Casebook 2024
Casebook 2024
VOLLEYBALL CASEBOOK
2024 Edition
2 INDEX
3 PREFACE
4 MODIFICATIONS
6 PART II - CASES
6 CHAPTER 1 - PARTICIPANTS
6 Wearing Forbidden Objects 1.1 – 1.2
6 Captain 1.3 – 1.5
7-8 Coach, assistant coach 1.6 – 1.11.3
8-9 The uniform 1.12 – 1.15
Volleyball is a great game – just ask the millions of people who play it, watch it, analyze it and referee it. It has been
actively promoted in recent years and has developed tremendously as a top competitive sport. Increased excitement,
speed, explosive action, a clean healthy image and huge TV audience figures have created an impetus to develop the
game even further, to make it simpler and more attractive to an even wider range of viewing public.
However, to make a correct and uniform application of the rules on a world stage is also very important for the further
development of the game. This Casebook is a collection of plays with Official Rulings approved by the Rules of the
Game and Refereeing Commission. These rulings expand on and clarify the spirit and meaning of the Official Rules,
and are the official interpretations to be followed during all competitions.
It is worth noting that the referee is the one who puts the rules into practice. For the correct application of the rules,
the referees not only have to know the rules faultlessly but have to apply them decisively and correctly within the
context of the game. The more important thing is that they should acquire and understand the basic principles behind
the rule. If not, they would have great difficulty in applying them properly. This is especially true when a situation
occurs which has not been clearly stated in the rules; the referees can now correctly make decisions with authority.
Remember that "The referee has the power to decide any matter involving the game, including those not provided
for in the rules". Hence, only on the basis of full acquisition of those fundamental principles can this be done.
Remember also that the rules characterise the game, set the limits, define fairness, legalise techniques, provide a
means of educating and form the basis for socialising. All of these aspects are important.
This Casebook is based upon the 2021-2024 edition of the Rule Text whose mandate was approved by the FIVB
Congress held for the first time, in a virtual format, in February 2021.
Several cases appearing in this Casebook have been illustrated with video clips, to help the understanding of the
situations and make the cases more interesting and attractive. These cases are indicated at the description. Click
where indicated and you can watch the video.
Guillermo Paredes
President, FIVB Rules of the Game and Refereeing Commission
The referee stays in the background but at the same time acts to promote the game in the best light, and in this
way the game is attractive to a wider audience.
We want the game to be popular – making an attractive show is the way to do that.
The 2024 Casebook is a reflection of the rules, which were put into effect by the different FIVB Congresses through
the years. While other rules and philosophical changes are always likely to be considered, as a sport and its society
changes, it is worth remembering that the rulings shown here are those relating to the rules in force today.
In the appendix, the case numbers are listed together with the corresponding rules.
CHAPTER 1 – PARTICIPANTS
1.1 Ruling
A prosthetic leg, a leg support, a plaster cast for a It is important to distinguish between items which
damaged wrist. have the potential to hurt or injure others from
Is such a device allowed? supporting or fabric materials. So the hard plaster
cast would not be allowed but a padded leg brace
would be allowed.
The case of the forearm support it must not provide
additional control of the ball. The rules allow a player
to wear compression devices for injury protection, as
prescribed by Rule 4.5.3.
Rules 4.5.1, 4.5.3
1.2 Ruling
Is a player allowed to play wearing a ring which is Due to the risk of injury, a player must remove the
likely to cause injury? ring, or have it taped.
Rule 4.5.1
CAPTAIN
1.3 Ruling
What is the proper response by the 1st referee if a Beyond the limits of Rule 5.1.2, he or she should
game captain constantly questions 1streferee warn the game captain with no penalty, as stated in
decisions? Rule 21.1. If the behavior continues, the game
captain should be sanctioned for rude conduct with a
red card (point and service to the opponents).
Rules 5.1.2, 20.1, 20.2, 21.2, 21.3.1, Diagram 9
1.5 Ruling
Is the referee’s decision final? May he/she change Yes. The referee may change his/her own decision if
his/her own decision if the team protests? he/she became aware of his/her mistake before the
next service.
On the other hand, the teams are not allowed to
protest against normal referee decisions.
Rules 5.1.2.1, 23.2.4
1.7 Ruling
May the assistant coach or player press the buzzer for Yes – but the coach must still give the official hand signal,
T/O? even if tablets are in use to make such requests.
Rules 5.2.1, 5.2.3.3, 5.3.1
1.9 Ruling
If injured or disabled, can the coach be allowed to use To stand or walk with crutches is not forbidden for
crutches in the free zone to perform his/her duties the coach.
during the match?
THE UNIFORM
Rule 19.2
1.15 Ruling
Several team members during the general warm up The principle is, that all players should be in uniform
wore garments over their official uniform or instead from the moment they enter the court to warm up. In
of their uniform. It was noticed that because no some top events the current Protocol before the
numbers were visible, this prevented proper match is conducted by a specialist Sport Presentation
confirmation that the players on court matched the team. In these cases, the regulation might be
ID cards presented. Should this be permitted? different. The referees should be well informed about
this item.
2.1 Ruling
The team’s setter from position 1 was standing Fault. When players jump from the floor, they retain
clearly in front of player position 2, but jumped at the the position that they had from their last contact with
moment before the service hit. the floor. Therefore, while the back row player was in
Is this a legal position? the air, the point of his last contact with the floor was
“retained”.
Rules 7.4, 7.4.2, 7.4.3, 7.5
2.2 Ruling
If the foot of a player on court is in contact with the No.
opponent court at the service hit, is this a fault? This situation should only be considered when a
player penetrates into the opponent’s court over the
center line during the rally.
Rules 1.3.3, 7.4
2.3 Ruling
A team was given incorrect information about which The teams must revert to as close to their original
player was to serve. Play continued. This incorrect line-up as possible.
information was noticed at a later point in the set.
