0% found this document useful (0 votes)
355 views1 page

(The Griffon's Saddlebag) Game Changer's Eye - Wondrous Item - TheGriffonsSaddlebag

Uploaded by

Edward Barnaby
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
0% found this document useful (0 votes)
355 views1 page

(The Griffon's Saddlebag) Game Changer's Eye - Wondrous Item - TheGriffonsSaddlebag

Uploaded by

Edward Barnaby
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
You are on page 1/ 1

Iniciar

  r/TheGriffonsSaddlebag Buscar en Reddit Registrarse 


sesión

Publicaciones

Publicado por u/griff-mac [The Griffon Himself] hace 3 meses


  Acerca de la comunidad
596 {The Griffon's Saddlebag} Game Changer's Eye | Wondrous
item
r/TheGriffonsSaddlebag
Wondrous Item - Rare A*

I design new items and other content for


your D&D campaign every day, complete
with mechanics, illustration, and flavor. Join
in the discussion to help balance and make
better items for the community.

35.0k 43
Adventurers Hunting for Loot

 Creado el 7 feb 2019

Unirse

Volver hacia
arriba

100% upvoteado

 Comentarios: 26  Compartir  Guardar  Ocultar  Reportar


¿En   
qué estás   
pensando?     

Ordenar Por: Mejores

griff-mac PO · hace 3 m · editado el hace 3 m


[The Griffon Himself]

Game Changer's Eye


Wondrous item, rare (requires attunement by a creature missing an eye)

This rubbery prosthetic eye has a dark polyhedral die at its center, as if it were a
pupil. When found, the die has 20 sides. The following properties of the eye can be
used even if you aren't attuned to it:

If you're missing an eye, you can use an action to place the prosthetic in the
empty socket. While it's in your eye socket, it can't be removed unless you're
willing, and you can see through it as if it were a normal eye.
You can use an action to speak the eye's command word to change the number
of sides on the die at its center. The eye must be in your socket or hand in order
to use this property.
Whether it's in your socket or your hand, you can shake the prosthetic to cause
the die at its center to roll around and reveal a random number, allowing it to
be used as part of a gaming set. If you're attuned to the eye, you also have
advantage on ability checks related to gaming sets that involve dice.

While you're attuned to the eye, the die at its center can be used to change elements
of your fate, often to chaotic results. When you make an ability check, attack roll, or
saving throw while the eye is in your socket, you can choose to reroll the d20. You
must use the new result. You make this decision after seeing the result of the initial
roll, but before the GM says whether the roll succeeds or fails. Each time you use this
property, there is a cumulative 50 percent chance that you can't use it again until the
next dawn.

The eye releases a burst of chaotic magic each time you use it to reroll a d20. When it
does, roll a d10 and consult the table below to determine what additional effects
occur. If an effect specifies a duration of a number of rounds, the effect ends at the
start of your turn on the round that it would end.

d10 Effect

1 You are confused for 1d4 rounds, as if you were affected by the confusion
spell.

2 Each creature within 30 feet of you (including yourself) takes a –2 penalty


to its AC for 1d4 rounds.

3 You transform into a stuffed toy resembling yourself for 1d4 rounds,
during which time you are considered petrified. While petrified in this way,
your weight decreases by a factor of 10, rather than increases.

4 You and every creature within 30 feet of you becomes vulnerable to


bludgeoning damage for 1d4 rounds.

5 For the next day, your skin changes color every 30 minutes, cycling through
the colors of the rainbow in order starting with red.

6 A random creature within 60 feet of you is affected by the fly spell for 1


minute, without requiring concentration.

7 You gain the use of an unseen servant for 1 hour.

8 You can breathe underwater for 24 hours.

9 Flowers and vines grow around you; for 1 minute, the ground within 15
feet of you is considered difficult terrain for hostile creatures. The effect
remains centered on you and moves with you.

10 You can immediately take one additional action, interrupting the current
turn if it's not already your turn.

At last, the sentries had the malefactor surrounded. Their sergeant stepped forward, voice
dripping smug malice as he said,

"No escape this time, eh? Nobody makes a fool of the boss for long, but if you just come
quietly, I'm sure—"

As he reached out, the figure simply rolled their eyes, light shining from a bizarre,
hexagonal iris. The sergeant knew his grab should've connected, but met only air as
reality seemed to twist to keep them from his grasp.

And, as the air filled with the sound of clattering dice, he knew that the world was about
to be knocked askew.

The Griffon's Saddlebag: Book 2 is now available for preorder through Backerkit!
Get the 416-page book, plus item cards, backpacks, dice, and other exclusive
products at early-bird prices!

Find the perfect item with searchable Compendiums, and access exclusive art
files, printable cards, Foundry VTT packs, and item suggestion polls when
you support the effort on Patreon for less than $10 a month!

Designed by patrons! This patron-suggested item was voted for by the community
on Patreon! Submit your own ideas and help choose what gets made next week
by becoming a $5+ patron today!

Get the book and more! You can now purchase almost everything from the
Kickstarter directly from Hit Point Press!

See imbalance? Let's fix it! Leave a comment with what you're seeing wrong with
the item design. Items change for the better over the course of a few days here on
Reddit because of your feedback!

