $4,500) 90,500
Personnel costs of persons involved in research and
development projects 108,000
Indirect costs reasonably allocable to research and
development projects 25,000
Total to be expensed in 2020 for Research and
Development $332,500
Note that the cost of the materials consumed in the development
of a product committed for manufacturing in the first quarter of
2021 and the consulting fees related to the materials are likely
costs incurred after the six development phase criteria have been
met. As such, they would be charged to an intangible asset
account such as Product Development Costs that would be
amortized over the benefiting periods.
a. Tennessee Corp.
INTANGIBLES SECTION OF
STATEMENT OF FINANCIAL POSITION
December 31, 2020
Patent, net of accumulated amortization
$864,000
(Schedule 1)
Franchise, net of accumulated amortization
261,000
(Schedule 2)
Total intangibles $1,125,000
LO 2,3,4,5,10 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 25 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
PROBLEM 12.1
LO 2,3 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 25 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting
PROBLEM 12.12
a. Goodwill calculation
Fair value of consideration transferred $763,000
Fair value of assets $1,080,000
Fair value of liabilities 430,000
Fair value of net assets 650,000
Value assigned to goodwill $113,000
b. The recoverable amount of the CGU is compared with the carrying
amount of the CGU to determine if there is any impairment.
LO 7,8 BT: AP Difficulty: M Time: 20 min. AACSB: None CPA: cpa-t001 CM: Reporting