What happens now? The score is taken back to the point where the wrong
information was given. The correct server is allowed
to serve. Ho wev er, the already issued warnings/
sanctions remain valid.
3.1 Ruling
The 1st hit flew outside of the antenna. The setter This ball had become “out” when it had left
pursued the ball into the opponent’s free zone and completely the space above the free zone and
tried to play it back – but the ball went towards the entered the space above the court on the opponent’s
court and net on the opponent’s side. side of the net.
The 1st referee whistled and signaled “ball out”. Rules 10.1.2, 10.1.2.2
At what moment does the ball become “out”?
3.2 Ruling
Can a player legally hit the ball with the palm of one Yes, he can.
hand up? The hit must be judged by the quality of the ball
contact – whether or not the ball was caught and/or
thrown. The 1st referee must not be too hasty in
whistling this play unless he can clearly see that
the ball is caught and/or thrown.
Rules 9.2.1, 9.2.2, 9.3.3, 9.3.4
3.3 Ruling
During a first hit the ball rebounded from one arm The decision of the 1st referee was correct. “First hit”
to the other and then onto the chest of a player cases, in which successive contacts are allowed, are:
during one action and without being caught or 1. Reception of the service.
thrown. The 1st referee allowed the game to 2. Reception of an attack hit. This can be either a
continue. soft or a hard attack.
Is this correct? 3. Reception of a ball blocked by one’s own team.
4. Reception of a ball blocked by the opponent.
A player has the right to make successive contacts at
the first hit, so long as he/she makes only one action
to play the ball. It is possible, however, to whistle a
“catch” or “throw” on the first hit if two different
phases (first catch, then throw) are recognized
within the action.
Rules 9.2.3.2, 14.2, Refereeing Guidelines and
Instructions
3.8 Ruling
Must the 1st referee whistle for a handling fault if the The referee should consider the principle of “keep
player is making a spectacular recovery? the ball flying”. It means, if a player makes a quick
movement and a big effort to recover the ball, and
during the hit a slight double contact has occurred,
he/she must be less severe, than in a normal
situation
Refereeing Guidelines and Instructions
Rule 9.7
3.9 Ruling
A ball went off the blocker A’s head, over the antenna Yes. The ball passed over the antenna into the
into the free zone of ‘B’. A player of ‘A’ pursued the opponent’s free zone partially through the external
ball to play it back to his side of the net. space. Therefore, it was legal for team ‘A’ to return
Is it possible to play it back like this? the ball to its own court through the external space
on the same side of the court. Line judges should not
signal while the ball moves in this way until the
moment it is finally out of play.
Rule 10.1.2
3.11 Ruling
Should the line judge signal when after the second No, to judge this ball is not the duty of the line judge.
hit of a team the ball crosses the net plane through
the external space into the opponent’s free zone? Rules 8.4.1, 8.4.2, 9.1,
10.1.2, 10.1.2.1, 10.1.2.2
3.15 Ruling
Is physical contact always interference? No. Many circumstantial contacts actually occur in a
match - but the referee should whistle a player if
he/she interfered with or stopped the opponent’s
ability to play.
Rule 11.2.1
3.16 VIDEO Ruling
During a spectacular dig a player penetrates into the No. By the Rule 11.2.2 it is a l s o permitted to touch
opponent’s court so, that his body hits the floor, but the opponent’s court with any part of the body
both legs are completely in the air over the opponent above the foot (feet) provided there is no
court with no part above the center line. There was interference with the opponent’s play.
no interference with the opponent players. Was it a Since the feet did not touch the opponent’s court and
faulty action? there was no interference with the opponent’s play,
the situation cannot be considered as a fault.
Rule 11.2.2
3.20 Ruling
An attack hit drove the net into the blocker’s No. If the net hits the player, there is no fault.
forearms. Is this a net fault? Rules 11.3.1, 11.4.4
3.21 Ruling
After a blocker landed securely, he turned and hit the No. Because the action of playing the ball was
mesh of the net between the antennae with his complete before he turned, the contact with the net
shoulder. is not a fault.
Should this have been called a fault? Rules 11.3.1, 11.4.4
3.23 Ruling
A middle blocker reached over the net and touched Yes – the touch of the net was indeed a “net fault”:
its top band while attempting to stop a combination the blocker was close to the action, and the contact
play close to him. was between the antennae.
Is this a fault? Rules 11.3.1, 11.4.4
3.25 Ruling
An attacker landed on the floor off balance, took two Yes, if a the player is using the net as a support
steps and pushed with his chest against the net or stabilizing aid, between the antennae, his action is
between the antennae while the ball was still in play. considered as interference with the play.
If the player had not caught the net, he would have
fallen onto the opponent’s court. Rules 11.3.1, 11.4.4
Is this a fault?
3.26 Ruling
A setter made a short set and when the attacker hit Yes, because the setter was in the action of playing
the ball, he/she also hit the setter with his/her knee. the ball.
This hit caused the setter to brush against the net. Rules 11.3.1, 11.4.4
Is this a fault?
A player participating in a collective block already Yes. The players of a collective block are counted as a
finished the blocking action and landed. However, “unit”. If one of them is still in the action of playing
the “blocking-mate” player during the landing fell the ball, it means the entire unit is in the action.
down on the previous player and drove her into the Therefore the other player’s net touch should be
net between the antennae. Can this net touch be considered as a fault.
considered as a faulty one?
Rules 11.3.1
SERVICE
3.28 Ruling
As soon as a player had hit the ball for service, the Correct action by the scorer. When a wrong server is
scorer signaled “wrong server” or rotational fault to ready to serve the ball, the scorer must wait until the
the 2nd referee, who stopped the game. Is this the service action has been completed before notifying
correct action by the scorer? the referees of the fault.