 77
 Responder Compartir 
WritingUnderMount · hace 3 m
[DM]

This item is insane and I love it. I think I will have a crazy old gambler / Merchant
selling this item or even betting his eye on a game with the PCs. Amazing work as
always!

 33
 Responder Compartir 

Etok414 · hace 3 m

Attunement requires the creature to be missing an eye, but the fact that you can
use it while holding it makes that requirement seem unnecessary.

10 You can immediately take one additional action, interrupting the current
turn if it's not already your turn.

A small piece of rules interacting weirdly with this is that if you take the attack
action on another creature's turn, you can't benefit from extra attack. Also, you
can use this to move, but only by taking the hold action and then using your
reaction to move equal to your speed.

 9
 Responder Compartir 
Seguir leyendo hilo

DANKB019001 · hace 3 m

Nooo I don't wanna be turned into a marketable plushie-

 14
 Responder Compartir 

Nybs_GB · hace 3 m

What does cumulative chance mean?

 10
 Responder Compartir 

Apes_Ma · hace 3 m

50% the first time, 100% the second time. So in this case you can definitely use it
once a day, and maybe twice a day, but never more.

 23
 Responder Compartir 
griff-mac PO · hace 3 m
[The Griffon Himself]

u/Apes_Ma and u/Corberus are correct here! The intention is that you can use it
either once or twice a day, depending on your luck.

 16
 Responder Compartir 
Seguir leyendo hilo

Corberus · hace 3 m

you add it, e.g. if the cumulative chance was 10 percent then the 1st time you use
it theres a 10% chance of something happening, the the 2nd time you use the
chance is 20% (10% from the 1st use and 10% added for the 2nd use).

since the items chance is 50% you can never use it more than twice in a day, as
the 1st time you use it there is a 50% chance that you can't use it again and the
2nd time you use it the chance goes to 100% (50+50) so you can't use it a 3rd
time, you have to wait until dawn

 4
 Responder Compartir 

oaklandskeptic · hace 3 m

I'm curious about the intent here as well.

Is it an initial 50%, then 50% again (+25%, or 75% chance), then 50% again
(+12.5%, or 87.5% chance) or is it 50% then 100%?

It might be clearer and simpler to implement to say, first use roll a d6, 3 or up else
you cant use it, second use, 5 or up else you csnt use it again)

 3
 Responder Compartir 

Chosen1x · hace 3 m

If I understand it correctly, the intention is for the odds to halve every roll. So you
have 50% chance of success the first roll, 25% (x.5) chance the second, 12.5% (x.5)
chance on the 3rd and so on.

Some would call this "Vegas odds", the longer you play the less they are in your
favor.

Cheers!

 -1
 Responder Compartir 

oBolha · hace 3 m
[DM]

That's an awesome item! Would you rule that the pupil can't change into a die with
an impossible number of sides?

 1
 Responder Compartir 

khanzarate · hace 3 m

Any number of sides is possible if you leave the world of platonic solids and
instead take a prism with an N-sided regular polygon.

For instance, a d6 could be the standard cube, or could be a 6-sided regular


polygon, in this case, a hexagon.

But this system supports 7, or 13, or 235 sides, too.

Some people don't like how long it gets, after all, shouldn't a die be somewhat
rounded?

Well we can look at the d10. Mathematically, it's 2 5-sided regular pyramids, joined
together with an antiprism. Fancy geometry words that I had to Google aside, the
base shapes for a d10 needs half that number, for each side. So for an N-sided
die, we need 2 shapes with N/2 sides. For odd numbers, we can replicate the
numbers, so each value has 2 faces associated with it, and that lets us do a 7-
sided die, for instance, with a total of 14 faces.

There are only non-standard dice, not impossible dice.

 7
 Responder Compartir 
Seguir leyendo hilo

Nodigity98 · hace 3 m

Mechanically speaking what would the point of using an action to change the
number of sides the due has if the roll is a d20 roll? I mean I like the concept but I
don’t understand that execution of one of its ability’s

 1
 Responder Compartir 

Machinor14 · hace 3 m

I think that portion is for use in character as a die. Like if your character was
playing a dice game, they could change the die size and use it.

 2
 Responder Compartir 
Seguir leyendo hilo

LordHarza · hace 3 m

Amazing work as always! One small writing error I think?

"If you're attuned to the eye, you have also advantage on skill checks-"

Shouldn't those two words be the other way around?

 1
 Responder Compartir 
griff-mac PO · hace 3 m
[The Griffon Himself]

Fixed! Thank you!

 1
 Responder Compartir 

Driftwood12 · hace 3 m

Eye've been here the whole time!

 1
 Responder Compartir 
griff-mac PO · hace 3 m
[The Griffon Himself]

YESSSSSSSS

 2
 Responder Compartir 

Meta-Squirrel · hace 3 m
[DM]

In the third bullet pointed feature the words are out of order "you have also
advantage"

 1
 Responder Compartir 
griff-mac PO · hace 3 m
[The Griffon Himself]

Fixed now! Thanks!

 1
 Responder Compartir 

Más publicaciones de la comunidad TheGriffonsSaddlebag

Continuar navegando en r/TheGriffonsSaddlebag

You might also like