Rules 7.7.1, 12.2.1, 12.7.1, 27.2.2.2
3.29 Ruling
After the whistle for service, the serving team Yes – provided the service is made by the correct
recognized it was the wrong server. The correct player within 8 seconds from the whistle for service.
server then entered the service zone ready to serve. The 1st referee does not whistle a second time.
Can this player now serve? Rule 12.4.4
3.30 Ruling
Team ‘A’ served. The ball hit the net and dropped Yes – the 1st referee must whistle immediately it is
towards the floor on ‘A’’s side of the net. A player of clear the ball will not cross the net through the
‘B’ reached under the net and caught the ball before crossing space. At this moment the ball is out of play.
it hit the floor. The 1st referee must not wait until the ball hits the
Is this allowed? floor or a player of the serving team.
Rule 12.6.2.1
3.32 Ruling
A back row setter jumped from within the front zone Yes. The set became an illegal attack hit by a back row
and set the ball while it was completely above the player when the attack hit was completed (in this
height of the net, directing it towards an attacker. case by contacting the opponent’s block). The rally is
Before the attacker could contact the ball, it won by the blocking team.
penetrated the vertical plane of the net where it was
blocked by the opponent’s setter. Was there a fault? Rule 13.1.3
3.34 Ruling
A back row player took off in the front zone and as a No. Since the ball neither crossed the plane of the net
second hit spiked the ball which was completely nor was contacted by the blocker, the attack hit was
higher than the top of the net. The ball rebounded not completed.
from the net band and did not cross to the The rally continues.
opponent. Is this a fault? Rules 9.1, 13.1.3, 13.2.2, 13.3.3
3.35 Ruling
‘A’s’ receiver jumped from behind the attack line and Yes, because it was a legal action. Although it is illegal
contacted the served ball from completely higher to block or to complete an attack hit on the service
than the top of the net. The contact was behind the from completely above the height of the net over the
attack line and the ball returned to the serving front zone, the attack was legal since the contact
team's side of the net. point of the hit was completely behind the attack line.
Should play continue?
BLOCK
3.36 Ruling
‘A’ passed badly and the ball crossed the plane of the The setter’s "block" was illegal because he/she was a
net. The middle blocker of ‘B’ hit the ball across the back row player. Intercepting a ball from opponent
net against the raised arm of the back row setter close to the net is a block if a part of the body is above
from ‘A’, who was still close to the net and above the net height.
height of the net. The ball then rebounded across the
net into ‘B’s’ court.
Who committed the fault? Rules 14.1.1, 14.1.3, 14.6.2
3.39 Ruling
A player of ‘A’ blocked the attack of ‘B’. Then the Yes, to block is to intercept a ball coming from the
middle blocker of ‘B’ blocked the block of ‘A’. opponent, thus it is legal to block an opponent’s
Is it legal to block a blocked ball? block.
Rule 14.1.1
3.40 Ruling
A ball blocked by the legally penetrating blocker of Team A. The second player’s action cannot be
team B flew some meters parallel to the net before a considered as block, because the ball was coming
second player of B hit the ball with a blocking action from the block of his/her teammate.
down to the floor on the side of team ‘A’. The ball had Thus, he/she was attacking in the opponent’s space -
never penetrated into the air space of ’B’. Who gets which is a fault according to the rules.
next service? Rules 11.1.2, 14.1.1, 14.2, 14.3
3.41 Ruling
Can an attacker hit the ball coming from the Yes, he can. It is a legal play, provided it is not a
reception of his/her teammate with both hands using double contact or a catch or throw.
a blocking action, directing the ball to the other side The contact must be on the player’s own side of the
of the net? net, however – not on the opponent’s.
3.42 Ruling
The ball made multiple contacts with the head and Provided it is a blocking action and not separate
hands of several blockers. actions, this i s c o n s i d e r e d as block t o u c h . After
Should this be permitted? the block, a team is allowed three more ball contacts.
Rules 9.1, 9.2.3.2, 14.2, 14.4.1
3.43 Ruling
Back row player’s illegal attack versus illegal block Double fault and therefore replay.
(i.e simultaneous contact by back row player) in the The attack hit by the back row player was illegal. The
attacker’s team space. simultaneous block by the back row player was also
What is the fault? illegal.
Rules 13.3.3, 14.1.1, 14.6.2
3.44 Ruling
A back row player is separate in distance from a No. The player was not part of the collective block
collective block and lower than the top of the net – and was not higher than the top of the net when the
but is hit by the ball. Is this an illegal block? ball contacted him/her.
This contact is considered as a first team hit.
Rules 9.3.1, 14.1.1
3.46 Ruling
A blocker hit the ball when he had already come The decision was correct. At the moment of the ball
down from his jump and his whole body was lower contact, no part of the body of the blocker was higher
than the top of the net. When he hit the ball again, than the top of the net. So the action could not be
the referee called a “double hit”. considered as a block, but the first contact of the
Was this correct? team and his later contact made this a double hit.
Rules 9.1, 14.1.1, 14.4.1
3.47 Ruling
Illegal attack hit by back row player versus attempted The attack hit becomes a mistake at the moment
Libero block- which occurs first? when the ball has crossed the net totally or the block
touched it. The attempt of the Libero to block was an
action before the completion of the opponent’s
attack hit and is therefore the first mistake.
Rule 19.3.1.3
SUBSTITUTIONS
4.2 Ruling
One substitute player entered the substitution zone The moment of the request is the entrance of the
(the scorer sounded the horn) while another one was substitute player(s) into the substitution zone. In this
just leaving the warm-up area to try to enter the case the 2nd referee should grant only the one for the
substitution zone. player who actually entered the substitution zone.
How many substitutions should be allowed? The second action should be rejected as not a part of
the original request. However, in such a situation the
2nd referee has the right to wave away the player
trying to enter the substitution in order to prevent an
improper request. This is part of “smooth refereeing”
Rules 15.10.3.1, 15.10.3.2, 15.11.1.3
4.6 Ruling
If a substitute steps into the substitution zone just as No. The substitution should not be permitted.
the whistle sounds for service, should the 2nd referee Generally, this situation is a typical case of an
permit the substitution? improper request: reject and allow the game to
continue if the game has not been stopped and it was
the first improper request for this team.
However, if the game has been stopped due to this
request it should be considered as a delay and a
sanction for delay will result.
The same d e l a y s a n c t i o n should be a p p l i e d if
it was a repeated improper request by this team -
which is considered as delay.
Rules 15.10.3.1, 15.11.1.1, 15.11.3, 16.2
4.7 Ruling
Player #8 entered the substitution zone with paddle The decision was correct. The substitution of #8 and
#10. The coach insisted on the substitution with #9. #10 would have been legal. However, the coach
After a short discussion, the 2nd referee rejected the insisted on the substitution of #8 for #9. Because the
substitution and the team was sanctioned with a delay wrong paddle was shown and this caused a delay, the
warning. referee correctly sanctioned the team for delay.
Was the decision correct? Substitution should be rejected.
Rules 16.1.1, 16.2
4.9 Ruling
A player became injured and had to be substituted Yes, the decision was correct.
exceptionally. During the same game interruption, The first player had to be substituted by an
the team requested an additional substitution. The exceptional substitution due to injury. The team still
2nd referee accepted the request. had the right to REQUEST a substitution in the same
Was the 2nd referee’s decision correct to accept the interruption.
request?
Rule 15.7
4.12 Ruling
A player listed on the line-up sheet was injured Yes – but it should be shown formally by substitution
before the start of the match. Can he be substituted signal (coach and 2nd referee so that everyone
before the match? understands the situation) and must be recorded on
the score sheet as a regular substitution.
Nevertheless, in certain top-level competitions,
special regulations could be applied allowing the
player being replaced in the line-up without counting
as a regular substitution. In this case, this regulation
will be included in the Specific Competition
Regulations in the Playbook.
Rules 7.3.2, 7.3.4
4.13 Ruling
Player #7 of team ‘A’ was found to be on the court Since team ‘A’ had an incorrect line-up, which was
when he should have been on the bench. Team ‘A’ caused by an illegal substitution, the procedure given
had used the allowable six team substitutions. Since in Rule 15.9.2 should be the following:
there were no legal substitutions remaining, what a. Point and service for team ‘B’.
was the proper procedure to be used by the officials? b. The substitution must be rectified. #7 has to be
removed from the set and the correct player
must return to the court. This correction does not
count as regular substitution.
c. All points scored by team ‘A’ while #7 was in the
game illegally must be cancelled, but the score of
the opponent’s team will remain as it is.
d. There is no further penalty for team ‘A’.
Rule 15.9.2
Casebook 2024 Page 27/55
4.14 Ruling
After team ‘B’ had used five substitutions, two The 2nd referee has to remind the coach that only one
substitute players entered the substitution zone. substitution will be possible and ask the coach which
What is the proper response of the 2nd referee? one will be made.
Provided there is no delay, the other substitution will
be rejected as an improper request which is marked
in the score sheet.
Rules 15.5, 15.6, 15.11, 16.1
4.15 Ruling
A team requested two substitutions. When checking The 2nd referee allows the legal substitution to take
the substitutions, the scorer indicated that one of the place. The illegal substitution must be refused no
requests for substitution was legal and the other matter in which order the substitute players
request for substitution was illegal. What is the approach the side line.
proper response of the 2nd referee? The request for an illegal substitution must be
sanctioned with a “delay sanction”.
Rules 15.6, 16.1.3
4.16 Ruling
A team was refused a requested substitution by the The procedure of the 2ndreferee was correct. If the
scorer pressing the buzzer a second time. When the referees realizes that one of them made a mistake,
2ndreferee checked the score sheet, she discovered this mistake must be corrected, and the decision
that the substitution was, in fact, “legal”, and “re- changed even if this causes an unfavorable
corrected” the situation. This was quite impression about the referee team.
embarrassing. What should have been the correct
response of the 2ndreferee?
4.17 Ruling
A substitute player was standing in the substitution Yes, it is delay.
zone, ready to enter. However, the player on court However, the substitution THIS TIME should be
initially refused to leave the court. Is this delay? allowed, because the request was legal according to
Should the substitution be refused? the rules and the player in play caused this special
case, and the substitute player did not cause the
delay.
Rules 16.1.1, 23.2.3
4.18 Ruling
If a player in the line-up sheet does not match with The 2nd referee should show the line-up sheet to the
the players on the court what does the 2nd referee coach and ask what he wants to do. If the coach
do? wishes to keep what is on court, he needs to make a
legal substitution at 0:0. This is one of the situations,
where the coach must give the hand signal to avoid
misunderstandings.
The 2nd referee also must carry out this formally for
public, statistics, etc. understanding of the situation.
Rules 7.3.5.2, 7.3.5.3
4.21 Ruling
If a scorer presses the buzzer for substitution by No, since the fault is made by the scorer, this should
mistake (after the whistle for service/ player doesn’t not be considered either as improper request or as a
enter the substitution zone), should the team be delay.
charged with an improper request? Rules 15.10.3.1, 15.10.3.3
4.22 Ruling
An unregistered player was found to be on court. The coach and the team captain have the duty to
What do the officials do? control the registration of players and confirm it with
their signature. Unregistered players who have
played in the match will be removed from the court
as soon as this is discovered, in favor of a legitimate
registered player. All points scored while this
unregistered player was on court will be
cancelled, and the opponents will gain a point and
the next service. If the mistake is detected after the
end of the set, the set would be lost by the team at
fault. If the mistake is discovered after the end of the
match, the whole match would be lost due to the
unregistered player in the match. To avoid this kind of
situation, before each set the 2nd referee and the scorer
must check if the players’ numbers listed on the line-up
sheet correspond to the players’ numbers listed on the
scoresheet.
Rules 4.1.3, 4.2.2, 5.1.1, 5.2.2, 7.3.5.4, 15.9.2
4.23 Ruling
During an interruption, the receiving team ‘A’ Yes. Because there was in fact a completed rally (as
requested a substitution. During this interruption, defined in the rules) between the two requests for
team ‘B’ was penalized, which caused team ‘A’ to substitution.
rotate one position. After this, team ‘A’ requested a Rules 6.1.3, 15.2.3
new substitution. Is this possible?
TIME-OUTS
4.30 Ruling
Is it possible to have an improper request AFTER the Yes, it is. While unusual, a delay can be followed by an
team has already been awarded a DELAY warning or improper request – it is not an escalation of the delay!
penalty? The rule regarding improper requests and the rule for
delay are both quite specific in what constitutes an
improper request/ what constitutes a delay. So that,
even if the team has already been s a n c t i o n e d
f o r delay, some actions are ONLY improper
requests and are not combined within the earlier
delay.
Rule 15.5, 16.1
4.30.1 Ruling
Is it allowed to request a Time-out or “normal” player No.
substitution, if a request for game interruption has In such a situation the team has to wait until the end
already been rejected and sanctioned with a delay of the next completed rally for the next request for
warning? game interruption.
If the team still makes a request, it should not be
considered as an improper request, just the team
should be reminded of this.
Rule 15.2.4, Refereeing Guidelines and Instructions
INJURIES
4.34 Ruling
The team captain is injured before the start of the The process is determined by the moment of the
match. injury. The main principle is written in rule 4.1.3,
How should the situation be handled? when the score sheet has been signed by captains
and coaches, i.e. after the toss, the team has no right
to change the team roster (except, when the Libero is
injured, has no chance to play and the coach wants to
re-designate the original team captain as the new
Libero).
Based on this if the injury of the team captain
occurred before the toss and he/she cannot play, the
coach should designate a new team captain, putting
a stripe under the number and circling the player's
number in the score sheet. This new team captain
will have all duties and rights (i.e. represents his/her
team at the toss).
If the original team captain's injury
occurred after the toss, the coach has no right to
designate another player as team captain. However,
the coach should designate a "general game captain"
who takes the rights and duties of the original team
captain and signs the score sheet after the match.
In both situations the fact of the injury should be
recorded in the score sheet.
Rule 4.1.3, 5.1, 5.2.1, 5.2.2
4.38 Ruling
Prior to the start of the third set of a match, the 1st Yes, the 1st referee acted correctly. The teams must
referee whistled the teams to enter the court. One be summoned to take their positions on the court. If
team did not react. When they were too slow to they do not react, the 1st referee must issue a delay
respond, the 1st referee issued a delay warning to warning to them. If the team still did not react, a
them. delay penalty would have been given. If this also
The team then entered the court. Was this the proved to be ineffective, it would have been judged a
appropriate action by the 1st referee? refusal to play, the team would have been declared to
be in default and the match would have been
forfeited. In such a case, the score would have been
recorded as 0:3 (0:25, 0:25, 0:25).
If a team is returning slowly to the court after a time-
out, the same procedure should be followed.
Rules 6.4.1, 16.1
4.40 Ruling
A player refused to play because of a wet place on Common sense is the key factor here.
the floor caused by a team member diving for a ball. It is the 1st referee’s responsibility to decide upon the
What is the proper response of the 1st referee? mopping requests by the players, if they are
obviously delaying the game, and, if necessary, to
issue a delay sanction for these actions.
When the 1st referee deems it necessary to mop
the floor by the moppers, he/she may give the
order. The control of the match is always by the
decision of the 1st referee.
4.41 Ruling
During an interval between two sets, an entire team Firstly, a team is not allowed to leave the competition
went to their locker room and returned after 5 area without permission of the referees.
minutes. The 1st referee issued a delay sanction, and Nevertheless, after two and a half minutes, the 2nd
the game was continued. referee should go to the team and remind them to
Was this an appropriate reaction of the referee? enter the court immediately so as not to be declared
in default. After they are back on the court, the 1st
referee should issue a delay sanction.
4.42 Ruling
What is the correct response of the 1st referee if The 1st referee should stop the match and the
spectators interrupt the match? organizer or the FIVB Technical Delegate should
take steps to re-establish the order. This
interruption should be recorded on the score sheet.
Rules 17.2, 17.3
EXTERNAL INTERFERENCE
The coach intercepted the attack hit of the opponent, An attack hit which hits the opponent coach in the
close to the side line, in such a way that there was doubt free zone is out, according to the rules.
about whether the ball would have landed in or out.
However, where the coach intercepts the ball close
What should the 1st referee do in this instance?
to the line and the referees/ line judge are unable to
determine the final landing point due to the
interception, the ball must be considered ball IN and
the coach must receive a verbal Warning. In case of
a precedent sanction he/she must be given a heavier
sanction according to Sanction Scale.
Rule 17.2
5.1 Ruling
Can the Libero enter the game without the 2nd Yes, he can.
referee’s permission after checking the line-up The starting player must be on the court at the time
before the set? of the line-up check. As soon as the 2nd referee has
checked the line-up, the Libero may replace the back
row player.
Rules 19.3.2.4, 19.3.2.8, 24.3.1
5.2 Ruling
A team has already applied all legal substitutions in a The Libero registered on the score sheet is never
set then a player on court is expelled and the Libero is entitled to become a regular player in the match.
sitting on the bench.
How should the match continue? However, an exceptional substitution (not involving
the Libero) can be applied, should the coach wish to
take this option, but the expelled player would not be
permitted to play later in the match in this
circumstance.
Rules 6.4.3, 15.7,15.8
5.3 Ruling
Can the Libero be allowed to enter the match by a No. The Libero is not allowed to participate in any
regular substitution procedure in place of an injured substitution, regular or exceptional.
player? Rules 15.5, 15.7, 17
5.4 Ruling
The Libero was on the court for player #5 and was If the team has two Liberos, the coach may replace
expelled from the set. What is the correct process to the sanctioned acting Libero immediately by the
continue the match? second Libero or by the #5.
If the team has only one Libero, the team may
choose:
to send player #5 back to the court in place of the
Libero and play without a Libero for the
remainder of the set, or
the coach re-designates a new Libero from the
players not on the court in the moment of re-
designation and the new Libero may immediately
and directly replace the expelled acting Libero
(who is not allowed to play for the remainder of
the match).
Rules 6.4.3, 19.1.1, 19.3.2, 19.3.2.8
5.8 Ruling
While running after a ball, the team's only Libero Not directly because the replacement player is
(replacing No4) injured his leg muscle and could no excepted from a re-designation at the moment of the
longer play. request for re-designation.
The coach then decided that he wanted player No4 to If the coach wants player No 4 to be the new Libero,
become the re-designated Libero. No 4 at first has to return to court replacing the
Is this possible? injured Libero, and be substituted legally. Then he
can enter the court as the new Libero only after one
completed rally, because a second replacement
cannot be made in the same interruption.
Rules 19.1.3., 19.3.2.2, 19.3.2.8, 19.4.2
5.9. Ruling
Is it allowed to be a coach and the Libero at the same Yes.
time? The rules do not forbid the Libero from being the
coach.
Rule 5.2.3.4
5.11 Ruling
A mistake by two players led to the Libero/No, this does not count as a replacement, because
replacement player leaving the court briefly (this there must be one completed rally between two
event had not yet been recorded on the Libero Libero replacements. This was an obvious mistake
control sheet) – but they corrected the mistake but should not be counted as a fault.
immediately themselves.
Is this counted as a replacement? Rules 19.3.2.1, 19.3.2.2
5.12. Ruling
A team forgot to replace the Libero when he rotated The Libero has no right to play in the front row, and
to the front row in position 4. he has to leave the court after rotating into position
What is the correct procedure, when the referees 4. The 1st referee has to delay the signal for the
realize this obvious mistake? next service for a reasonable time. If the
replacement is still not applied, the team must be
reminded about their obligation and make a Libero
replacement and then they should be sanctioned for
any delay caused.
Rules 19.3.1.1, 28.2.2.1, 28.2.2.2
5.14 Ruling
The Libero was replaced by a regular player. After the Yes, this is a correct action by the 2nd referee.
service, a reserve ball penetrated into the playing This is a case for illegal Libero replacement, because
court, and the rally was stopped. Before the whistle there was no completed rally between two Libero
for the replayed rally, the Libero attempted to replacements. At the moment of the 2nd
replace the player in position #6. The 2nd referee replacement the 2nd referee should reject it, and the
called him back. 1st referee should issue a delay sanction.
Is this a correct action by the 2nd referee? Rule19.3.2.1
5.15 Ruling
The Libero of a team became injured during the No, it should not have been allowed. Even though it
match, and the 2nd referee authorized the medical was the case of injury, the Libero could be replaced
doctor, with the coach in attendance, to be on the through a regular replacement. Also, the Libero still
court for checking the seriousness of the injury. They has the right to participate in the match until he/she
decided to take the Libero out of the court and send is declared unable to continue (Rule 19.4.2).
the replaced player back on the court. After he was Thus, this situation was a mistake because two
led off the court, the Libero claimed he had consecutive replacements took place without any
recovered and insisted on returning to the court to completed rally in between. This is a case for illegal
play. The referees allowed the Libero to go back on Libero replacement.
the court and to resume the match. Rules 19.3.2.1, 19.3.2.8
Was this correct?
5.16 Ruling
The Libero of team ‘A’ injured his/her arm during the Yes. The player was mobile, not providing any
match, and a new Libero was re-designated. The obstruction or danger to himself/herself or team-
original Libero sat on the bench for the remainder of mates.
the match. This last point is crucial to the ruling. The player
Should this have been permitted? should be permitted to stay on the bench. Had the
player to be treated, the team doctor should have
been advised to place the player behind the bench or
in a place of safety outside the FOP.
Diagram 1a and Definitions. Rule 19.3.2.8
5.17 Ruling
When can two Libero replacements take place in the Only in 2 cases can 2 Libero replacements take place
same interruption for the same team? in the same interruption.
1. when a penalty has been issued
2. when immediately after the Libero entered the
court, a rally became incomplete due to the injury
of the Acting Libero
Rules 6.1.3, 19.3.2.1
5.19 Ruling
The scorer recorded the number ‘15’ for the Libero, This is an administrative mistake and will not have
instead of “5”. The coach and the team captain any consequences for the team. The scorer will
signed the team list. correct the number in the ‘Remarks’ box.
What should happen if discovered? Rule 19.1.2
5.20 Ruling
In the 1st set of a match, the Libero of ‘A’ played in a Because the wrong shirt had no influence on the
shirt with the same color and design as the rest of the game, the result of the 1st set will not be cancelled
team. Before the start of the 2nd set, the coach of ‘B’ and no sanction is to be issued to team ‘A’. The FIVB
protested against this situation. What is the Technical Delegate will decide if the Libero has to change
correct decision? his/her shirt, however.
Rule 19.2
5.21 Ruling
Two players tried to block an opponent’s attack and The decision was not correct. Because the Libero
jumped at the net. Between them the Libero also didn`t reach at any time with any part of his body
jumped, but didn’t reach at any time with any part of higher than the top of the net, his jumping could not
his body higher than the top of the net. be considered as a block attempt.
Nevertheless, the 2nd referee whistled this as block
attempt. Was this decision correct? Rules 14.1.1, 14.1.2,
14.1.3, 14.1.4, 14.6.6
5.22 Ruling
The Libero came off court. The server was whistled Yes, he can.
for a delay in service (8 seconds). This service (fault) is to be considered as a completed
Can the Libero now re-enter the court? rally. Therefore, the Libero will be allowed to re-enter
the court.
Rules 6.1.3, 19.3.2.1, 19.3.2
5.23 Ruling
The coach declared the single Libero unable to play Except for the regular replacement player, any player
and wanted to re-designate a new Libero. on the bench at the moment of the request for re-
designation can be re-designated as the new Libero.
Who can be re-designated as the new Libero and
The original Libero cannot come back into the match
when? at any time.
If the coach wants the regular replacement player to
be the new Libero, he/she first must substitute
him/her legally.
If the Acting Libero is declared unable to play, he/she
must be replaced by the regular replacement player
and the new Libero has the right to enter the court
after one completed rally,
Rules 19.3.2.8, 19.4.2.1, 19.4.2.4
5.25 Ruling
A team had 2 Liberos recorded. After the 2nd set the Yes, it is allowed.
coach declared both Liberos unable to play and re- It is not forbidden to declare both Liberos unable to
designated one new Libero to replace them. Is it play at the same time. None of original Liberos may
allowed? re-enter the match after the re-designation, but they
have the right to sit on the bench or to be in the
warming-up area.
Rule 19.4.2.1, 19.4.2.2
6.1 Ruling
The 1st referee warned a player for minor misconduct This is a correct action by the referee. Such minor
going directly to STAGE 2 of the minor misconduct misconducts must be controlled by the 1st referee.
procedures, and showing the player a yellow card, to The yellow card must be recorded.
be recorded on the score sheet. The 1st referee may give a verbal warning to the team
Is this a correct action by the 1st referee? via the game captain (stage 1) if the minor
misconduct is of a general nature.
Although, depending of the seriousness of minor
misconduct he/she may start with stage 2 showing a
yellow card directly to the concerned player or team
member through the game captain.
Rules 21.1, 21.2
6.2 Ruling
The 2nd referee observed an attempted deception (a The decision of the 1st referee was not correct.
blocker pulled the net) and whistled for the attacking The rally should have been won by the attacking
team to win the rally. The 1st referee then signaled a team because of the net contact by the opposite
warning to the player by using a yellow card. player which interfered with the play. The blocker
Is this the correct penalization for him/her? then should have received a penalty for the rude
conduct of attempting to mislead the referees.
Rules 21.2.1, 21.3
6.3 Ruling
The Coach of ‘A’ stood up at the end of a rally and The coach should be allowed to express certain
waved his arms in a manner that suggested disgust normal responses and the referee should just calm
with the referee’s decision. down him/her without any further consequences.
Is this allowed? B u t , if the response is judged to be minor
misconduct reaching the stage 2 level, the coach
should be warned by the 1st referee by use of a yellow
card. If repeated, he should be penalized with a red
card for rude conduct.
6.4 Ruling
Between sets a penalty for rude conduct was given Sanctions imposed between sets are set against the
by the 1st referee to Team ‘A’ which had the first next set. Thus, before the first service, the 1st referee
service for the next set. should signal the penalty for team A. The team B
What happens next? gains one point, rotates and serves.
The following is a summary of infractions which occur
between sets, the penalties for which must be
recorded on the score sheet:
Warning against a member of any team (yellow
card).
Penalty against a serving team member. The
receiving team gains a point, rotates and gains the
service.
Penalty against a receiving team member. Point
awarded to the serving team.
6.6 Ruling
A player walked towards the 1st referee gesturing This should be regarded as Offensive Conduct, and
wildly and shouting to him even after a warning. sanctioned by Expulsion, red and yellow cards
How should we consider this action? jointly.
Rules 21.1, 21.2, 21.3
6.7 Ruling
A player was expelled directly from the court with no The 1st referee should normally try to prevent a team
prior warning. from reaching the sanctioning level.
How should we regard a subsequent minor However, should a clear case of offensive conduct be
misconduct from any other member of the same committed in the first instance, the referee must
team? expel the player without a previous sanction.
The 1st referee may issue a warning to other team
members after the expulsion – but once the yellow
card is shown, it may not be shown again to any
member of the team. Rule 21
6.11 Ruling
The Libero replacement was sitting on the bench. The Since the Libero cannot play in the front court, the
1st referee sanctioned him by issuing a penalty. The expelled or disqualified player must be substituted
player did not stop his behavior and applauded the immediately, by a regular or exceptional
referee. The 1st referee sanctioned him with an substitution.
expulsion. The expelled player continued the
behavior and received a disqualification. This can be done without the Libero having to leave
What is the correct procedure to continue the the court, or the team having to play without a
match? replacement player.
7.1 Ruling
The 2nd referee told a coach not to talk with or Yes, this is correct by the 2nd referee.
distract the scorer. In the spirit of smooth refereeing, if such situations
Is this a correct action by the 2nd referee? can be resolved by the 2nd referee without formality,
this should be done.
R l 23 3 2 2
7.2 Ruling
Can a reserve player sit on the floor in the warm-up Yes, Players are not required to stand in the warm-
area instead of standing or stretching? up area. On the other hand, players may not sit
on benches, chairs, rails or walls in the warm-up area,
unless for an special reason permitted by the FIVB
Technical Delegate.
Rules 4.2.1, 4.2.3, 24.2.4, 24.2.5
7.3 Ruling
Can a coach ask the scorer for information about the The scorer should not respond to the coach.
number of time-outs that had been taken by the Generally, coaches are not permitted to ask the
other team? scorers for any information.
However, where an electronic scoreboard is used,
but the number of used game interruptions is not
indicated, the coaches have the right to ask the
scorer for this information, but only about their own
team and at a time which is neither distracting to the
scorer nor delaying the match.
Rule 27.2.2
7.5 Ruling
Can a refereeing decision be reversed even after the Yes. Up to the start of the next set, referees are
end of the set? allowed to correct their decisions immediately
concerning the application of the rules, if they
realize they were mistaken. The match score will be
corrected as appropriate.
7.6 Ruling
After a request for a third time out was refused as an Provided there was no whistle for service, the
improper request, the coach changed her mind and request for substitution should have been allowed as
sent a player for substitution. proper – only the time out was improper. However,
Is this allowed? the improper request for time-out should be
recorded on the score sheet.
Rules 15.1, 15.2.1, 15.11,
16.1, 16.2, 24.2.6, 24.2.7
7.7 Ruling
During a time-out a coach met with his entire team in The team must “go to the free zone near their bench”
the very back corner of the free zone near the warm- during a time-out and the 2nd referee should tell the
up zone. team to do so.
Is this permitted? Rule 15.4.2
7.8 Ruling
The assistant coach came to the side line to assist the The decision of the 1st referee was correct. The
players to find a wet spot. assistant coach is allowed to sit on the bench and
The 1st referee called the game captain and told may not intervene in the match. Only the coach may
him/her to tell the assistant coach to stay on the walk near the side line.
bench. Rules 5.2.3.4, 5.3.1
Did the 1st referee make a correct decision?
7.9 Ruling
After a rally a coach asked the 2nd referee if his server Although the only team member allowed to speak
was correct. The 2nd referee checked the rotational with the referees is the game captain, this short
order with the scorer and replied that the correct interaction between the coach and the 2nd referee do
player was ready to serve. The 1st referee continued not affect the game at all. Thus, the 2nd referee may
the match. answer certain request from the coach in favor of the
Is this the correct process of the referees? smooth refereeing.
8.1 PRINCIPLE
Team ‘B’ intentionally slowed down the tempo of the The referee should keep the game at a constant
game. tempo within the normal flow of the game. The
How should the referee respond? referee should never allow any external influences to
retard the flow of a match and ruin the good
performance of one of the teams.
8.2 Ruling
A floor wiping towel from one of the players of ‘B’ If, according to the judgment of the 1st referee, the
fell on the court of A. situation is dangerous, he should stop the game
What should the referees do? immediately and direct a replay. But if the rally is
finished and the falling towel will have no influence
on its outcome, there is no need to direct a replay.
Rule 17.2
8.3 Ruling
The match was resumed on another playing court The interrupted set has to be cancelled and replayed
after the lights failed. with the same team members and the same starting
What is the correct ruling on the use of a disqualified line-ups but neither disqualified nor expelled players
player in the third set when it started again? are allowed to participate Another player who was
on the team and not in the starting line-up must take
his place.
Furthermore, all other warnings/sanctions which
have been recorded on the score sheet up to the
point that the lights went out must be carried over
into the new set.
Rule 17.3.2.2
Technology has been used for some years now by FIVB, it’s Confederations and affiliated National Federations. This
includes the use of headsets, e-scoresheet and Video Challenge System (VCS) technology. Each of these provides
benefits to the sport, but their use requires close attention from the referees in order that the match is directed in
smooth manner.
a
9.1 NEW Ruling
The Challenge Referee’s headset failed mid-match. Spare headsets should be located with the Challenge
What is the best solution to continue the match and Referee. While the complete communication network
maintain Challenge capability? remains ideal, if spares are not to hand, the scorer
must function without a headset, and can interact
with the referees with hand signals, or by face to face
dialogue with the 2nd referee. The Challenge Referee
must therefore receive the scorer’s push-to-talk
headset.
Decision of the R&RGC
9.7 Ruling
A player arrived in correct time in the substitution The official request for substitution is when the
zone – but no data had been transmitted. How is this substitute player(s) enter the substitution zone.
handled? Therefore, the scorer, before any action, should
check if the request is legal.
If it is, he/ she should accept the request manually,
and speak into the microphone “going manual”, to
prepare for allowing a little more time for the
administration of the exchange of players.
If the request is illegal, it should be rejected and the
referees have to follow the respective rules.
Rules 15.5.1, 16.1.3
Rules:7.3.2, 7.3.4
Here the cases are listed with the numbers of the concerning rules. The case numbers are hyperlinked with the
cases, and from the cases you can come back to this appendix.
Case number Rule (1) Rule (2) Rule (3) Rule (4) Rule (5) Rule (6) Rule (7)
WEARING OBJECT
1.1 4.5.1 4.5.3
1.2 4.5.1
CAPTAIN
1.3 5.1.2 20.1 20.2 21.2 21.3.1
1.4 5.1.2.2
1.5 5.1.2.1 23.2.4
COACH, ASSISTANT COACH
1.6 5.1.2 5.2.3.4 21.1 21.2 21.3
1.7 5.2.1 5.2.3.3 5.3.1
1.8 5.2.1 5.2.3.1 5.2.3.4
1.9
1.10 4.2.4 5.3.1
1.11 Guidelines
1.11.1 4.1.1
1.11.2 4.2.2
1.11.3 Guidelines
THE UNIFORM
1.12 4.3.3
1.13 19.2
1.14 4.5.3 FIVB Event Regulations
1.15
POSITION AND ROTATIONAL FAULTS
2.1 7.4 7.4.2 7.4.3 7.5
2.2 1.3.3 7.4
2.3
2.4 7.3.1 7.5 12.3
2.5 7.7.1.1
2.6 7.4
2.7 1.3.3 7.4.3.1 7.5.2 Guidelines